Gypsum wall partitions vs Regular Stone walls

We are familiar with gypsum ceilings but how about gypsum walls?

[ATTACH=full]345079[/ATTACH]

Advantages of Gypsum walls
-Much more dynamic than stone walls. You can design any room you wish. And later go in and change.

-They give a beautiful finish. Since the gypsum boards are even, the wall paint texturizer applies very smoothly giving a very beaufiful flat finish once painted.
-Offer flexibility in assigning fixtures. Lets say you decide to change your bathroom fixtures, you can change easily without breaking the walls to trace the plumbing. Plumbing and electricals are assigned in partition between back to back boards that form a wall.
[ATTACH=full]345043[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]345045[/ATTACH]

-Better soundproofing since they absorb sound better than stone. And you can add a layer of soundproof material in between the boards.

Sasa sisi watu wa nyasi, tuelezeee kwa kina

Since the wall is non load bearing, the process is easy and begins by framing. Either using metal or wood. Wood is easier to use.

[ATTACH=full]345081[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]345082[/ATTACH]

Then you attach drywall sheets to the frame and mud the joints.

[ATTACH=full]345083[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]345087[/ATTACH]

Mchwa, humidity, security na even load bearing ya roof , Ni disadvantages za gypsum

Then you prime the wall and paint.
[ATTACH=full]345089[/ATTACH]

And the a vandal comes and splashes water kwa wall yako,you watch it disintigrate slowly,you don’t need even a saw to cut the fucking board ,a nail will do

Termites - Use Boric Acid if necessary. It’s rare they attack.
Humidity has little effect on Gypsum
Humidity- The primer and paint protects the drywall. In coast you use paint with more gloss.
Security-Its for interior walls like inside your house. Pretty difficult to break into anyway. A murderer would likely find you outside your gate,
Load bearing- Well if necessary, the wood or metal frames carry the load.

It will take years.

A stone wall is cheaper, involves less work, and is more practical to work with.

And we should take your word for it? Atleast @Simiyu22 has made some effort to back his claims on gypsum.

Timber is very expensive in kenya. Its cheaper to buy ndarugu stones to wall. Stones are also more durable unlike that timber and “paper” wall.

When you decide to build your pigsty, revisit this page. And follow these tips. Your home interior will look better than Railas.

Why don’t you plaster traditionally and then you skim using gypsum filler,?

I will agree on the cost of timber. But remember:
Gypsum boards last more than 70 years. And they are not paper. The outside is binder may be paper but inside is gypsum. Remember that the timber is not load bearing. So it can last over a century. Even if it is load bearing, designed right (even weight distribution) it will still last as long.

You can, but the evenness of the boards beats stone walls. Actually I forgot to mention that commercial places use these boards to partition rooms.

I have seen water damage on gypsum ceilings. It would be a disaster on walls. Stick to mawe and plaster on walls.

Gypsum hapendi maji kama Tu ceiling board

Thanks. Most of us in Kenya are not familiar with drywall like in the US. I have a small cabin I want to use drywall. Inbox kama wewe ni contractor

I don’t think so. With Gypsum boards as described by @Simiyu22 would take five fundis can construct a whole house in half of the time it would take a whole army of fundis and labourers to construct a masonry of a similar size.

Incidentally, it’s commonly used to partitioning office spaces and hotel rooms in high end buildings in Nairobi in the pretty much the same way they install gypsum ceilings. It just hasn’t occurred to the locals that the same concept can be used for walls.