Bucketlist: Kuomboka Ceremony in the Lozi Kingdom

[FONT=book antiqua]Kuomboka[/FONT][FONT=book antiqua] in the Lozi language literally means ‘to get out of water’. [/FONT]

[FONT=book antiqua]In today’s Zambia it is applied to a traditional ceremony that takes place at the end of the rain season, when the upper Zambezi River floods the plains of the Western Province. The festival celebrates the move of the Litunga, king of the Lozi people, from his compound at Lealui in the Barotse Floodplain of the Zambezi River to Limulunga on higher ground.[/FONT]

[FONT=book antiqua]The ceremony is preceded by heavy drumming of the royal Maoma drums, which echoes around the royal capital the day before Kuomboka, announcing the event.
The King’s state barge is called Nalikwanda and is painted black and white, like Zambia’s coat of arms. On the barge is a replica of a huge black elephant, the ears of which can be moved from inside the barge. There is also a fire on board, the smoke from which tells the people that the king is alive and well.

For his wife there is a second barge. This one has a huge cattle egret (Nalwange) on top. The wings move like the ears of the elephant, up and down.[/FONT]

https://cdn.face2faceafrica.com/www/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/kkab.jpg
http://www.francoisdelbeephotography.com/albums/Zambian%20Ceremonies/album/slides/Kuomboka%206.jpg
[ATTACH=full]189955[/ATTACH]
https://i.pinimg.com/originals/7a/d7/7f/7ad77f57d8649449688f622239653d4d.jpg

[ATTACH=full]189956[/ATTACH]http://bpnews.net/images/IMG723787HI.jpg?width=800

Ni hayo tu kwa sasa kutoka kwa makala ya mila na tamaduni.

Looks like Wakanda. Na by the way mbona sisi Kenyans hatuna traditional ceremonies kama hizi?

We are busy looking for Mullah, or tend to emphasize on event that will generate mullah, baby shower na kadhalika.

You forgot to mention that they refer to their king as Litunga…a very luhyia sounding name…Kisii version should be Otunga? Kamba is mutunga?
Anyway I love the fact that they embraced nature and had/have a way of dealing with natural disasters i.e flooding of zambezi

Nigerians are the most capitalistic society in Africa and they have more cultural festivals than anyone else as well.

Wow, hii lazima nitaenda

Kuomboka - kuondoka

Because in Kenya the kings give handouts, get elected, then take 10k bribes

I see woke middo classers shitting on the bullfighting events of our Western province in the media and Twitter.

Our version of colonialism was a one that left us with strong disstate for anything non-european.
Hii yote tunasema ni “backwardness” and “idolatory”.

True. Our level of colonisation was too deep. We hated everything that was about us and literally became black Europeans.

Greeks tuko nazo,
[MEDIA=facebook]id=710812615923397;type=video;user=TabloidAfrica254[/MEDIA]
perfect kienyejis to osha mecho

Kuna ile ya bukhusu ya tohara

Is there a documentary for it. …ka video hivi

I swear these guys are luhyas. Their accents and also I could pick few words here and there.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8A8ULjcToPk

Zambia as a country is beautiful . Green everywhere and very mellow people

Look up Durbar Festivals of Northern Nigeria. There are several. Very colorful.

I’ve developed a minor obsession Kanem-Bornu empire and other pre-colonial Sahelian states. I’ll post about it one day.

There are others like Argungu Fishing Festival

The Yorubas culture is original and elaborate. They have the most of them.

Eyo Festival
http://cdn.24.co.za/files/Cms/General/d/3801/932c433fe27840ec8934b08f0074274c.jpg

Ofala Festival

[li]Argungu Fishing Festival[/li][li]Carniriv[/li][li]Eyo festival[/li][li]FESTAC 77[/li][li]Gidi Culture Festival[/li][li]Igue festival[/li][li]Imo Carnival[/li][li]Lboku[/li][li]Ikeji Arondizuogu[/li][li]Ofala Festival[/li][li]Ojude Oba festival[/li][li]Ogwashi Ukwu Carnival[/li][li]Olojo festival[/li][li]Oro Festival[/li][li]Yam Festival[/li][/ul]
ETC ETC ETC

Does kenya have a festival like this ? I would have made sure that we have such if I was ordained to be wanga king but kuliibwo. :D:D