HZMB: The world's longest cross-sea bridge, the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge, 55Kms

The longest sea bridge in the world is scheduled to open to traffic this week , linking Hong Kong and Macau to the mainland China city of Zhuhai.

The Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macau Bridge, which measures about 34 miles and took nine years to complete, spans the waters of the Pearl River Estuary and will cut the travel time between Hong Kong and Zhuhai from three hours to 30 minutes, according to the English-language newspaper China Daily.

Regular motorists, however, won’t be able to drive across it — a special permit is required. According to CNN, most drivers will have to park and then switch to a shuttle bus or specially hired car to go across. Tolls will range from 60 yuan to 300 yuan (or about $8 to $43), according to China Daily.

The bridge is a joint project between Hong Kong, Macau, and China’s Guangdong province. The Guardian reports the bridge is expected serve as a way to integrate the two special administrative regions into China and form a technology hub to compete with Silicon Valley.

The bridge lies in a region known as China’s Greater Bay Area, which, according to an article by Chatham House fellow Tim Summers, boasts a population of about 67 million and a GDP of $1.5 trillion — on par with that of South Korea — making it one of China’s richest regions.
[ATTACH=full]202841[/ATTACH]
“The bridge serves as a bond between Hong Kong, Macau and other Guangdong cities. It is a symbol of the Greater Bay Area,” Hong Kong executive councillor Wong Kwok-kin said in the South China Morning Post.

The massive structure is the first major combined bridge and tunnel sea-crossing project in China and is comprised of three cable-stayed bridges with spans —r anging from 280 meters to 460 meters — two artificial islands, and a nearly 4-mile long tunnel, according to Arup, an engineering company involved in the design of the bridges and the artificial islands.

[ATTACH=full]202842[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]202843[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]202844[/ATTACH]
On two artificial islands at both exits of the HZMB tunnel, striking architectural concrete structures
[ATTACH=full]202845[/ATTACH]
The east man-made island of the Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge is illuminated on Saturday. Cars exiting the bridge then enter a tunnel built into the island.
[ATTACH=full]202846[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]202847[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]202848[/ATTACH]
great Job Chinkus but i will never forgive you for giving us ancient fugly engines for the SGR

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gynO_2CHSBc

Impressionante!

Nice…i would love to visit this world 1000 years from now! Would it be empty or thriving? Probably thriving. The human species has almost another 50000 years before facing an extinction threat!

Hii ingekuwa Kenya Ndii angelia sana.

@introvert jakipash tu ndie shida, huyu myamaa sijawai muelewa
[ATTACH=full]202854[/ATTACH]

There will be no humans as we know them in 1000 years. AI and eugenetics will make sure of that. Also there will be no kungurus.

hizi manmade island huwa wanategeneza vile niliona wakiangusha boulders hapo southern bypass ondire?

Samantha ashacheza bafu

Simply stunning. Bridges across the sea, tunnels under the sea, artificial islands on the sea and a road across the sea. All beautifully done and absolutely well designed. Congratulations to the whole team involved. This is the MEGA Project of the decade. China leads the world.

Don’t blame the Chinkus, blame the ones who signed the deal on behalf of Kenyans.
Wewe ukiskizana na mtu umuuzie truck moja mzee at almost the cost of a modern one there’s no way the family of the person buying can blame you for the raw deal.

Those who were pro-SGR are slowly disowning it…Mmkay.

Possibly… I remember this quote From Dolores in the final episode of westworld sn1. “They say that great beasts once roamed this world. Big as mountains. Yet all that’s left of them is bone and amber. Time undoes even the mightiest creatures. Just look what it’s done to you. One day, you will perish. You will lie with the rest of your kind in the dirt. Your dreams forgotten, your horrors effaced. Your bones will turn to sand. And upon that sand a new God will walk. One that will never die. Because this world doesn’t belong to you or the people who came before. It belongs to someone who has yet to come”

@patco njoo kipande ii

Nimengoja thermostat ya hiyo locomotive ichape, and I don’t know why it’s taking long

Earth will move on without us

If this had been done by the Europeans they would be shouting from the tops of the mountains that is a wonder of the world (which indeed it is) hebu tafuta ni contractor mgani ameijenga.

engineers hua on board na grease and other assorted paraphernalia in case anything goes wrong, was suprised juzi kuona ata saa zingine haijai, inaenda ikiwa kirai, coach ya 120 people mko 30 guys only

Inakaa hii kitu isn’t sustainable . It was an elephant project

55km =

Nairobi to karibu Machakos
Nairobi to Kijabe
Nairobi to Kenol-Kabati

Juu ya maji! MAYANGAI!