Is There Really Any Reason to Keep Terabytes of Movies Nowadays?

Other than to lie to yourself that you’ll one day want to watch them… or to brag to your friends that you have a huge collection of movies before realising that they couldn’t be bothered to give two shits.

I have noticed that these days I don’t care too much about resolution. Anything 720p and above is fine to me. And also, every single obscure, niche film you really like but think no one has heard of can be freely streamed online after a little search-fu.

It’s kinda freeing to be honest because now I don’t have to throw external hard disks at the every so often running-low-on-disk-space problem that comes with hoarding terabytes of movies, 95% of which I only watch once if I ever at all.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z2xDk4LwBl0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_CLzzUfDjUo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ar9wGSd7KVQ

keep your hard disk safe. for when you cant afford net yet there is a long PEV/maandamano or pandemic lockdowns or jobless for long or at aga khan HDU isolation room with a courtesy smart tv or want a hot non-hiv girl you just met who is a old school movie addict settle down in your sofa so you can take off her clothes etc or when you are really old and your relatives dump you in a retirement home and you want your life to flash by courtesy of old movies etc

My computer is full of movies but I hardly sit down to watch them

Well if you don’t see the need that’s fine… Each to their own .

Currently at 39TB and counting…

I agree with you 100%. Nowadays nadownload movie nawatch nadelete. Kuna some very few nawacha just in case I need to entertain a visitor. Last year I started watching every single movie I downloaded and deleted them, saa izi disk space iko free. Unless something catastrophic happens, them movies will always be available online. Hapo kwa resolution nayo if you are watching on bigger screens lazma udownload higher resolution but kama we ni msee wa lappy then 720p iko sawa kabisaa.

Holywierd entertainment is going to the dogs. When you are tired of full on degeneracy and agendas pushed on you at every turn likes of netflix/showmax/etc you’ll wish you had something cleaner for your family to enjoy.

Same. I never watch a movie more than once, unless it’s really good like Memento where you have to view it again to catch extra details.

Kama unataka kubambika offline heri u download game if you have a good PC. As for me I like to read, so you can put like hundreds of books in your phone with very little storage used.

I used to be a hoarder. Had most McQueen movies, DeNiro, Al Pacino, Denzel etc folders hadi my HDD crashed. Mourned for a month and said never again. Sai my computers and Hdds huwezi pata movie. Streaming tu. Nikiboeka ya kutosha I guess ill just bust a quick one and sleep.
Know some online repositories of these classics pia. It helps. NF imejaa upuzi afadhali Amazon prime.

Bro… Hii ni constant worry ya hdd iki crash itakuaje. I’m glad I’m free from it. Damn!

What is life without worries… The fact that Car accidents are very high doesn’t stop you from using vehicles…

78 series 811 movies all 1080p or 4k…sijui kama ntamaliza kuona

You have multiple drives, right? You’re using redundancy like storage spaces, right? Or some other nas-like OS that supports redundancy configuration like zfs, right? No need to worry.

Spot On. He probably imagined i have a single creaky 39TB HDD which i walk around with… But the reality is I have 2x 500GB SSD, 2x 4TB HDD, 3x 6TB HDD and 2x 10TB HDD.

It is actually 47TB now that I have that down… Hadn’t counted the 4TBs…

:smiley: I won’t lie. That’s close to what I thought.

Still 39TB… That’s one huge collection. Too huge even. If collecting is your hobby I could see why you put lots of effort in it.

I deleted my measly 8TB because I suddenly realised I never (re)watch any of it.

Of late I actually rewatch a lot of stuff. I watch like 4 Movies every month. I get like 1 new movie every two months.

The thing is I don’t really have a looot of stuff… Just a few quality ones… Back in Campus I used to watch on average 1GB Blurays. They had to be Blurays… Now I average 40GB per movie.

Aside from the difference in sizes, my setup is fully automated now. In Campus I used to manually search, download and organise stuff.

Nonetheless for me I think if your setup works for you why not…

Shida ni better storage options zitakuwa available by then

Stuff i like to see, The main reason i hoard and i believe @Japheth does it too is streaming will never ever beat full blu-ray remuxes, but i think most people dont notice, small things like banding and artifacts on a movie really throws me off. i have Netflix but when i have a show on there i want to see i will download the full WEB_DL and it’s very different from streaming it. i personally keep movies and shows i love and i do rewatch.

What eats up that space for him is mainly the sizes of the movies not actually the amount of movies ako nazo, Remuxes hukula space vibaya sana

Precisely on point… Quality and Consistency of the experience is key…

@Japheth u will have to teach me how to automate this stuff, still doing it the manual way. alafu where do you pull your content from? private group or forum by any chance.