Brake pads and spark plugs

We have some car gurus in this forum, or at least people who have owned cars for a long time, so I decided to start this thread so that we could cover some of the go-to brands for disc brake pads and spark plugs in general. It would also be nice to learn about individual brands you wouldn’t want to touch because of past disappointments, etc.

Of course, this can differ from car to car; in any case, feel free to mention the make of the car for which you will prefer a specific brand and probably reputable outlets to buy from. Tuelemishane tafadhali.

Whichever sparkplugs you buy, make sure you do testing resistance using a multimeter. 5000-15,000 is a good spark plug.

Brands are not the issue here. Counterfeits are. Both Brake pads & Plugs are highly sort after “consumables” thus counterfeited in a way to look like the genuine parts in almost all the cases.

I wish yours was a specific question so that we can try to zero in on your problem.

I see what you mean. There are those brake pads brands that are highly sort out after for their ceramicness etc., so I thought guys would be happy to share their experiences with specific brands. Of course there are issues with counterfeits but that does not rule out OEM for particular brands may stand out

Question like,is there genuine Asimco brake pads.They look good when new but a week of use leaves the rims covered with black soot

Ok. What’s your input? Huwezi sema tu tuelimishane na wewe hakuna point umetoa. There’s a possibility you are very stingy in your real life

Get genuine OEM parts from https://partsouq.com/ for your Mazda .You can combine and purchase pads , plugs , oil filter x 3 , air filter x 3 .
The pads and plugs will last many thousand kilometres .

I have never changed spark plugs and brake pads in my car since in bought it in March 2018.

How many kms covered?

Some years back I used to change tie rod ends every 6months… kumbe I was just buying the box they are packaged in. Nilikuwa nashangaa, gari inaenda service twice, inabadilishwa hadi ball joint The best way to shop is just go to a reputable spare shop armed with your car frame number and ask for parts. CMS and impala are very good. Otherwise for a rookie hatuwezi jua tofauti.

so?

Bought those ceramics brake pads from a Mhindi guy at kirinyaga road and after a month decided to go join colleagues from all over for nyamchom and drinks at Flouspar Sego club using the road from nyaru via Turessia to Sego just a few days after the rains, nilijua sijui, breaks zilikuwa hazishiki, I had to change them at a petrol station near Biretwo.
To cut the long story short, buy only from reputable spare shops, hawa wengine are out to get your dime for zero value.

Please mention the reputable shops. Autoexpress? Kingsway? We need recommendations

And your motor vehicle authorized dealers, example most people assume Toyota Kenya is expensive for us toyos guys, but you will be surprised in the long run they are cheaper than Njoro and Oti in grogan and kariokor makaburini. An added advantage is that you will get genuine parts.

Bunyala road is not bad if you prefer ex-japan spare parts.

Msito unadrive toyota model gani? And have you experienced problems with car parts thieves?

Mimi niko na Toyota wish and no sijapatana nao thankfully, si unajua hizo ni shida za east of Nakuru, na most of the time I am west of Nakuru.

Hiyo unaweka rivets kila mahali na multi-lock ndio isiibiwe mchana/usiku…

Most modern cars have long-lasting iridium tipped spark plugs they come with from factory. Genuine modern spark plugs last about 100,000 miles. However, we are used to cheap imitations that barely do 20,000 kms. Best bet is use your chassis number, get your OEM spark plug part number and import. Install and forget.

Same with brake pads.

From which site specifically? Thanks