For the Love of Ethiopian president

The more things change, the more they stay the same. Corruption will just mutate like a bad gene. Personal and voluntary contribution to a corrupt government is a bad decision, no matter how you put it. Until the government can account for a satisfactory level of the revenue it collects (by international standards), only then should you contribute. Its not wise to contribute if only 10% of your contribution meets the objective.

The problem is not that they don’t want to but it is a process shrouded in mystery and over complication. If GoK wants the diaspora to buy bonds they should simplify the process. As it is the documentation is bureaucratic. Take a look and you can see why some do not bother.

[INDENT]N.B: Please note that ONLY Kenyans living in the diaspora and who hold a local (Kenyan) commercial bank account are eligible to apply for a CDS account directly at Central Bank of Kenya (CBK). Non-Kenyans and Kenyans without a local commercial bank account can however still invest in Kenya government securities as nominees of authorised CBK agents which include commercial banks, investment banks and stock brokers domiciled in Kenya. https://www.centralbank.go.ke/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Diaspora-Gov.-Sec.-Investment-Guide.pdf [/INDENT]

[INDENT]Requirements for Individuals Opening CDS Accounts[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• Individuals may hold a single or joint CDS account but NO minor accounts.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• Each individual CDS account holder/applicant MUST complete the CDS accounts specimen signature mandate card (the card) which can be collected from any of the Central Bank of Kenya Branches in Nairobi, Mombasa, Kisumu, Eldoret or the Currency Centres in Meru, Nakuru and Nyeri.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• The card(s) should be completed in BLOCK LETTERS, neatly and clearly.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• Names MUST be written in the order that they appear on the identification document.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• NO alternations/errors.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• The card MUST not be folded or disfigured in anyway.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• Signatories to the CDS account will be required to sign the card in the presence of a designated CBK Officer or any Authorised Agent.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• On completion applicants will personally submit the duly completed card(s) together with:[/INDENT]
[INDENT]o One recent coloured passport size photograph of the account holder.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]o The reverse side of the photograph MUST be certified by the applicants Bankers and stamped.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]o The photograph must NOT be stapled or glued to the card.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]o The original and clear copy of the National Identity Card/valid passport/alien certificate for verification. (Note that the copies will be retained by CBK.)[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• Two signatories of your Bankers, whether a commercial bank or financial institution must sign and stamp the card on the space provided, confirming the bank account details.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]Kindly note:[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• The commercial bank/financial institution under Note 9 above must be licensed by the Central Bank of Kenya.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• Payments will be made to the Bank account specified in the mandate card.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• On receipt of all the requirements, CDS account application(s) will be processed within seven working days.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• Change of address may be advised through a letter signed by signatories as per the mandate.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• To change details of the CDS account one completes a CDS card and follows all the requirements mentioned from No. 1 to 9.[/INDENT]
[INDENT]• For any further clarifications kindly contact us by calling +254 20 2860000, by emailing [email protected] or [email protected], or by visiting our offices in Nairobi, Kisumu, Mombasa, Meru, Nakuru or Nyeri.[/INDENT]

This is a good idea. And I think the only way for diasporans to contribute to the developments is with a guaranteed return by the government. Otherwise you are just oiling the pockets of politicians. And that bond has to be specific eg building a toll road buruburu to Westlands. Not general purpose like they do now. That way you have a clear and measurable goal to collect the next one.

El sisi did the same with Egypt he had Egyptians worldwide buy bonds for infrastructure and they were able to build Suez Canal expansion and the remaining cash in being used to build New Cairo City.

Kenya Government for the longest time has been told to sell bonds to diaspora but has refused. Because it doesn’t want to pay us return of investments. Like we can easily fund roads, Konza city, Lamu port, Even parts of the SGR.

Ferkers like Rotich should be at the front creating such bonds.

