I recently traveled upcountry like any other season of the year to prepare land for this years production. To my surprise, I noticed some abnormalities.
The region is too green for the month of February meaning it has been raining.
I usually do the 2nd ploughing in late February but this year, the farm has been too slippery even for my 4 wheel tractors, I was forced to stop since it was more of compacting the soil than loosening it.
Finally, naturally growing edible mushrooms are usually available from mid to late March but this time round, I found several in the farm. I uprooted a few yesterday for evidence purposes.
Billy_Drago:
…late February but this year, the farm has been too slippery even for my 4 wheel tractors, I was forced to stop since it was more of compacting the soil than loosening it.
Finally, naturally growing edible mushrooms are usually available from mid to late March but this time round, I found several in the farm. I uprooted a few yesterday for evidence purposes.
IMG_20260222_154255_2421920×1440 622 KB
So are we receiving more rain or less?
Eng_iti
February 24, 2026, 1:54am
Billy_Drago:
…late February but this year, the farm has been too slippery even for my 4 wheel tractors, I was forced to stop since it was more of compacting the soil than loosening it.
Owesome, many talkers have never tasted neither seen them in real life. Enjoy
Eng_iti:
… tractors, I was forced to stop since it was more of compacting the soil than loosening it.
Hii kitu ikikaangwa poa boss ni tamu sana na sembe. Used to eat them tukiwa watoi
Eng_iti
February 24, 2026, 2:02am
MTINGIZA_KITANDA:
…ening it.
Hii kitu ikikaangwa poa boss ni tamu sana na sembe. Used to eat them tukiwa watoi
Bado zinamea uku mtaani, pia kuna zingine tudogo
Matundaza_Nyamari:
…s been too slippery even for my 4 wheel tractors, I was forced to stop since it was more of compacting the soil than loosening it.
So are we receiving more rain or less?
It’s the onset season that has changed.
Abba
February 24, 2026, 4:28am
Billy_Drago:
Nilichimba shimo zangu to plant my perennial crop in December hoping that in March nitazifunika nipande May. I had to close the hole yesterday because mvua was destroying the hole. Now I’m worried about the roots penetration once 2 years are over because i sealed the holes early.
I depend on drought stress for my flowers to blossom in April. Now the drought hasn’t been long enough to prolong the stress. Now I’m expecting small harvest this year.
Climate change is real folks.
Holes dug in January
Emergency sealing in February
Abba:
… roots penetration once 2 years are over because i sealed the holes early.
I depend on drought stress for my flowers to blossom in April. Now the drought hasn’t been long enough to prolong the stress. Now I’m expecting small harvest this year.
Holes dug in January
IMG-20260131-WA01311200×1600 370 KB
IMG-20260223-WA01161600×1200 400 KB
If the walls of those holes cracked during the short dry season, then you are very safe coz roots penetration will be smooth and also the soil pathogens were killed by the heat.
Mkuu haya mashimo ni ya mmea upi?.coffee, passion fruit..
@Landlord ndio huyu durago
Abba
February 24, 2026, 5:43am
Billy_Drago:
… this year.
Holes dug in January
If the walls of those holes cracked during the short dry season, then you are very safe coz roots penetration will be smooth and also the soil pathogens were killed by the heat.
Neither mzito… im trying cocoa
Abba:
…eal folks.
Holes dug in January
Quite a unique crop, but I wish you well.
Abba
February 26, 2026, 8:37am
Billy_Drago:
…1-WA01311200×1600 370 KB
Quite a unique crop, but I wish you well.
I’ll story tell you my journey after 5 years if I’ll still be alive.
MTINGIZA_KITANDA:
…ening it.
Kwetu ziko mingi but I have never dared to eat