Building a house

Hello guys,

I’m new to this. I want to build a house budget 3-4 M.

How do I go about this

Just do it

@Randy kuja mbio

Location unajenga ni wapi. Otherwise, Tafuta architectural plans[SIZE=2](hapo naeza kuchorea), [/SIZE]structural plans, calculation design, check if uko na pending rates ulipe ka ziko, Title deed fanya search, Practising Certificate, submit for approval at the County office

Iyo order sijapanga but those are the requirements

Kama ukona title deed consult an architect and have the plans approved by the necessary authorities and do quantity analysis of required materials ukianza mjengo ukuwe unajua an estimate of what you are going to spend

if you decide to go with professionals, this was posted here by another Talker.
[ATTACH]312274[/ATTACH]

Location unajenga ni wapi. Otherwise, Tafuta architectural plans(hapo naeza kuchorea), structural plans, calculation design, check if uko na pending rates ulipe ka ziko, Title deed fanya search, Practising Certificate, submit for approval at the County office

[SIZE=3]hapo naweza kusaidia[/SIZE]

[ATTACH=full]312286[/ATTACH]

Tafuta architect akuchoree plans. Story za quantity surveyor and the likes wachana Nazo. They will give you an estimate (fairly accurate) that will discourage you from starting. Just start. The 3-4m zitakusongesha kiasi. The best thing with building is, if you start, you will somehow finish. When you look back, you will always wonder where all the money came from( it costs a lot more than your estimates to complete the house). But, just start!

With 4m you can get a 4bedroom bungalow with modest finishes assuming you already have the land.
The easier way is to forget about professionals and kanju, they will scam you atleast 400k before you even get a single stone to your site.

1. First get a house plan, you will be surprised that house plans sold by hawkers in nairobi streets can give you great ideas of the kind of house you want, share with your friends and family to develop your ideas further.
  2. Armed with these ideas, look for someone to put it them on paper in a presantable way, fresh architectural graduates or guys from polytechnics are the best. You can also get refferals from watu wa cyber, they always know someone who can draw. Keeping in mind construction costs are around 25k per square meter, let them size your house to fit your budget.
  3. With your drawings ready, its time to hit the ground, talk to your neighbours and friends who have built decent houses, more often than not you will get refferals of good supervisors and fundis, look fot atleast 5, ask for an opinion about your plans and request for quotations in the broad categories of foundations, walling, roofing, doors n windows, plumbings, electricals etc.
  4. With your 5 quotations from No.3 above, remove outlier quotes( the highest and lowest) and consider the three, have each supervisor breakdown his cost to the last ton of sand, gravel, hardcore, No of bags of cement, reinforcement steel etc.
  5. By now you have developed rapport with a site supervisor you would like to work with. Give him a labour contract, supply materials yourself. To prevent wastage and theft, dont supply in bulk, just enough to last three days atmost.
  6. If kanjo come calling, bribe then off kenyan style!, NCA and NEMA usually dont bother with small buildings. Fence your plot with mabati or masonry to keepoff busybodies and build with speed. But Dont do more than 4 courses in a day, itabomoka!.
    7.constantly supervise your site, pop in unexpected, keep all receipts and note expenditure including cost of nails, should any quantity exceed 10% of budget seek for an explanation.
  7. If you have budget constraints, complete identifiable sections of the house, for example, for foundations, budget upto ground floor slab level, for walling, include upto ringbeam, for roofing budget timber and roofing together. Half done sections weaken and lower quality of your building.

Patia Banda Homes pesa wakujengee.

How much do those pipeline, fedha, utawala plots cost per square meter?

Na mbona huwa huji market kama fake mason @Randy…ehhhh.
You want to con the guy…tumekuonea mbali…
Ile kitu unajua kuchora ni mjulus yako kama iko flaccid pekee…otherwise jaribu kuncon mtu hapa nikuanike juu hadharani…tunawajua…tunawaonea mbali…

The easier way is to forget about professionals and kanju, they will scam you atleast 400k before you even get a single stone to your site.

1. First get a house plan, you will be surprised that house plans sold by hawkers in nairobi streets can give you great ideas of the kind of house you want, share with your friends and family to develop your ideas further.
  2. Armed with these ideas, look for someone to put it them on paper in a presantable way, fresh architectural graduates or guys from polytechnics are the best. You can also get refferals from watu wa cyber, they always know someone who can draw.

When you pay other proffesional thier fees its ok but when you pay proffesional in the construction industry its a scam?
@kiboyoa avoid this advice completely otherwise utalilia kwa choo.

Nilikua nimeona hii post but nikalenga untill nikaona uyo jamaa wa plan za hawker advancing some bullshit…

Boss utashangaa. Since these bastards called NCA developed tactics similar to municipal Council, they are very greedy and very ruthless ukiamua kujenga bila permits zao. Any house within Nairobi county utawaona hapo ukikaribia Ringbeam ama shutter, ndio waibomoe if you dare refuse to bribe them. Na bribe zao si pesa ya Njugu kama kanjo.

Be warned kama uko Nairobi, these assholes will find a way to extort you.

I saw that nikatingisha kichwa… ata sio nairobi they are allover watakusumbua… i had a project in kiserian in four acre farm with tall/ dense live fence the owner thought we can build it chini maji without approvals untill those guys showed up wakaanza kusumbua . We had to go all the way to kajiado to take the drawings for approvals na uko walikua washa tuchomea we got the drawings after 2 /1/2 months of back and forth.

Mbona ni mcon?..nimerusha proposal yangu akikubali sawa akikata pia ni sawa…I know how to operate AutoCAD hapana rusha rusha mdomo ovyo ovyo naeza chora architectural plans @Randy pia wewe acha ujinga umeona competition kitunguu inataka kuungua pia unasecond iyo ujinga

Seek opinions of many fundis. Take your time and when you are ready, take more time again.
Architects will design tens or hundreds of houses before they can build theirs.
Material suppliers will sell materials for a long while before they can build their home
Lakini fundi usipochunga atajenga his own home with just one sweep of you.

In my little experience, suppliers of materials always have great, close to honest opinions on what is fact and what could be chieth

Ona you think construction is only about AutoCAD… :meffi::meffi::meffi::meffi::meffi::meffi: chieth ngimachwe

Wewe ata kujibizana na wewe is just a waste, endelea kujibamba II itakuwa a back and forth argument