What does this mean in Kenya? Doing business with govt? Gachagua says he’s an astute business man and all his money came from govt tenders, while there’s nothing fundamentally wrong with this, can the suppliers whose monies have been held in govt say the same thing? Or is it that he knew people and connections to ensure prompt payments, as exaggerated as they maybe?
I have mad respect for people in the private sector who create entire industries from seemingly thin air through enterprise, read SportPesa, and other industries that grow so big that govt feels the need to step in to regulate. Ronald Karauri, SK Macharia, James Mwangi we can see where their money comes from to be called astute business men, not Gachagua and ilk
Gachagua lied and I do mean lying through his yellowed teeth that they will issue a 500mbirrions shilling bond, 500mbirrions!!! To pay suppliers. That’s about $4.5 billion…and it would be Kenya’s largest bond issue to date and that means external investors… And where will the money to service this bond come from when repayment falls due… Yet you have people like @Kalenjin101@Berlin Oxford jumping up and down kubebwo dogomothi madathi na huu urongo.
Kenya has 4 Eurobonds to date that are a headache to it, hata Yattani and his unending debt appetite alikunja mkia na Eurobond ingine, lakini jambas sugu anasema he will issue the largest single bond, I think in Africa, na kuna dogomothi zinameza huo urongo?? It doesn’t hurt to think bana
uchumi ya kenya lazima iporomoke kabla miaka kumi iishe, haijalishi ni baba atakuwa kwa kiti ama mwizi wa sugoi. tunataka maisha poa yet we export nothing, we import everything.
Thank you for this and for being among the few who saw through the bullshit and thagary that was Gashagua’s.
I way dismayed by the level of bonoboism in this forum as they cheered him on.
Martha was intelligent enough not to be dragged into this murk.
Talking about the same mlevi1 who introduced Passat’s to curb fuel expenses and promptly forgot about it as soon as he became President? Same mlevi who saw the SGR construction costs almost triple and did nothing? That mlevi who went on a borrowing spree to whoever and wherever? That mlevi?
And Rigathi quickly following in his footsteps to to issue mega bonds, debt, that’s unsustainable…100Mbirrion hustla fund, credit guarantee scheme for farmers… Rather than rationalizing what we collect internally to get some bearing sense.
I’ve followed your economic discussion here and to be honest you’re a bit informed. Lakini usikuje na hio strategy ya upuzi sijui rationalized spending. Of course that would save some money but itafika 100s of Bs??
There will always be deficits but curbing the wastage in govt is a first step in plugging some of the budgetary holes… What’s the point of changing police uniform as Gachagua puts it? Is it a priority or necessity? Or what do you understand by rationalizing expenditure ?
Those that changed to the current police uniform walikua wanafikiri nini? Why didn’t they save? Those are the ones you’re siding with right now. Let me ask you a question…in the current government where do you think there’s wastage in spending?