“Do NOT re-invent the wheel!”, that’s how plain noise-makers sound. They cannot create anything themselves and thus project their own fears and deficits unto those who take the step to try.
I remember a certain chap back in early 2000s while in college who was creating a software piece that mimicked a major accounting software. People kept hating on how he was wasting time creating a product that was far inferior to what was on the market.
Years later I got to project manage a software development team and then got to really see how mediocre the team was. The user interface looked like shit, buggy as shit and extremely unreliable. Long story short we tossed champagne and I got paid my cut since that kind of mediocrity is what drove the Kenyan tech space. Heck, I know a guy who was a software engineering manager paid over KES 600K per month with team of 8 core developers and some 10-12 junior devs, over 6 devops guys but the piece of software created over a 7 year period was nothing but a crappy web-based ERP hosted on the cloud with over 30 servers for use from staging to production.
This is a good example of what those people who scream, “You cannot re-invent the wheel!” can do. If that company had hired that guy who had the dedication to try and create something of his own from scratch with half the pay and half the time, I am pretty sure he would have created a damn good application.
If some guy is trying to create a car, let them do so. That is how innovators are created. That guy might not create anything but an 8-year old in school might see that on the news and get a spark of interest in science classes and who knows what they might do in 20-30 years?
Thing is, whatever you build for the market WILL ALWAYS be compared to what’s out there quality and cost wise. ALWAYS. The guy who manf USB cables, those are quality and much better than going to replace frayed cables at the service centre. Oraimo just fuckn repackages cables and buds.
Lakini kenyan creativity on the interwebs ni mafi ya kuku… people like aziad,eric omondi, terrence creative,sijui pluto the sanitizer et al, suck azz… unawatch vid unashangaa ni nini funny or entertaining… pengine nimekuwa mzee at 37…
Content is hard, there are very few YouTubers who’ve somehow managed to get their consumers to pay them directly for their content, Abel, Njugush, and this other couple who host live recordings.
Unapata mtu ako na over 300k subs and yet haezi improve edits zake …no efforts in any video …butt huyo ndio atakuwa na all the attention… Kenyans don’t value quality ndio maana pia wasanii wakali ni akina simpo boy
In recreating something done by others, you learn a lot from it. All innovators actually start from there, or thoroughly deconstruct and evaluate the current product to know the real challenges and insights that the others achieved.
Those who shout don’t know the fun in those discoveries. It can be such a good high that you forget to advance, you keep looking for more things to evaluate.