The meat in most Kenyan eating joints and almost all butcheries is too tough. Foreignors these days tend to be good mannered and polite and want to say politically correct stuff even when it is an utter lie. The difference between a good stake and random nyama choma is huge. I love random Nyama Choma as much as the next guy, but more of our farmers need to switch to feedlots and give the cows that babygirl life for 3-4 months at least before slaughter. It makes a huge difference to the quality of meat.
Wewe umefuga ngombe ngapi nugu, ndo uongeleee nyama. Do you even know how that beef reach that choma zone? Wewe kula nyama wacha mambo mingi. Ukitaka soft beef fuga an ukule ndama zako
Feedlots are capital intensive and most farmer’s quite simply wouldn’t afford them. Few farmer’s would be able to cope with the intense feeding programme; and the high cost of grains at the moment makes it unattainable venture. Personally I’m gradually switching to dairy… and yet I produce most of my feeds. Currently, we feedlotters are pumping our steers (ur grade A meat) with aflatoxins in the form of (maozo) grains … Your better off with eating cattle meat from my gang of rustler bandits than my feedlot program.
Generally, Africans (over)cook their meat. We also eat to get full and not to enjoy the experience of dining. So we tend not to notice the quality of meat unless it’s especially bad. But I think we have good quality meat in Kenya if you go to higher end butcheries. Ukipika steak rare na nyama ya @Motokubwa utahara. Odds are, ng’ombe iko na toxins from eating plastic bags and campaign posters and garbage.
:D:D you should know the meat at @Motokubwa 's butchery is not always cow or goat meat.
I went to promote @Motokubwa only to spot the carcass on display had a zebra’s tail. Apparently @Motokubwa had forgotten to properly skin the zebra. Nilijitoa tu pole pole sikutaka kumuharibia job.