Before you start reading, I just want to point out I have NEVER been the superstititious person before; or someone to believe witchcraft is real, or any of that stuff that would have other people questioning your sanity/education level.
So, I have been with BA for just over 5 years now, we met in the later part of 2021.
We broke up one time in 2023 and just “happened” to bump into each other at a supermarket while I was taking my new catch shopping and later that evening BA called me crying and the rest is history.
For the first 3 years of our relationship, I can’t say I saw anything strange (apart from regular relationship shenanigans) and all I knew from the first week of meeting her was she was going to be my wife. I just ‘knew’. Now, none of that would mean anything but recent happenings have had me overthinking everything, like ..how did I know, was she doing something … uhm ungodly? Honestly I don’t know. But let me try not to go too deep and drive you away from reading the rest of my predicament.
So we have been uhm … married for about 2 years now. We actually got married in a very unconventional way, I was staying outside the country and my family had been pestering me to settle down for the longest time. So while I was away, it was the day of her birthday and I told her to take some cake for my parents. It was kind of to shut them up since they’d known we had broken up and letting her visit them would shut them up. Just like that, they never let her go and I came back home a year later (Jan 2025) with them having held onto her the entire year of 2024, just like that, married. The thing I just wanted to highlight there is for the 2 years we’ve been ‘married’, we’ve only lived together for one year - 2025.
Towards the end of 2025, I started to notice a peculiar albeit scary pattern. She touches me at night while I am dead asleep.
Hold on, kabla muulize, kwanini hutaki bibi yako akuguze, what in the brary fkin is this … I know!
So, she typically waits for when I am out cold, dead asleep. REM sleep. She literally waits for that. I guess anaobserve breathing patterns, but that part is a very important detail - I need to be passed out.
I am typically woken up, or I wake up, I don’t know which is which. I think she’s either doing something and it wakes me up when she over-does it, OR, it’s just instinct/God kicking in na kuniamsha.
I will find BA rubbing/touching my body in a couple of spots that I have noted so far.
i) If I am facing away from her:
- kwa mbavu chini, kind of where my elbow would rest, but nearer to the back
- My lower back/spine
ii) If I am facing towards her (I found this one out just 3 days ago):
- My forehead (I KNOW
)
So how it happens … nimelala fofofo. Suddenly I am woken up, by whatever it is … (so far nothing strange, could have just been her arm brushing on me as she is asleep too)
Well here’s the strange(r) part. Immediately (she notices) I am coming to, the hand that was touching me in either of those places will IMMEDIATELY pull away at 200km/h to the other side of the bed (her side), immediately dodging into the sheets or under her pillow!!!
This pattern has happened too many times, more than I can count over the past 3-4 months. It might have been happening before that, maybe I didn’t notice before, sijui.
I also want to point out that I never saw this happening ile time tulikua tunadate. I mean, we didn’t live together. But I paid for her house and slept over at least a few times a week, but I would leave the next morning.
So, at first I didn’t think much of it, untill I started noticing the pattern.
A detail I want to add that I am afraid might cause some to start questioning my perception, but I still think it’s important to state. Me and her do omusala edibles from time to time, typically twice a week - usually gets me in the mood for furumbanya.
Now, I noticed that she especially likes those nights to do the ‘juju’. The reason I thought to mention it, is because I think her preference for these times in particular is because she knows I will be in deeper sleep than usual and less likely to be woken up.
However, before someone goes, “it’s the paranoia - wacha bangi kijana”. These events are not exclusive to those nights when I am high. I have been woken to her doing these strange activities both when I am sober and when I am high. In fact, the one time that I caught her doing that thing on my forehead (I kid you not), I was actually sober, it’s just 3 days ago.
Imagine coming to from deep slumber to someone doing something on your forehead, and immediately your breathing pattern changes as you wake, their hand - that was touching you (with something?) pulls away quickly and goes to other side of the bed hidden from view.
This, thing has caused me immense worry. It has made me super prayerful, I mean, ningeomba kitambo kimoyo moyo, but now I can’t even skip a day. I mean, it’s still kimoyo moyo before sleeping but I don’t skip a day now.
Now, I have tried to rationalize what has been happening but I will be frank, I am scared about what is going on, and I don’t know what to do yet.
I have tried telling myself, you were high (that was at the start) - but then it kept recurring even on regular days I have gone to sleep normally.
I have tried telling myself it’s nothing, she’s just asleep and it’s just things that happen when you’re asleep with someone, they could touch you without knowing. But then, two things don’t add up with that hypothesis:
- If she’s indeed asleep, why/how does her hand move away SO FAST! People who are dead asleep do not move that quick.
