How do you define land use? A maasai or turkana or pokot, somali etc grazing his cows, sheep, goats, camels on his 1000 acres in kajiado, turkana, baringo, mandera is using the land. A kikuyu like Uhuru grazing his doper sheep on his land in his native kiambu is also utilising the land. Why would you want livestock farmers in different parts of the country punished with heavy taxes?
There is no idle land in kenya. If you drive from isiolo to moyale, or from isiolo to mandera, or kitengela to namanga, or thika to mwingi/kitui or kitale to lodwar etc one would think the millions of acres of that land is idle but its actually used for grazing. The fact that the land has no buildings on it doesnt mean its idle. You can use the land without putting any structures on it. Even someone in kiambu eg ohuru is free to graze on his land without putting structures on it.
Also every kenyan is free to own whatever amount of land they wish and you cant punish some kenyans for owning land and not others.
Grazing is also an economic activity because what the fuck do they do with the cattle? They get milk/hide and skin/ meat which they later se. The govât must get its dues. Maasais should not be spared. Everyone should pay property taxes! This shouldnât be a debate. If you can utilize the land, then you can raise the tax. Simple.
Livestock farmers pay cess when they sell their animals at the livestock market. So yes they also pay tax.
Why should this borana be punished just because he is grazing his animals on his 100,000 acres huko marsabit?
Paying one form of tax should exempt you from other forms of tax. Wacha bangi. People pay income tax and then still have to pay sales tax when buying goods and services. And yes, they should use the same taxed income to pay property taxes ![]()
They should go get jobs and become productive members of society, not rotting in the scorching sun in the name of âwe waz nomads and shitâ.
75% of all the beef and goat meat consumed in nairobi comes from those arid and semi arid areas. Also camels. If one has 200 cattle and each costs 70,000 then that is a cool 14m. Since the cattle take about 3yrs to mature then thats an average income of about Ksh 400,000 per month. The guy also has 300 goats that mature in one year, so akiuza 7000 each thats another 2.1m ie 175,000 a month. So total monthly income is Ksh 575,000 per month. Unataka mtu kama huyo to get an office job to be paid 40,000 a month? The guy is over 10 times more productive when herding cattle and goats.
Nimekukamata sasa. These guys make lots of money and must therefore pay property taxes like everyone else. Thatâs my point.
Luckily those who make the laws are also the biggest land owners. But I would support a tax on any land holdings above say 50 acres
Hio raia ya suam, endebess ni mikora tu.
Several have BOTH KENYAN AND UGANDAN IDs.
Why 50 acres? Why not 1/2 acre?
Selfish reasons
Hapo suam hakuna stori na kenya au uganda. Been there so many times âŚhata gari zote hufanya hio area all the way to kacheliba hua na UG plates. Kuna some makeshift border post hapo but hao askari hakuna kitu hao hufanyaâŚthose guys are literally one family so it doeant make any sense to separate them.
Busia same thing. All my busia relatives have UG and kenyan I.Ds. There was one who had a job pale Uganda na ingine hapa kenya kwa county.
Freehold land should continue forever
Niki Anza kukula pipi mkia side ya Kenya alafu ni mwage Uganda hio tuna ita international shot
Differentiate between communal land serving many locals which doesnât have a title deed and idle 500,000 acres of grabbed land belonging to one family.
Any idle land with a title should be taxed.