Bottom Of The Barrel LOW IQ Embu Bonobos Have Mined Coltan For Decades Without Knowing It

There is so much to mine in Kenya if you know where to look. Ruby za Northern Rift ni higher quality that the garnets at the coastal region, zinatoa watu Kwa shida haraka upesi. Me? I’m a gold standard guy, natembea na jiko, mattress na weighing scale Kwa Hiace semi camper all over the lirhanda corridor negotiating on prices. On the other hand Why are we letting China mine our coal kisirisiri all in the name of fueling a power plant somewhere we don’t know.

11 Likes

So the mining has been ongoing already?

Garnet mining is mostly done in Turkana county ILLEGALLY. Several colours. Taita ni shadow kama iko.

It’s coming to an end very soon the same way he has stopped sensitive illegal underground operations which has made some billionaires to become mad at him to the extend of sabotaging his eye opening projects.

Military leaders from your area are not clean too. I once met them at Rumuruti but selfishness & greed could not allow me to enjoy their company.
Alot of mining inafanyika kwa Nanok where no one can access apart from the few permitted billionaires has been on for long. I hope Nabii diverts it to benefit Kenya as a Nation but not the few selected individuals.

Ukiona area serikali inawapa locals weapons to repel any foreigner + unwanted locals, shootings from locals ni kawa but government looks aside & nothing will be done to them, elewa.

Kindiki & kk will make the hidden treasures available to Kenyan reserves.

Mining of anything valuable is being done at an industrial scale, but what is exposed on TV is the artisanal mining, where poor villagers scavenge the remnants, akin to chewing the already crushed sugar cane

so where is the industrial scale mining going on,. As far as i can tell, the deposits are not large enough to justifiy a major investor. Reserves spread across five counties may seem like a lot, but when you consider how far apart it is you realize there is no real value.

Considering that the total coltan indisutry is worth just $1.5 billion, and in congo they produce 80% of the legal extraction, and the other 19% is mined illegally. You seen how hard it would be to convince anyone to invest in such an industry where they are likley to pay the governemtn some rights

Europeans prospected the country from 1880s to 1960. Geographical results are available online if you know where to look. They found very little commercially attractive. But keep hope alive.

I don’t know anything Coltan, but I’ll argue my weight in gold.
Any mine is considered high yielding if it can bear between 9-10 grams per tonne, consistently , there is also some other metric of measuring the grade of the gold, but for the simplicity of this argument, let us just say gold is gold, doesn’t matter if it was river harvested or from a deep shaft mine (they differ a lot).
South Africa at some point had numerous such mines, that’s why it was the highest producing country in the world, and the mines were led by the people @Ndindu likes more, (non bleks) so they were highly efficient, mechanised, reducing waste, and extracting to the very last grain available.
In Kenya, we got mines yielding up to 15g/t. And this is at the artisanal level who use a primitive way extracting gold from impurities using mercury.
The govt seems not so much interested and it is left to the foreigners who flock the area and do the dirty work, in large scale using their own standards, equipment and skills.
So to answer you directly, there is no interest or support from the GOK, They would rather restructure PanPaper and Mumiasii in wesdan than think alternatives.

My point is very simple. 99% of coltan in the world comes from Congo. Even the one stated as not from congo is usually from congo. it is cheaper to smuggle coltan from congo and pretend you mined it somehwere else than to mine it somewhere else. No matter how much coltan we have, we cannot have as much coltan as congo. Not to mention we cannot get it out as cheap as congo.

The miners in congo use children who they do not pay. They simply kidnap them and beat them to work. In kenya, you could not get it cheaper than congo as you cannot feasibly emply child labor, you would stll need to pay men with IDs a salary.

in congo, there is no salary, no cess, no fees, no taxes, no nothing. You just whip children and take free money. No one can compete with that shit, no one.

Wewe umbwa ii shoga tuchanue pia sisi tutoke diaspora tukuje kuchimba

Maybe nabii or his henchmen want to resell Congolese coltan/other minerals and pretend it was mined in Kenya

Nabii amekua hatari buana :green_emoji:

Hizi raundi zake Kila time nazishuku, ni business deals

Hii tabia was captured in a movie, where a Korean thief stole diamonds from Africa and poured them in iceland claiming he has discovered them in the forsaken country.

Wouldn’t say Ruto directly but someone may be using the good minster for dirty work. He did not seem serious at all and no investor was present at the announcement

The government should have nothing to do with mining except collect resultant taxes. We do not want government in commercial activities.

Deposits concentrations are too low in Kenya and in difficult to reach depths unlike in places like SA and Zimbabwe. A comparible area is Ghana where concentration is low but in shallower depths. In Kenya there’s lots of brokers in those artisanal mines. As a result, prices are close to world commercial prices per ounce. Which means making a profit is difficult unless you are there full time and have established relationships with miners for years.

Indeed, the govt should have nothing to do with it @Simiyu22, but imagine if they injected the same Billions of shillings into mining as they do sugar production every couple of years, maybe setup standard procedures on safety, but naelewa ni siasa ya western and it might be sensitive to you.
Let’s go back to mining.
As you’ve mentioned, I do have my employees in both the deep shaft and river for the alluvial gold, I supervise every process, I calculate and plan for the tide, when and where to harvest, I also do the processing, below is just an illustration of how it’s done.

My very skilled staff.

We do work as a team

Below is an amalgam, not the best way to process, but we don’t have safety standards, so naichoma Kwa jiko kama wengine.

Kumbe wewe ni josto Kimberley bwaku?

Amalgam by mercury? Jamaa mjipendi afya yenu. The way that guy is handling, little amounts absorb through his skin over time, straight to his kidney and liver.

But no it’s not Western politics. Government should not be in any commercial activity. Even safety standards are to be set commercially. The only reason they should come in is if an injury occurs and then fine/shut down the company. Trying to set safety rules means business owners just look for ways to subvert them.

I’m a small fish, I can’t change the rules. Either way, I process my own stuff, there’s lots of wastage (and thieving) trying to do it in the bush.