Want to transform your Android phone into a full Linux device? In this comprehensive tutorial, I’ll show you exactly how to install Ubuntu Touch on your smartphone step by step.
Ubuntu Touch is an open-source, Linux-based mobile operating system developed by the UBports community. It brings the power of Ubuntu Linux to your mobile device with a familiar interface, Open Store for apps, terminal access, and complete system control.
Why would one abandon a mature smartphone OS for a not well known and insecure OS? Explain to me like a grade 4 kid going back to school.
Elder Ndindu hiinayo hai add up, why Ubuntu. Linux distros ni mingi and Cannonical has been ruining the Open Source-ness of that OS.
Also, Android is hard to beat, it just works. And it’s still Linux
I hate GOOGLE’S, “sideloading” bullshit.
Sideloading is very bad. I have never been for it.
Let explain
- The data that you use to download the apk, just use the play store, downloads are smaller and optimized for your phone’s particular architecture (arm-v7, arm-v8, x64… etc)
- Security - the source and integrity of that app cannot be verified, it might have malicious code injected into it in the name of cracking and what not
- Any developer in the stores is verified and Google have their official details in case something goes wrong. It’s even reasonable to have one centralized source of apps.
- Of course the money, cracked apps do not bring money to the developers or google.
- If you cant afford an app, just dont use it. Mzee jomo alisema “hakuna cha bure” and that is very true.
- Competition from iOS in regards to security and encryption made Android insecure because sideloading is risky. To achieve near iOS security, sideloading has to go.
Hii website ya Keep Android Open should just be shut down. It’s making unnecesarry noise and it cant compete with Google’s muscle. Google is bigger than any government na wakishaamua wameamua hakuna mahali tutawapeleka. The era of sideloading is over.
But you could always root/jailbreak your phone and install a custom ROM ama hii Ubuntu ya Elder Ndindu, but the reality is that its too much work for little gain. Also, beware that some apps will stop working, especially apps za finance hazitaki simu rooted because the chances of being hacked/attacked are too high on such a phone.
This is not an argument for security jus a distribution optimization and convinience. You can get optimized apps outside playstore like the developer sites or alternative stores.
May be true but Android alread has safeguards in place like App sandboxing, Permission systems, Verified developer signatures etc. Yes, random APKs from shady sites are risky but that’s a 8user choice issue*, not an inherent platform failure. The same way downloading random .exe files on Windows is risky, yet we don’t ban installing software outside the Microsoft Store.
Also… from the website.
That’s the ideal, but not the reality. Malicious app pass the checks are only removed after the fact. Also, centralization creates a single point of failure… one bad app that passes review can reach millions.
Sideloading is not always about piracy. What about open-source apps, region-locked apps, enterprise/internal tools, beta builds, modding communities?
That’s a moral stance, not a technical argument that doesn’t justify changing the architecture of an entire os.
Then just use iOS. iOS is locked down, but android prioritizes flexibility. In fact Apple has started to allow sideloadig, although not like android, in some regions due to regulations.
Maybe the Kenyan government, but the EU is constantly keeping them in check,
Hakuna kitu nimeelewa ya kuletetewa na Ndindu..
Elder.. sasa unasema ni install ubuntu.. iko wapi
True, kama app haiko in your region, the business does not consider you profitable enough to operate in your area. Accept it na uwachane tu nayo
The EU is something else, mtu asiitaje, hao wakisema wamesema. The EU invalidates my argument