KDF's Most Secretive Unit, Unmasked & Explained (Don't Tell Them)

News Broke, KDF :kenya: is seeking funding to acquire a New Advanced Air Defense System, specifically SPYDER from Israel, (hold on, we’re coming back to this).

Kenya :kenya: according to sources, operates 4 Marcon s600 AD Radars, information which you don’t easily get across the internet.

These are just surveillance radars in S-band and L-band and a height-finder in C-band, reports also shows they have anti-jamming capabilities.

Kenya Air Force :kenya: have several squadrons that operate under Air Defense Regiment(ADR), (formerly ADCU) interestingly KDF doesn’t give a lot of information about this… Among them;

843 Radar Squadron - That was moved to Mariakani.
841Radar Squadron- Wajir Air Base
°°° Radar Squadron - Narok FOB
842- Radar Squadron - Laikipia

:boom: Satellite Imagery below shows what is believed to be s600 already installed at Narok FOB & Wajir, now an Airbase.

s600 Radara detect enemy low aircraft, UAV, missiles, so that ground to air missiles can be launched for interception. This requires involvement of another Artillary unit or Strike Unit of Air Force, also they have renovated the Hawk Rocket System.

KDF :kenya: in it’s modernization thirst, want to have a SPYDER, in it’s possession. One of Lt Col Henry Mwenemeru’s favorite Air Defense System.

:rocket:SPYDER> in full means, “Surface-to-air Python and Derby”

A Website notes,
"It provides protection at different ranges against a variety of threats: UAVs, aircraft, helicopters, and short-range ballistic missiles. The system intercepts threats by means of two families of missiles produced by Rafael: Python and Derby.

It’s a complete air defense system consisting of radar, the TopLite EO/IR sensor, command and control, and Python and Derby interceptors, all mounted on one vehicle."

Ethiopia operates the system, which to me is useless!!!

KDF say plans can still change… let’s wait

Huitaji sources kujua io story mrefu umeandika hapo.

Organisations zote, iwe ni kanju, hoteli, Safaricom, company yyote ile, huwa na units ndogo ndogo za kufanya kazi tofauti tofauti, kulingana na mipangilio yao.

Anus lickers wako na department tofauti tofauti?

firwa

Anus licker kwa nini? Has licking anus made you bitter and less of a man?

Point yako ni gani

Whats your point?

tombwa umbwa jike

Kenya’s acquisition of the Spyder may not be unrelated to its neighbor Ethiopia’s procurement of the same air defence system four years ago. Two Israeli firms, Israeli Aerospace Industries and Rafael, had installed Spyder-MR defense systems near the GERD in July 2019. The system is guided by an Elta radar making it effective against aircraft flying at low and medium altitudes, UAVs, cruise missiles, and precision-guided munitions within the system’s range.

Since then, Ethiopia has since acquired a plethora of strategic and tactical combat systems including rockets, MRLS, as well as combat aircraft from Russia, and long-range drones from Turkey.

Ethiopia has also successfully inductedRussian-made Pantsir S1 short range surface to air missile defense system.

All from open source- https://www.military.africa/2024/05/kenya-acquiring-spyder-air-defence-system-from-rafael/?amp=1

Why do we need such a sophisticated radar defense system when we cannot afford missiles incase of an attack? Our military copters have been falling out of the sky every few months because of lack of spare parts.

firwa, msenge

Anus licker hasn’t anus licking been good to you? Haven’t you become obese from anus licking? Why are you butt bitter?

@Aka_mpole
@hakimoto

Let us be realistic

Our current external national security headache is Al Shabaab

Neighbors Tanzania , Uganda , South Sudan and Ethiopia pose no military threat to us.

And Kenya has no need for sophisticated offensive Air military capabilities as we have no territorial ambitions against any of our neighbors.

Since 1970 , we actually had a Defense Pact with Ethiopia to mitigate an attack by the then Said Barre Somali Military that was among the most formidable in the 1970’s.

So …

The upgraded Northrop F5 Advanced Tiger:

The Starstreak Air Defense Missile:

Vertical Attack and Recon Drones :

The SNC AC 145B Coyote Gunship / Transport :
KAF already operates this aircraft…

The CH47 Chinook Transport / Gunship:

Rapid Air Mobile Warfare is the future
Rapidly moving small teams of Special Operations Forces behind Enemy lines to hit and disrupt Supply , Command and Control.
This is how future Wars and conflicts will be quickly resolved …

No Military should waste time or resources with equipment , material or manpower that does not deliver bang for the buck:blush::fire:

As long as we are operating museum pieces like the F-15s which can be taken out by a WW2 era fighter hakuna kitu tuko nayo.

Jeeessooo …!!
Kijana , do you even KNOW what you are saying there …??
Ati an F15 Eagle Fighter can be taken out by any WW2 era Fighter …??
Kindly , name that plane … !!

Since 1978, the F5 Tiger has been the KAF’s main air defence fighter.
A total of 29 were delivered.
-12 F-5E & 2 F-5F from the USA.
-10 F-5E , 3 F-5EM , 2 F-5F formerly in service with the Royal Jordanian Air Force.
The ex-RJAF aircraft were upgraded to F-5EM standard before being delivered to the Kenya Air Force.
There was some controversy over the purchase of the F-5s from Jordan , which were shipped to Kenya and assembled locally.
Currently a F-5 upgrade and procurement program is underway for 10 F-5E, 2 F-5F, and 3 F-5EM from Jordan.

I have seen some Media Reports claiming that Kenya aquired 8 ex IAF F-15 Jets in 2015 …
But this was most likely speculation as no one to my knowledge has ever seen them at Laikipia Airbase.

Just for your Info
This is what an F15 Eagle looks like … :blush:

f15-1
:sparkles:
f15-2
:sparkles:

Natambua F-15 Mimi. F-5 apana

Wewe mzee, Wacha niunde thread to trigger you