Diaspora African must wake up

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ne5opfiHIoc

Kenya gets a huge amount every year from diaspora remittances.

What would be more beneficial to Africa in the long term.

1. Continued brain drain and remittances

2. Africans stay here and build Africa ?

Thats just a small debate with no end results. Waafrika hawana umoja amd that has always been the western joy.
zile kazi zimebakia ni clerical,secretarial and other shenanigans. Failures ndio wadosi,wenye wamesoma ndio wanafagia,si basi heri mtu akafagie kwingine apate pesa ya mdosi huku. You know very well the economic margin alafu unaambia msee atulie huku? Whatever world you live in i guess everyone has a mansion. Watu wafigie kwao. Konyagi’s father had a plan for his decendants ata kama aliiba. Solid foundation familia ikisonga

To build what? Most diasporians are mere nurses and clerks with no capacity to build anything whatsoever in the motherland. Wacha wakae huko waendelee kuslay instagram vile wamefika.

The best option both you and I know is the second one.
However, most African countries lack even the foundation to build upon. If you see the well educated people are the ones tarmacking and resorting to menial jobs that don’t reflect their full ability, there’s a really big problem.
Let African countries first solve their systems to get to work. It is really painful to see bright African minds advancing the interests of foreign countries in sectors that would be really helpful to their domestic countries.
And no, remittances are very little if you compare to what they could have done were they at home.

Afrika tunajenga alright, but akina waiguru hawaachi kuifyonza

This gambian seems quite sharp and intelligent. The gambians i met when i first came to Europe were busy selling drugs on streets or chasing after old fat grandmothers.

All this big talk is just mere talk. Lofty dreams. When all is said and done, people will do what’s in their personal best interests.

Stay and build? You mean build yourself up so that you can be rendered hopeless and disillusioned by politicians and corrupt businessmen? Kama kupata license ya kuanzisha viwanda ndio shida, na ukianza kuoperate you dedicate part of your budget to bribing everyone from police to area mpigs. The country will take care of itself, afadhali nifagie abroad.

This is painful, but unfortunately true.
However, braindrain doesn’t solve anything in our countries-true.
It has been proven around the world that when it comes to worst, our African immigrants are treated like shit, irregardless of what they bring to the table-this may be understood due to the rise of hardline nationalism globally.
The only time our diaspora is proud of anything about the country is when it participates in athletics or rugby internationally/country does something placeable on the global map
Then it’ll be “that’s my country!” Anything else other than that is avoided, in fact, in some ways it is encouraged by those in the diaspora.

Systemic repair in African countries requires cooperation from both those in the diaspora and those in the countries, we should both be agitating for the right governance and accountability in order to walk in the right steps to the foundation of Africa we would all like to build.
I personally don’t think that many Africans in the diaspora actually enjoy being there, save for the money and some few perks here and there.

Unfortunately, in a country where the political class is out to shaft you from the moment you are born, survival depends on fight or flight. Some choose to stay and slug it out, others choose flight - literally in this case. To be honest the diaspora community owes nothing to KE, where your brain is drained through frustration and poor amenities and pay. Si afadhali I take my talents elsewhere where my skills are appreciated and my hard work is compensated pound for pound.

I have decided to interchange the two links to illustrate how this nonsense does not become a reality ever…

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/bored-frustrated-and-thinking-aloud.155999/

Ask diasporians!
The only thing we miss is socialization and the food!
We don’t have the same societal interactions that we have at home, unless you have family here, we’re all strangers.

I do not miss the chaos, anarchy, insecurity and general disorder that one experiences out there.
I hate that I have to be reminded to I roll up my window, hide my handbag and laptop and deal with the crazy traffic jams when it rains.
The only time Kenya had some order was during the kibaki era.

Although there’s racism here, you’re guaranteed a minimum standard of living as long as you’re willing to work, that is something that you can’t get in Kenya, people are starving while the government spends 4 million on tea and mandazi … tafakari hayo :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Africans/Kenyans who live in diaspora are actually doing their respective countries a favour. They are not taking where is not enough to go around. Their absence in itself is a positive contribution that gives someone else a chance for a job, house or something else.

It’s why I’ve said that the diaspora offers money and quality living, the comforts that many African countries don’t(offer) in compensation for lacking the critical aspects of life such as socialization, identity and collective cultures.
The major undoing for Africa can be argued to be lack of a working system in these countries. Something is critically wrong when people loot and the majority cheer/defend them yet these funds would have employed a gifted graduate somewhere. We even lack an institute dedicated entirely to research and design(no, not KEMRI) that can cater to bright fellows. Why should they stay?
The personal decision of those in the diaspora is deciding to give back/participate in the countries of origin. We may say that we owe nothing, which is true, but the inaction is also not helping our countries in any way.

This is actually true, I’m not against Africans moving to the diaspora, simply because Africa has not laid out a proper foundation of its systems to enable constructive building of the country by these individuals.

Hii ni payslip ya mere nurse huko majuu. Huyo jamaa wakashikana watu kama tano wanaweza come up with some serious investment with little borrowing.
[ATTACH=full]310226[/ATTACH]

Hehehe I didn’t want to comment on the “mere nurse” issue because it’s very hard for a non diasporian to wrap their heads around the huge pay discrepancy between nurses in Kenya and abroad.

I know nurses with huge investments huko nyumbani, unfortunately it’s only in real estate because of trust issues.

Personally, I only miss zesta jam, even tho they grow lots of good strawberries where I live and there is plenty of jam. Don’t really miss any other food hata. Socializing…mmmh you learn to hang out with your crew, those you get on with. Don’t care where they are from. My gurls from the Caribbeans rock.

Racism I can work with…coz I can blank you…while still smiling.

Truth is that nurses are raking so much money in the West. Especially those on contracts. America leads on this wuuuuui mbesha mbesha mbesha…
I repeat again…my midwife friend rakes in sooooo much money here, we can only watch. She works damn hard, combines crazy shifts but when she takes a break…eeeeeeeeeer …lives it large.