A good idea, BUT (and this is my personal opinion) we need to get corruption under control before enough people agree to get on board. I know the government is taking steps in the right direction, but we need to completely stop the bleeding! If public officials are not ashamed of embezzling legally collected (taxation) funds, why should they be entrusted with ‘voluntary’ contributions. Secondly, after eliminating corruption and impunity, the wage bill needs to be trimmed down. A big portion of budget is spent on wages, at the central government level as well as in the counties. Politicians are public servants and they should be paid accordingly. Why should they get paid hundreds of times more than teachers? They also get some insane allowances (what are the freaking salaries for??). Siwes toa even a penny until all the corrupt billionaires are locked up and their assets seized by the government.

budget ya kenya ni TRIllions sio BIllions. Mafuta ya Turkana ile inajulikana iko estimated kshs. 120 billion. So 72 billion isikutetemeshe sana. Kenya ndio super power East Africa.

ARe you being rhetoric or sarcastic

Ni nini emotions asubuhi? Ama ni juu mtu wa Trump ame comment kwa thread yako?! Ni kii?

hehe. Tulia daddy. Si unatuambia 72 billion ni kama kitu kuuubwa…

That is peanuts to Gathecha and the current of governors. Nimeenda sasa usijikunie. Sita comment tena usikufe. Oh please.

In Kenya utaskia they form a board to manage the funds if in any case people are mad enough to contribute.
That board would then embark on a looting spree and a further commission of inquiry formed, be paid with our taxes and just like that, billions would be gone without a trace!

Sound like a good idea and a good starting point, to introduce higher levels of transparency and accountability.
Perhaps the government could channel such a fund into skill training and economically viable projects and i.e. oil investment, tram trains etc. and allow idea input from the diaspora community. It would make them stakeholders, rather than the usual Indian or Chinese stakeholder to everything, years of debt to ordinary Kenyans.

However, that sort of fund would not be managed by the usual civil servants; ideally representation of Kenyans based in the diaspora to annual/ quarterly meeting would need to be part of the fund management. Further, Kenyans in the diaspora would also get the opportunity for tendering and sourcing personnel or materials.

It would help create a better community spirit among Kenyans in diaspora, with a common aim.
It could turn out to be a very effective and successful.

No trump is your president ,mine ni Uhuru na raila. So on this platform you are a guest sio paul Manifort wala trump’s son. So don’t go . I need your opinions …ng’ombe

what the new p.m is not telling ethopians is that they are virtually bankrupt and can no longer afford to borrow and make and finish ongoing infrastructure needed to improve their country.the previous regimes fucked them proper.they need to be more creative than the 72B.the only problem i foresee is when reality hits them its this young chap that will take the blame.

Have you thought “what if he is right?”. … many people were seen to be making a wrong choice only fate to be on them and good tidings followed. Don’t joke with something called hope and dreams. This is what had died in most kenyans. Maybe Ethiopians still have it…

The term millions is used loosely. I meant they are certainly more than 20,000 and I said I am going to do some research and I sure will from a reliable source. I see many of them working in hospitals. I know they are limited in terms of lingua but I certainly know they must be more. One thing is clear, not sure I would like to partake in such a scheme with Kenyans.

BTW are you implying that the total number of Black Brits does not exceed 2 million? this including the many Carribeans who immigrated zamo and all their many children? pia huyu nitaangalia. The last I heard from an unreliable source during elections is there are more than 300,000 Kenyans. Na watu wamezaa kiasi.

Nitamwambia. Ako mwenjoyo Kenya kwa hivyo ako MIA kidogo.

Ondoa UNICEF na hizo busybodies from the list. Google the scandals most of them were embroiled in not so long ago. I suggest you start off with your own family close or extended. But you are otherwise spot on about where the money will end up…
Those Ethiopians/Eritreans/Somalis have a communal spirit that we lack as Kenyans. Just like our leaders!

Of the 300,000 Kenyans, Only around 100,000 are Black Africans. The other 200,000 are Asians who are counted separately as Kenyans but obviously not as Black Britons. There are less than 500,000 Afro-Caribbeans because half of Afro-Caribbean women have married outside their community and Afro-Carribeans are projected to disappear within this century .
Mixed Race are not counted as Black because Mixed Race can mean a lot of combinations.