K24 sacks 90% of staff

Mediamax Network Limited has announced another major round of layoffs — its sixth in just four years — as part of a sweeping restructuring effort aimed at streamlining operations amid mounting economic pressures.

The media conglomerate, which operates K24 TV, People Daily, and radio stations such as Milele FM and Kameme FM, issued a memo dated August 11, 2025, notifying staff of its intention to declare employees redundant. Sources say the cuts will affect multiple departments, including top English and Swahili anchors, producers, and the entire sports desk. K24 is reported to have let go of 90% of its newsroom staff.

The redundancies, scheduled to conclude between July 15 and August 15, 2025, underscore the company’s push to cut costs and adapt to shifting market conditions. This follows similar downsizing measures across Kenya’s media sector, with Standard Media Group and Nation Media Group also executing large-scale layoffs in recent years.

According to Mediamax’s internal notice, the decision stems from a combination of factors: a tough macroeconomic climate, rapid digital disruption, declining business volumes, a shrinking client base, and an internal operational review. The network has also been hit by slow payment of pending bills by national and county governments, reduced advertising revenues due to state single-sourcing for media buys, and tighter restrictions on betting and gambling ads.

These latest cuts mark another chapter in the ongoing shake-up of Kenya’s traditional media industry, as outlets grapple with declining revenues, evolving audience habits, and intensifying competition from digital platforms.

@Ndovu Kuja ufarahie

Hii ni bad news saidi. Kazi ya watu wa journalism nkama hakuna siku hizi… labda msee anzishe youtube channel

This will kill many media houses.

Those guys should have seen it coming…

But employed muddle class live like there is no tomorrow. Jinga punguani goes and buys mark x, kukula lanye daily instead of invest, rent ya 25k, no saving

Angechukua 2.5Mmillion ya 4 years akue akilipa 45k kila mwezi…

Barber shop 250k… Probox 350k… Tsavo apartment (with swimming pool) 1.4M… 500k aweke for rainy day…

Its not even hard to use brains.

If u put ur pride aside for 30 seconds and listen to me ur life will be changes forever

18 Likes

Hapa ndio nilikuwa 2019. Life continues, dear tugeges.

The problem is it’s hard to go back and start from zero on another platform. I’ve seen some media veterans like Eddie Kimani and Laura Walubengo trying to start afresh on TikTok and it’s kind of sad, even if it’s the right thing for them to do

.. na after hapo ulikaa nairobi miaka ngapi kabla ujafika eldoret

Nilikaa miaka mbili juu ya Covid-19. That’s the time I truly learnt the meaning of living without the fear of death. Just dying.

Alafu mtu aniibie kazi then aniibie pesa.

Lazima zitatii.

Uhuru amesota

Actually, the smart thing to do in media is to simply exit stage left. Rumour mongering, especially when politicians are involved is very common, so the chances of finding another job is 0%-5%.. and because politicians are politicians, you can even be killed. People sell their souls to Satan in this industry.

Source: I used to work in media.

..but ukulima inakupeleka msuri

2019 -2024 were my defining years of crop failure elder. It’s like all the forces of Satan were against me.. but they failed. Now it’s my turn.

inaitwa maisha kaka… ni kujikaza tu till you make it

Yeah, inaitwa kujikaza. Kama ni kifo ningeenda 2022.. but mungu ni nani?

such experiences ndio hujenga mwanaume

Hii kijiji ime contribute to the death of mass media

Tell us how did you bounce back from the bottomless pit.

Change your environment and focus on your hobbies. Along the way you pick up fellow AMG members then you learn some tricks here and there. Male family members are best at this role.. then you just wait it out. It takes a while tho.

Ndovu ulipata akili lini?:flushed_face:

Am impressed.