1st TBT 2017 #ferkmeriamagdalene!

sasa juu VS @Meria Mata ameshindwa na kazi, wacha niwache hizi hapa!

[ATTACH=full]81370[/ATTACH]
ma-dre hutoa watu mbali, gues who?

[ATTACH=full]81371[/ATTACH]

@FieldMarshal CouchP , @gashwin , @Meria Mata circa 1982 before TMT ajaribu kupindua serikal.

[ATTACH=full]81372[/ATTACH] kama ulivaa hizi, pension yako unalipwa next week.

19 Likes

hehe Sonko maze

[ATTACH=full]81374[/ATTACH]

People who grew up in Kenya in the 80s and early 90s will arguably say those were the happiest childhood memories of any generation in Kenya. Although under a seemingly dictatorial regime of president Daniel Toroitich arap Moi, life in Kenya was simple and punctuated with certain routines that cannot be said of modern-day Kenya.

With the relaunch of Tree Top in June, we has compiled a list of other items that children of 80s and 90s would perhaps remember with a lot of nostalgia.

Reading books was not work! It was such a pleasure, with books like Hallo Children, The Moses Series, Peter and Jane, Hardy Boys, Mwalimu Jini with his sharp-pointed shoes, Ali Baba and the Forty Thieves, Ladybird series, Alladin and The Lion and The Witch, among others.

https://i.onthe.io/0fgjhs54ecdf4hrls.0811c0a5.jpg
Hello Children, this is Mr & Mrs Kamau’s family!

But it was TV that brought the family together in the evening after a long day with drama series like Tahamaki, and the legendary Nguatah Francis telling tomorrow’s weather through stickers! A comprehensive review of the news every weekend Dunia Wiki Hii and programmes like ‘Omo Pick A Box’ were a delight to watch hosted by the late Reginah Mutoko. Time for some sport, and you had 'Football Made in Germany!

https://i.onthe.io/0fgjhs6n13mkubpud.e6dd1825.jpg

Time to make a call? Oh well, one would go to the phone booth with pockets full of coins. But life was easy, if you didn’t have any money on you, just talk to the operator and they will reverse call for you!

https://i.onthe.io/0fgjhs19iuc9ge2np.8dcb0fee.jpg
A collection of products from the 80s and 90s.

Transport was an orderly affair with the Kenya Buses that were readily available at bus stops with a specific time table. Perhaps someone would love to see parking meters return and say goodbye the county council officers!

https://i.onthe.io/0fgjhs7274bcl1415.fc5f984d.jpg
A fleet of Kenya buses at Kencom, Nairobi. PHOTO BY OTIENO NYANDIMOH.

Radio was a great company at home, especially on Saturdays and Sundays - and every morning while going to school there was this song Kinky Farmer that would encourage everyone to take up their role in the society - students would be asked to study and look into the future.

https://i.onthe.io/0fgjhs6ci2241ke5g.5b2f118b.jpg
A short wave family radio that was common in many homes. PHOTO BY NOSTALGIC EAST AFRICA.

And, Mr Reddy Killowatt here! He was the lovable Kenya Power mascot who made blackout announcements less annoying.

https://i.onthe.io/0fgjhs1ogr6phubf6g.98832273.jpg
Reddy Kilowatt

What about that camera man who used to take family photos? The delayed gratification the photos brought once the camera man returned with a bundle of them and their negatives! Then there were games like kati, shake and hopscotch.

How about time for a Fanta?

https://i.onthe.io/0fgjhs2i2jp8kdjdu.40ce9528.jpg

Or some school milk? It was pure joy to see the milk lorry drive in to the school compound!

https://i.onthe.io/0fgjhs51l9qvldmn3.d96d6719.jpg
A pack of school milk that was distributed to all institutions across the country for free by the government.

Confectionery: What of goodygoody - the brilliantly named toffee that got stuck in your teeth - coo and tropical?

https://i.onthe.io/0fgjhs2gudmouqv4h.bbb3efe2.jpg
The name of this sweets! Coo.

There was that constant face you saw everywhere. The photo of the president almost hang on every wall.

https://i.onthe.io/0fgjhs3c64hc7qds3g.7bf0aa75.jpg
President Daniel Toroitich arap Moi.

How was your childhood like? What can you add onto this list?

source
MMNN
[SIZE=4][/SIZE]

16 Likes

rosy retrospection…

I agree mate… There were alot of awful brutal shits happening in the '80s…

Mzee mzima unajua kofta ?

Breacol
@jumabekavu njoo hapa

Fanta mpaka wa leo napenda sana, alafu shida na picha za camera men ni kuwa ungeiongoja kama ID

[ATTACH=full]81402[/ATTACH]

KWENDA LETA TBT UNASUMBUA!

Nice.loved this book

@Young apewe likes zote za @Meria Mata!!!:D:D:D:D

Hiyo hallo children ilifanya nikapenda chai na ndizi. I think the boy was called Peter.

weren’t they tom Mary and Mr kamau?

Peter was the youngest in the family