- Second, it’s the patten. This thing has happened 100% of the time that I have woken up to such events, so it can’t be a coincidence or an accident.
Then there’s the other thing that doesn’t make sense, let’s assume she was awake and it’s just an accident.
You see, after the first 2-3 times of this happening, I asked, and I have asked a few times since. However, I didn’t imply anything. I just went with (and still do), unaniguza place sensitive, I don’t like that because I have a hard time going back to sleep.
While it is true I have sometimes had a difficult time going back to sleep if woken up by anyone, that’s just a cover story I gave to not blow my cover that I was onto her. The real reason obviously was, this is some strange shiii and I just can’t wrap my head around it.
So, let’s say she were awake … then why has she, each time, faked to be dead asleep when I went to question her about “being woken up”. She will feign to be coming to from deep slumber as well YET, I just witnessed her hand flying to the other side of the bed like she just touched a hot pan.
Explain to me how someone who’s moving that fast EVERYTIME is supposed to be waking up from deep slumber when I go to ask about it.
It is based on these facts that I have concluded that some juju is going on in my house.
To what end, kill me? Enslave me? Curse me? I REAAALLY don’t know, I have only stated above what I do know.
Some unrelated/maybe related details about her that might be useful to anyone reading this who might have experienced this or know someone who’s experienced this before.
- She’s Luo.
- She had 2 sister and 2 brothers (the brothers not necessarily important here)
- Her two sisters were both married
- Both husbands died (all young <50 young)
- Her mother had children by 2 different men.
- Both men died, with her step father being the last one to die, he died about 3 months after I met her - supposedly hit by a motorcycle.
- From when I met her, I came to understand that she/they do not know/keep in touch with their extended family from either side.
On that last point. I found it extremely strange in an African setting for you ‘not to know’ your uncles/aunts from both mother/father’s side.
The explanation I had at the start of our relationship was they were raised in ‘town’ and didn’t get to interact much with her extended family.
A thing that had my alarm bells going off about 2 weeks ago was when we were in conversation and her extended family came up again. I got inquisitive and in disbelief. “Mtu hujui/huongei na ANY of your uncles/aunts aje” - I thought this is automatic in an African/Kenyan setting. At least where I come from, you will know all your parents’ siblings ata kama unaeza kosa kujua macuzo wengine.
So imagine being sold not knowing/talking to any of them, save for one aunt that I met one time.
So anyway, in my pressing during conversation 2 weeks ago. She blurts out “ah, si autongeleshangi ao ma-aunti, wanakuanga na mambo mingi”, when I press on what “mambo mingi” mean, she said they (the aunties) are involved in witchcraft and that’s why her family doesn’t keep in touch.
As you’d expect, for someone who had been going through what I had been going through the past 3-4 months, my buzzers were going off at that relevation.
It’s then that my mind went, waaaaait a minute. What if it’s not the aunts, but it’s actually my wife’s family that’s involved in withcraft. And possibly, the reason they don’t keep in touch with the rest of the extended family is because they (my wife’s family) has been cut off/exiled.
At least, that version made more sense in my mind CONSIDERING what I have been going through.
I have started checking the internet for discrete cameras I can place in the bedroom to catch this nonsense in action. The reason for that is because at the moment, I am between a rock and a hard place.
If I go to my family with just my version of events, ataniruka vibaya sana. And I will end up looking like a fool.
Remember, I was literally ‘forced’ to marry after such a long time, so imagine what they will think. “Kama hakuwa anataka bibi si angesema tu”
But it’s clear far more serious things are ongoing in my house.
I am also considering going to my pastor (siendangi church kusema ukweli). She does go to church with my parents, I am the only one who doesn’t go.
Which also brings up another point that puzzles me. How is a ‘witch’ going to church??? I thought they’d burn up or something??? Or at the very least be uncomfortable being in such holy grounds. Which is also a precaution to other folks out here, be VERY careful and do not assume just because mtu anaenda church ni mzuri, specimen being my wife.
But as I was saying, I am afraid of going to the pastor because as soon as I do that, moshenee itatembea kwa village, and it could go the other way.
Now, bado sijapeleka ng’ombe. I have been receiving messages passed on from her mother to go “see” her, but I haven’t gone yet for financial reasons, BUT, with what’s happening I no longer intend to go. If anything, I am looking for a way out as soon as I can, but not before I get my smoking gun since as expected, this person ataniruka mbele ya wazazi.
Worst of all, my parents LOVE her, so I feel for them in a way, they really wanted my second marriage to work.
Advice villagers, and please note, this is not hekaya, I believe I have put as much details in here to dispell doubt that I am pulling your leg
Comments from people from the lakeside are especially welcome, but anyone really, I need as much advice and prayers as I can get