For the Love of Ethiopian president

Im done talking to my ethiopian friend and there is something that their president is proposing to diaspora ethiopians .(he is the most loved president in ethiopia by the way. Loved by all tribes and walks of life except Tigryas tribe) Some Ethiopians are so excited to start contributing to this idea that some have started wiring money despite not given an OK by the govt to do so

Flashback ; Ethiopian as a country has been ravaged by regimes after regimes of corruption, nepotism and tribalism. So the current president has proposed that each ethiopian abroad to contribute $1 a day which translates to $30 a month and which translates to $360 a year towards a kitty that will reform the country.

This money isn’t compulsory but for those who want to change their country and those who do it on goodwill grounds can proceed.Someone like my friend has promised to give $1000 more= $1360 if the proposal is effected. So, by doing simple math this is what i found out:

Statistics of Ethiopians abroad

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/a/a4/Flag_of_the_United_States.svg/23px-Flag_of_the_United_States.svg.pngUnited States 460,000
[2][B]https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/d/d4/Flag_of_Israel.svg/21px-Flag_of_Israel.svg.png[Israel](‘https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Israel’)[/B] 130,000
[B]https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/59/Flag_of_Lebanon.svg/23px-Flag_of_Lebanon.svg.png[Lebanon](‘https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lebanon’)[/B] 110,000
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/0d/Flag_of_Saudi_Arabia.svg/23px-Flag_of_Saudi_Arabia.svg.pngSaudi Arabia 90,000
[B]https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/0/03/Flag_of_Italy.svg/23px-Flag_of_Italy.svg.png[Italy](‘https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Italy’)[/B] 30,000
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/a/ae/Flag_of_the_United_Kingdom.svg/23px-Flag_of_the_United_Kingdom.svg.pngUnited Kingdom 20,000

So I came up with a figure of 2 million ethiopians in diaspora because there are some countries that haven’t been mentioned above like Australia, Spain,Canada, Austria .
so if you take 2,000,000(people)X$360(each) = $720,000,000 ( bear in mind there are some ethiopians who will give as much as $10,000 instead of $360)
So in short we are talking of at least ksh 72,000,000,000 (72 billion kenya shillings) for the president to change the infrastructure of that country.

Challenge is …
1 can such a proposal work for us here in kenya without some spices and cucumbers of corruption thrown into it?
2 Do Kenyans in diaspora have a goodwill and love for their country like the way ethiopians have to a point of them donating money for free
3 If such is implemented , what will Uhuru’s first project be with a war chest of 72B which isn’t a loan

NB Mtu asilete ujinga hapa otherwise : [ATTACH=full]188492[/ATTACH]

Kenyans abroad remittances to relatives and friends are in the billions. Those same relatives shaft their cuzo 4m majuu, who washes grannies for a living, is a turn boy or works as a KYM in a farm, without lube month after month sembuse serikali.

With the level of corruption in this country, that would be a very stupid move by any Kenyan in the diaspora. I even try as much as I can to minimize the taxes I pay. After all, most of it gets stolen by greedy government officials to build flats in Kileleshwa. Wacha nilipe yenye siwezi escape kama ya petrol etc.

Float a bond. For Kenyans in the diaspora with a $500 buy in. Bonds have to be paid back. So offer a 7.5% interest on it. Guys will send back money

Uhhh Tax?

$720 million ni ndogo sana. The average African country needs at least $20 billion to bridge the infrastructure gap.

i was making a comparison with this proposal yao where its not a debt . Bond ni deni jaamaa.

Hata hivyo if Uhuru says that akina @Swansea @Simiyu22 and @Mrs Shosho not forgetting @Purple walete dollars yao iwe bond for 10yrs at 1% over the lending rate set by Mnuchin wa USA mtakataa? Leteni maoni yenu upesi

shida ni… hapa kenya they will start asking how they will benefit… then the diasporans will start demanding for some state tenders… jobs to their relatives etc…

The ones in Israel do not exactly see themselves as Ethiopians, especially the second generation.

they can prioritize the $720,00,000 . remember sio deni . it might be seen as a drop in the ocean but it can make system efficient to generate the $20 in a span of 5 years. Kitu kama tourism (jenga hoteli msituni, or even build a road to Eritrea for importation of goods and exportation now that the two countries have agreed to end war)

its not tax. Its donation to the Ethiopian govt . and its not a must. kwa hiari tu

oohh didnt know this but hebu focus on the main theme ulete your opinion :smiley:

I don’t support giving money to Kenya government. I support lending to the government at a reasonable interest rates.

One thing I disagree with 1st is your stats. It cannot be that the UK hosts 20,000 Ethiopeans. They are in their millions. 2nd of all walikuja abroad mapema sana so they are well settled. Let me leave kina my learned bros to contribute while I do a little bit of research.

Problem with Kenyans is they do not own the Ethiopian communal kind spirit so I would quite hesitate to jump in.

No matter how much loved the president is, the number of those contributing would be in the single digit percentage.
Africans abroad are already burdened with working multiple jobs just to make bills, sending money to family back home etc.
Not to mention lost ties with their motherland.

All of the Black Britons put together do not exceed 2 million. What are you talking about??Ethiopia was never colonized by Britain. Most Ethiopians went to the UK after the famine of the 1980s and in the present day, the few admitted are asylum seekers. Ethiopians are very few in the UK especially compared to Nigerians, Ghanaians or Kenyans.

ambia sister yako purple im waiting for her kwa hii fence . Akamu mbio tusipatwe.need to tell her something

G.O.K already has bonds and the diasporans don’t buy. What makes you think they will buy into this one? There was a time the yield was almost 10% and they still didn’t buy.

If you want to help Kenyans, donate directly to children’s homes, orphanages, UNICEF etc. Donating $$ is a fool’s errand. Politicians and officials will just pocket 99% and use the remainder to dig a pit latrine in some remote county out of guilt.

i think the corruption thing is what made their balls shrink. but i’m sure now they will have the balls to get the bond because there are some movements