Habari ndio hio. He was born and raised in the US and has travelled to many countries in europe, asia, south america, west africa, southern africa, east africa and says that Kenya is the best country to live in the world.
Give him 1 year tops. You will find him living in Boston Massachusetts. But he has quoted what I have always said to @255 . Tanzania has few roads. Wako na barabara kama za Congo.
Tanzania is a shithole ask @255 he will tell you
Hehe that is true. The american amesema TZ and rwanda are shitholes and are way below level ya kenya.
LDC countries are allowed to ship live chickens to USA wajisaidie lakini bado hawajaanza
Wanaamka kubarizi na kuenda msikiti mara nane kwa siku instead. Useless people
I think he’s right.
With a salary of 3000 USD, you will live an average life in the US but a very comfortable life in Kenya.
@DukeOfKabeteshire aka @applebee100 please confirm sir.
Huyu ni juu anarushiwa kuma from every direction. Yes, with money Kenya is an excellent country
I’ve never been to the US. Pengine uulize akina @Aka_mpole.
However, I can confirm that 300k monthly income in Kenya is a very comfortable life. People in America should tell us whether $3k is enough uko.
The guy is a handsome chap as most women would say so sidhani atapata shida ya kuma ata deep into the ku klux klan territories
. Alafu the average Kenyan guy ni either too skinny ama kitambi imejaa kama mandazi moto. This guy is fit.
Agreed. I think he’s in the honey moon phase. Once he starts actually living like a Kenyan - starting a business, opening bank accounts, getting from point A to B dealing with Kenyans 24/7 - atarudi back to Miami with his tail between his legs.
The only Americans/westerners who can survive this country are the extremely loaded ones (those who can hide in their ranches and gated communities rubbing shoulders with solely other expats). Average westerners who can’t afford that lifestyle will get extremely frustrated living like an ordinary Kenyan and putting up with what we put up with. It’s a very different lifestyle.
Look around you. When you meet foreigners here and they tell you wameishi uku for years and years, they’re mostly extremely loaded. Very difficult for a middle-class foreigner to survive here unless they’re also from a third world country like India where things (bureaucracy, corruption, poor services) are similar.
I think the hardest part he will discover about living with Kenyans full time is their over exuberance in giving unsolicited advice. Kenyans simply don’t know how to mind their own business unlike in the US where rugged individualism and extreme privacy is the order of the day. Most of the time their advice is completely wrong and uninformed but they insist you must do what they say in terms of where you should live, what car to drive, what business to start and much more. In America, you’re given options A,B, C, D but no one ever chooses for you. It’s considered uncultured or rude.
You find someone with a much lower net worth than you still insisting on giving forced advice. It can be very jarring to have people so immersed in what you’re upto, following you like a soap opera when you’re not used to moving like that.
Kenya is a small country. Almost everyone knows everyone or someone who knows you ![]()
. It’s in our blood.
Surviving with $ 3,000 depends on your location but still hard especially with the inflation for the last 4 years. You can live with that amount in the MidWest but basically you are not in the city . In California or West Coast you are living below poverty, people do it but they struggle .
$ 3,000 is a good amount in Kenya especially when you are not paying rent. He will probably spend close to $ 1500 a month living a luxurious life and probably get more opportunities since he is a foreigner . He may face hurdles trying to establish things like business but Kenyans will jump hoops once they hear the accent and he will always try and let people know he is from Miami and Kenya rocks . He will learn a few Swahili words and we shall be impressed.
$3k is great in Kenya. I don’t know about America but here’s my assumption. Making $3k a month in Kenya is a tall order and only the best of the best in certain fields will ever sniff that much money (or successful entrepreneurs and tenderpreneurs). That much we can agree on. We can therefore conclude that $3k a month in Kenya is like a ceiling.
America uko people make $5k, then $10k, then $15k and so on and so forth. $3k is like the floor kabisa. Therefore ata kama it’s more expensive, you can always make more and the opportunities to do so are there. So utapata expenses za $5k a month mean nothing when you make upwards of $10k a month.
Americans wakuje apa watwambie but najua Kenya $3k a month lazima wewe ni mtu very useful. Let’s not forget that less than 3% of Kenyans make $500 a month. Mkubwa data tuko nayo. If we believe this is false data, we can do a sample right here on Kenya Talk since kijiji is a sample of the Kenyan population and therefore the data is representative of the country we live in.
Whoever doubts this info, kindly share your payslip ama bank account. Tuanze na self-appointed kijiji know it-all his excellency @Gaines and honorables @Yugni, @Yuletapeli and @MTINGIZA_KITANDA. I even invite the resident dynasty kid @Gaza to weigh in on the matter.
Uhuru alifanya kazi.
Kuja na your true handle ( @applebee100 ) ndio nikujibu otherwise i don’t respond to shit munchers
$3k per month, that translate to $36k per year, this one you need two other roommates to make it.
Mkundu wewe
Also depends if we are talking net or gross; Someone making $ 3,000 gross per month in Indiana will take home a net of $ 2485. Lets do a random city Elkhart, Indiana:
1 Bedroom apartment: $ 800
Electricity(gas is mostly free in apartments) $ 150
Cellphone $ 75
Internet $ 75
TV package $ 100
Gasoline $ 100
Food $ 150
Laundry $ 100
Clothing $ 75
Car Insurance $ 100
Misc $ 100
Total: $ 1825
Savings: $ 660
This is basic living assuming you are not making any retirement contributions and most of the people here wait for social security benefits when they retire and the money is not enough. Also the above is for a single person so hopefully he/she will get a partner who is working. The good thing is that school will be free upto high school and also there are grants for people living at a certain income level. One thing about a mzungu is that they dont care about plot maguta maguta, they get buried in a cemetery and mambo kwisha.