Dunlop tyres - autoXpress(Buy or not?)

@ochithunder @introvert and all car gurus, I need a new set of tires for my jalopy(245/45/R17) and so far in the premium range, Dunlop SP Sport 7000D is the cheapest one around. The ratings look good but I have a few concerns, namely:

1. I have seen mumbling about bubbles on the tires after a while of if you hit a pothole. Would the autoXpress 2yr warranty service replace the tire if it did develop a bubble? Any one with experience with Dunlops and/or the warranty service?
  2. According to the official Dunlop website “Dunlop is a brand of tyres owned by various companies around the world.”. It seems that it’'s more of a licensed brand than one manufactured from “original source”. Ours come from SA. Would the quality still be true and world class?

P/S: Other tires I’m also looking at, Continentals and Bridgestone and Goodyear. Haven’t settled on particulars though.
[li]http://auto-xpress.co.ke/content/media/images/193X295/SP-Sport7000D—background.jpg SP Sport 7000D[/li][/ul]

45H is pretty low-profile I gather.
Easy to correlate with the meza-panya effect after you hit a pothole.
Hizo zingine are a bit subjective.
I have a bias for Michelin, when I can afford them.

My ol’ man has been using Dunlop since '92. Never had issues. Size 245 is quite unlikely to have fakes, who will they sell it to? Resale value battalion don’t get such a size.

Hitting a pothole at high speeds with a low profile “<55” may have a series of consequences ranging from blowouts to bending/breaking the rim. I think a 2 year warranty will cover side wall bubbling.

Mi nangoja tu ukimalizia ulete niunde akala

what’s your target? off road or “summer” tires? get off road tires. they’ll help you more than you know.
they’ll have grip in all weather and even in rain it won’t be so bad.
again, i strongly advice against 45 low profs. get 55 minimum. thank me later.
also remember that there is a trade off between grip and road noise and softness
soft = comfort = easy to toboka = little road noise = grippy = easy “frictionable” = quick wear

the opposite, in varying degree, applies.

dunlops though are not bad

low profile si ya kenya. njia mingi ni mawe na potholes tupu. Weka baloon proper ya kubounce off rocks.
About brand mimi nimtu wa dunlop na linglong. Dunlop is at all hardness grades softer comfortable drive tire( with stable drive where you feel the tires lying flat and smooth on the road) that will last you shorter time, while ling long is a very hard one goes for very long with operational problems here and there. I have an experience with a south african good year on a 4x4 only all i can say is that its a very tough tire. iliwekwa pumzi siku ya installation tu then went on to keep thread new for a long time under load conditions. Sikumbuki ilikuwa tire dimension gani exactly lakini ya landrover series 110 & not wide. other tires I have known are strange brands sijui akina kaizen za wahindi ama wachaina. Hizo zingine sijui labda BF goodrich.

I have used Dunlop from autoxpress all through. No complains

wajua hizi numbers za manisha nini kwanza.
Niko juu ya Dunlop 255/65R17 102H.Dunlop grandtrek.

[ATTACH=full]103328[/ATTACH]

Thanks guys. My conclusion from your contributions:

• Seems like the autoXpress warranty is good. Given than I cover about 20,000KM per year, 2 years would comfortably get 40,000KM out of them then I can dispose off them and get a new set.
  • Long tread life is at the bottom of my consideration for now. I thin this particular tire covers my main requirements. It’s grippy, so excellent handling and stopping(I’ve been caught out 3 times when I exceeded the grip levels on my shit Chinese tires). They’re soft which helps a lot with our uneven road surface(my suspension is not the softest). They are the least pricey starting at 15K so the tradeoff here is the longevity which is fine for me.

Also shopping for off road tyres. 99% usage will be in town/urban centre, however, the offroad feature will be certainly be needed 1%.
Any good recommendations on 215/60/R17, load rating, minimum 96 and speed rating , minimum H? Budget 15k to 20k per tyre.

your best bet is Kuhmo

This is from experience. My car came with fancy runflats, Dunlop or something. Bang! One pot hole and one tyre bubbled within one week. The bubble develops overtime. Was looking for replacements one weekend and could not get a reputable dealer open that Sunday. Went to maxxis in Westlands and bought a ZR rated tyre. Cheapish but I said what the hell. Bang! another pothole weeks later. Let us say I am running the same tyres, no bubbles. If you are not racing the tracks and not taking risks on the road then expensive tyres are just a fad. But then again you drive on the limit I guess so maybe they will suit you well. I also run 245 profile.

We were racing each other on the Isiolo road, an E60 against F10, approaching terminal speed, a brow up ahead. Side by side, getting excited about blowing my competition away and a bump appears from nowhere (remember we are side by side), immediately we can up that brow! Foot to the floor, prayers, flashes of the afterlife, dreams, funerals. The tyres held their own, no screeching, no smoke, no skidding. Perfect. We both came out unscathed. These cars have amazing stability at full braking.

Dunlops (like Continental, Yokohamas, Pirellis and Michelins) are good! But no one will replace road damage on warranty, Never!!! The expensive tyres bubble very easily though. Steel belted side walls!

Thanks @ochithunder . Hope your Isiolo run was great. BTW, how is the road there? I’m planning a Marsabit run circa December. By then, I should have done my Service B, my suspension and gotten a nice set of tires. Also actively looking at Goodyear Eagle F1 asymmetric. http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Goodyear/Eagle-F1-Asymmetric-2.htm

It was great, the road after Isiolo is German machine heaven…Try it.