Blood is thicker than water

More than 100 veteran engineers and managers from Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Co (TSMC), the world’s leading chipmaker, have been hired by two Chinese chip companies since last year, the Nikkei Asian Review reported on Wednesday.
The report cited sources as saying that the hirings are aimed at fostering a domestic chip industry in order to cut the Chinese mainland’s reliance on foreign suppliers.

The two companies which are little-known are Quanxin Integrated Circuit Manufacturing (Jinan), better known as QXIC, and Wuhan Hongxin Semiconductor Manufacturing Co., or HSMC.

In addition to employing more than 50 former TSMC employees each, both are also led by ex-TSMC executives with established reputations in the chip world, the report said.

The two projects are aiming to develop 14nm and 12nm chip process technologies, which are two to three generations behind TSMC but still the most cutting-edge in the mainland, the report said.

The report comes as companies including Huawei are pushing for technology independence.

Earlier today, a Weibo blogger said Huawei has launched the “Tashan Project” to make its foray into semiconductor manufacturing and is ready to build a chip production line without US technology.

The blogger said Huawei has begun to work with related companies, ready to build a y 45nm chip production line completely without US technology, which is expected to be completed within this year.
At the same time, Huawei is also exploring cooperation with other companies to build a 28nm chip production line of its own technology, the blogger said.

Chinese newspaper thepaper.cn quoted an unnamed source from Huawei’s chip-designing arm HiSilicon as saying that he has not heard of the "Tashan Project” after an earlier report said Huawei has launched the project to make its foray into semiconductor manufacturing.

The colleagues around him are also not aware of this matter, the source added.
@T.Vercetti Leta kinyambis hapa.

china is still at least 10 years behind

Back in the 90’s China was still 100’s years behind. Time is relative.

Taiwan is still china

If you were China, how much would you offer for Taiwan?

That’s why I stated that blood is thicker than water.

Its really how South Korea leaped in in the car industry. The Hyundai used to be crappy cars in the 90s. But they hired retired Toyota Engineers and turned everything around.

Alafu jeenger inakuja kusema america ndio kiongoss kumbe ni piggy backing from other’s idea. Right from that famous boat ride 400years ago ,assylum to german war criminals and defectors to current brain drain from everywhere,america relies on others to make the work done…not a bad move when you think about it,rocket tech from russia and germany,semiconducters from asia, from the blacks…well

“Completely without U.S technology”…:D:D:D

What will they use? Technology from Mars?

Hapa hakuna kitu wamefanya patents bado ziko U.S.
It’s like hiring a Japanese engineer from Nissan and then saying, “We are going to make Kenyan cars that have nothing to do with Nissan. They are totally original.”

And then you build a Nissan note but call it, Jamhuri 01.

The problem for China comes in when the U.S launches brand new and more powerful chips. What then?

Juu hio ndio inakuwaga shida. Innovation.

You can steal the old model, but then comes the new and better model.

@MortyTuumbo you once said thatHuawei conducts a lot of research and innovation at Shenzhen. You said that they have labs n shit.

Then why are they stealing Taiwanese engineers who are well versed in U.S technology?

If Huawei conducts real research then they don’t need to steal anyone. They would be far ahead in their own homegrown research. Ulisema inaitwa Peking University? :D:D:D

Hio ndio MIT ya China. MIT ya wizi.

As long as America relies on Asian expertise it will remain vulnerable to tech theft!
That Sergey Brin analogy is null and void when dealing with Asians.
Katambe!:D:D:D

Tech theft is very expensive. That is why the U.S is never too bothered.

Now imagine how much these Chinese companies will shell out to reverse engineer microchip dice and then when the Americans launch a new series of chips you have to throw away the old one and start copy pasting the new one. By the time you finish building the production line for that new one the Americans have launched another new one. That is why China opts to buy chips.

In the USSR they spent billions on reverse engineering U.S tech. And that is the main reason Russia is backwards in tech yet they are in fact smarter than Americans. Whole budgets went into reverse engineering instead of innovation.

The remedy is for China to fund university research and to start respecting patents. But that would mean Huawei would have to pay higher fees to Chinese inventors. Higher fees leads to higher cost of production and passing the cost to consumers. That is something Huawei and China in general don’t want. It would mean China stops being a sweat shop country of cheap labour.

Kaende katambe!

In fact the last cold war was a race. The U.S invents, Russia copies or reverse engineers. America then tries to find out if Russia has caught up. It was a race as Russia always played catchup.

Spies everywhere with cameras n shit. Hio ndio ilikuwa kazi kubwa ya CIA na KGB. Spying on scientists or stealing reasearch.

In these new cold war you can see China has already started getting ready to reverse engineer. Same old story, different day.

Manpower, manpower from blacks…and porn

It may be a joy or a pain seeing your prodigy overtaking you, depending on your rrlationship na yeye. Just the fact that China wamefika pale wameanza kuexplore chip manufacturing, US should be very worried.
First chip research and development is very expensive. Intel depend on patents to make money. Now they will lose market, both China and third world (cheap is good in third world). Hiyo turn around ya research to profit will be slowed down considerably. So will research.

Ongezea spying when third world networks contain chinese products. US will be increasingly isolated or attacked on multiple fronts.

People who are innovative and creative and have their work protected in their countries don’t lose sleep when others copy paste.

Simply because they live their lives to create new things while you you waste your life copy pasting them, following them.

Instead of copying hip hop for instance create your own thing. The naijas are using their own traditional sound and language and creating new realms in music.

Meanwhile the Kenyan is busy trying to be Jay-Z. Trying to reverse engineer and replicate.

Dont forget redundancies,america is too complacent like the proverbial dragon that thinks no attack comes from above so no need to look up. Most third worlds rely on cheap ,the developed countries manufacture and use their own ,america with its reliance on outside market wataachwa mataani then followed by brain drain since biz imenyuria, that day gon come

I told you I like your enthusiasm but hauna knowledge .America cannot launch new and more powerful chips .The companies design and then Asian fabs do the magic .
Even intel this month wameinua mkono .
Mahali chinku amekamatiwa makende is that they dont have equipment to manufacture 7nm chips is high end .They can only do 14nm which is mid tier so they are a 2 to three years behind .
Give them 5 years and they will have caught up . Familiarise yourself with the chip ecosystem you know where America ,Taiwan and Japan plug in .
For your information ,the most important company in semiconductors is not even American or Asian .Hii kampuni ndio iko na technology yenye itasema kama mnasonga ama hamsongi .

BTW Huawei’s 7nm Kunpeng beat Intel’s core i9 in multicore performance this week

You have said that in 5 years they will have caught up with the Americans right?

And in those 5 years unadhani Americans watakuwa wapi?