Career or Money?

Which one would you choose??

So there’s Mark, my neighbour who has been having constant misunderstandings with his dad about him not wanting to pursue his career and instead opted to have greed for money. So this is how it happened.

Mark graduated last year in September with a diploma in Human Resources Development from a well known college in town. From October last year Mark was looking for jobs to do to keep him going but he couldn’t find any. The bad thing with Human Resources Development is that its a saturated field and getting a good paying job is hard unless you have connections or if you are ready to take peanuts home as payment. So in Mid January this year, he landed a job as a receptionist in some company in town. He was enthusiastic since it was his first paycheck and it was his first job he got through his own hard work. Since he got the job through hardwork, he ensured he excelled in it each and everyday. The pay was good. The pay amounted to 30,000/- but after deductions it reduced to 27,000/- which of course is still a good amount considering that he didn’t have any responsibility to take care of.

After Feb 21, that was when the problem started. After taking home his first paycheck; his dad that day came home with some forms he could fill for a HR internship position in some company in Westlands. He wasn’t happy about it, because he had a good job and the internship’s was half of what he is being at his present workstation meaning the internship pay was 15,000. He tried to talk to his dad but didn’t buy into it. His dad was of the opinion he leaves the job and takes up the internship because its his career path but he (Mark) wasn’t into it. It brought a commotion with his dad even threatening to send him away from the house if he didn’t do it. So he applied for the internship under stressful conditions. Last week he was called for an interview for the internship position. Where he was interviewed normally. At the end he was asked to ask anything and he asked about the pay to which all interviewers were astounded. “Young man do you want to develop your career or you want money?”, that was what he was asked and he blatantly said it on their face that nowadays its money that matters careers don’t. He went on to say that there is no way he was going to quit his job to take up an internship paying half of what he is being paid. They told him to go home and think about it since he couldn’t think straight.

Right now he is not in talking terms with his dad. Guys which one would you choose? Career or money??

In the greater scheme of things 15k internship is the obvious choice. For a HR professional, hii kijana ni kama ilisomea dirishani.
The pay difference is literally one nights worth of drinks. If it was 300k then by all means keep it, but 30k salo priss

@Stinger = @Mark Gitau
So mark with @30ksalo dont want to start life outside his fathers house?
That career of his doesn’t it equal to money at the end?
Tell mark that he is a mamas boy and should man up.

that guy can’t think ahead, that’s the problem. gratify current desires today and live miserable life in the future. career comes with money. lakini mzee aache kujisumbua. not everyone deserves to be rich. you get what you deserve

If this was Mark wanting to do graphic design - Something he was passionate about - but his dad was pressuring him to do H. R. I would gladly tell Mark to tell the dad to swive off! But this is different, this is purely experience vs inexperience. Tell that young man to take his father’s advise quickly. There’s no difference between 27k and 15k if you’re staying in your father’s house

He needs to move out of his fathers house for him to start thinking clearly, and tell him to do it quick.

Real quick if the internship leads to a 50 k job at the end , then take it. As a receptionist your ends are limited.

His dad is right.

Wrong!
Atapata connections mingi , kwanza za puthy:D

Hindiot!

My fren, kichwa sio kofia wala ya kubeba meno pekee.

Askize budake!..its obvious his dad had a bigger plan in mind! He probably knew someone high above who connected that internship

It would advise him to keep the job, internships nowdays are a means for companies to get cheap labour. He work for 3 months and then it will be renewed for another 3months and he is fired. They get another intern who also will work for another 6 months and so on.

Internship, go for it. Pesa ni maua. I used to get a lot of money from doing a job which was not in line with my qualification. I decided to switch to my career path…7 years over and now mfuko ime improve na I’m proud of my certs.
Ukiwa na option ya kujenga karia endea! Kama hakuna, fanya mambo ingine na uwe macho.
Ni hayo tu.

OK let’s clear one thing up.

HR people are matapakas. There are very many stupid rules governing interviews such that you lose the substance of the interview.

Secondly, we are all working to make money whether it is salary wise or through commissions. Let’s stop kidding ourselves about that. Hr people are also there to make money. Saying “I’m here to grow my career and make a living as well should NEVER be the basis of rejection”.

That being said, this young boy is stupid. If he’s a millennial, then it explains his desire. Millennials cannot stick in one place for long and the average length is 3 years. They know nothing about working your way up slowly. They know kina Jay-Z made money now and now.

Then again the dad is not being fair. Leave the boy. He’s gotten his papers and an income. Now get the jackass “ourra da houz” and stop giving him the comfort of zero responsibility.

Both the dad and son are the problem. Over controlling dad makes son rebel especially when it comes to such things. He probably never had real freedom growing up so now that he has it, he’s not going to listen.

Leave the boy, let him run his life, let him make his decisions and be there to advise (not control) his steps.

Career development and progression…
In HR, he’s equipped and ready for takeoff. As a receptionist, he’ll only benefit his small head unless he goes to Utalii (or elsewhere) for papers and validation.

Tricky sana aiisee.
But kuna venye nakubaliana na hii nigga kiasi chake. Career ni wewe. Money matters. I mean how many guys out there have made it in life and they didn’t follow their career paths. If my career will lead to me living a poor and miserable life then fuck it. Let no one cheat you.

Na huyo Mark anafaa atoke kwa nyumba ya babake ndo asishinde akisumbuana na yeye.

Internship ya muhindi ama vipi, with that kind of policy does the company have an HR department to start with? Career trumps money any day.

Actually most international NGOs are doing it.

I agree with you…only that Jay - Z is a long-term achiever. Yeye na kina Diddy na Dre started kidogo and built themselves. Ni the new singers who give that false impression of making money quickly when they rap about success after a good year and some nominations in the industry. Just saying.