In the market for a new TV...

First, before I say anything, this is not a review or anything of the sort but rather an appreciation post. Secondly, I’d like to apologize to elder @Nyamgondho . We had a heated argument in the past. I was of the idea that TCL TV is just as nice TV as an LG or anything else that people purpoted to be superior but Nyamgondho insisted that LG is a premium brand with best picture. Turns out he is very right. I was looking to upgrade my TV to a 55’'. Normally I would just get online, come up with a list of TVs within my budget range, research on them till I come across one I believed is more superior. I do the same for all electronic gadgets.

But yesterday was a different day. Instead, out of boredom, and after much persuasion from my ancestors, I chose to window shop around and compare the supermarket prices with the online prices. So am innocently walking around not cocnerned with the image but just looking on prices, until I came across an LG… Nigga! What a sight to behold! The TV was right next to a Samsung of 65 and anothe LG of different model 65 inches too. But you could clearly tell the difference. It speaks for itself. The image is very sharp and clear… My people I lack the words to describe the sight. This screen is thinner than your phone, except for the lower section. On the shelf where it was placed, there is lots of light, but the screen was so bright you couldnt even see your reflection, unlike the other TVs. So mightily did I fall in love with the specific televison that the exact model name is still stuck on my brain, LG 4k OLED TV 55B9PVA. I will not go into any more technical details. This is more of an hekaya.

All I know is that I thought I knew what the marvelous 4k looked like and how clean and sharp the image is on my TCL, until I came across this LG, then I came to the realization just how horribly wrong I was. Exposure muhimu sana.This bad ass screen goes for 176k at Woolworth. A 65’’ Samsung on the same shelf went for 120k. I cant remember the model name, but an LG ThinkAi of 2020 or something of the sort sitting between the two screens went for 127k yet it was 65’‘, so am wondering how comes a 55’’ costs more than a latest 65’'. Your guess is as good as mine. Toyota Crown vs Toyota Premio. Interestingly, an almost similar model, at Naivas Supermarket, to be precise, model LG 4k OLED TV 55C9PVA, went for 344k but on LG website it goes for 180k. Sijui ni nini inhappen apo.

Nilirudi kwa nyumba na pesa zangu. Finna save me mpaka ijae I come pick this nigga up. Aint no going back to MIsri. Now I will no longer be able to enjoy movies on my TCL juu sasa najua am missing out. @Nyamgondho hebu tuambie kuhusu iyo story. And while at it, should I pick the 55B9PVA model or there are newer variants in the market of the same price that have same clarity and specs? What about the UI? I understand its not Android so will I have problems navigating around? Voice Control? Maybe there could be TCL TVs of the same price range that have the same vieweing experience as the LG? I dont know. Am open to suggestions, will definitely check others out too even Samsung and Sony but for now, my heart is with LG. At think juncture,I believe kutembea kwingi ndo kuona mengi… relying on the internet can mess you up. Sandeni sana. Barikiwa sana.

HDMI 2.1… That is all

Enda supa ununue tv unatusumbua na upus

Nusa women’s union ya mamako uache kusumbua sponsor

Makosa ni yako. There is always a caveat that if you can afford it, always go for the best. The best is Sony, followed by LG and then Samsung, in that order. Hizi brand zingine huwa ni recommendations kwa peasants who are stingy and have tight budgets and want good TV in the same sentence. When someone wants advice on the best TV to buy with a 30K budget, will you suggest a Samsung 65 uhd? Sasa hapo ndipo tcl husema.

Kwa sababu at 30k, the best Samsung TV you can get will be a 39/40 inch standard digital TV if not a 32 smart. And remember that Samsung is always cheaper than a Sony or a LG TV of the same specs. Meanwhile, with a 30k budget one can comfortably pull down a crisp 43 inch android tcl TV, perhaps even a better one, from a store shelf.

Mtu ako na pesa haulizagi maswali za ujinga juu tayari ashaingia duka na akatoka na kitu anataka.

There is a reason why those brands(sony/lg/samsung) will be more costly than these other brands.

Ukiambia watu wanasema ni majina tu.

Over the years I’ve watched people buying tvs on impulse when they come window shopping only to complain much later. You don’t have to be one of them coz what you saw is called “demo mode” or rather “shop mode”. It is not suitable for your domestic consumption with those settings. You should always adjust to movie mode to get more accurate imaging, and you might just be surprised how good TCLs can get. Good tvs are getting cheaper and cheap tvs are getting better.

OLED is the king quality pictures. LG is the king of OLED. Nunua mayuu halafu waria aletee wewe.

Supermarket tvs are priced that way so that they get maximum profit when local kungurus convince their naija and mzungu bf to buy electronics from there.

hebu nyamagodho anielezee why the same lg model would go for 344k in the supermarket and go for less on the LG website? or did you check the global lg website? I think you should have checked on the lg brand shop website for kenya .

That’s also what I would love to know. And yeah I compared prices on Amazon and LG global site it’s still cheaper by miles

Nunua QLED

Well me and Nyamgondho will disagree with you.

TCL… iko sawa for gaming

That’s where I checked.

The problem i that Naivas is selling at double what Woolmart is selling at

@Nyamgondho also leta tofauti ya QLED na OLED and which one is more superior in terms of clarity.

[ATTACH=full]337702[/ATTACH]

Hapo ndio faida iko. Unga na sukari haileti kakitu.