GoK doesn’t have any plans for that we have to wait for IMF/WB and other international organisations to warn Kenya and recommend measures to be taken
Bill Gates should intervene, we have no oil or technology to support such a big population.
Bill gates has already intervened with GMO na mosquitoes - ni wewe haujui
That’s a lot of customers. Very nice.
And Burundians will be about 15 million of the population.sipendi hao watu
When was the last time that Kenya built a new prison?
The colonial government had built enough prisons to be sufficient till 2090
Kenya’s population will not be 95 million in 2050…maybe in 2080. Nowadays most people aren’t having many kids. In fact, a significant number of my friends in their mid 30s have only one child.
How many women below 40 in Kenya have more than 2 kids? Kenya’s fertility rate is 3.4 and it’s high because of older women who had more kids in their day. Millennials and Gen Zs aren’t having more than 3 kids in Kasongos economy. In fact, women (below 40) around Nairobi have 1-2 kids generally. That trend has already moved to Mt Kenya and the rest of Kenya will catch up soon.
Nairobi shamba la mawe supports 10m people. So 95 million people ni kidogo for kenya.
A significant number of your friends are most probably NOT the lower classes that breed like rats.
Each family needs to have 3 kids for the population to sustain itself or in other words for the population to remain constant. The 2 kids replace the parents and the 3rd one replaces members of the population who never reproduce. Having just 1 kid reduces the next generation by over 50% since you are moving from 2 individuals to 1 offspring and some individuals die without reproducing. So govt should put a minimum of 3 kids per kenyan family.
Problem is, the government won’t feed, clothe, house, treat or educate them.
Education is free. SHA is free. And there is maize, beans, chicken, cows in the shamba so there is enough food to feed 3 kids. My parents raised 5 kids and we turned out well. And all my neighbouring families ushago had at least 5 kids. So if our parents generation could do it we can also do it in 2026 instead of wasting all cash huko Quiver.
You pay 300k per term for your kids’ education in private school.

You have no idea what is going on in public schools.
Alliance, Mangu, Kenya High etc are public schools and the fees is 53k per year. If a parent sells 1 cow at 70k that is enough to pay fees for a year plus shopping.
You need to remove your head from your ass.
The cost of living is already too high for most Kenyans. A 2-bedroom apartment costs like 20k/month and the typical employee stacking shelves in the supermarket is earning 20k. How do you expect that person to support himself and children without moving to the slums?
At some point, most poor people have to make a choice between living a quality life and reproducing because they can’t do both with their low incomes.
That guy working mjengo jobs, at a supermarket, at an M-Pesa shop, selling in a kibanda etc knows that the only way for him to survive if he decides to reproduce is to go and live in the slums.
Jiweke in the position of a peasant earning less than 30k/month. Would you rather be single and childless but with some savings, or drowning in debt and insecurity with 3 kids in the slums?
I have a 34 y.o Somali Muslim business friend with 3 wives. In total he has 9 children and just getting started, he said. This will be a major problem in future.
No it won’t. He is just raising the next generation of slaves for the system - unless he is very wealthy which I doubt. Ushawahi jiuliza why billionaires have 2-3 kids in general despite their immense wealth? Because quality matters more than quantity. We are no longer in an agrarian economy where kids can be used for labor. Now, they are financial liabilities and time sinks for 22 years. If you go to the village you will see very many men suffering after raising 5+ kids on a tight budget instead of securing their retirement.
After the first 2-3 kids, you reach a point of diminishing returns. You are better off just accumulating wealth and enjoying your hobbies instead of raising more kids.
They don’t have the same mindset as you. No one expected Minnesota’s Somalis to thrive in a foreign country. Yet the opposite happened. Not only did they have large families, but they made massive political inroads which have funneled billions of dollars to their people. They are audacious people and nature favors the bold.
The average White American with all their historical ties, cannot compete with the wealth and largese of Somalis in America. Don’t you see the same is happening here?
Most of the population growth in Kenya is from these people. Demographics is destiny. Like my friend with his minimal education owns a thriving shipping business, mainly because he has powerful Somali connections. Each wife has their own house in South C. He told me he’s targeting 7-9 kids minimum per wife and that he will add another wife in due time. We’re talking 28-36 kids minimum. How will other Kenyan communities ever compete? Those kids eat rice, goat meat and bananas, so it’s not expensive to raise them. They attend public schools. When they grow up they will form the merchant class or roam the streets, just chilling. Somehow they survive.