You can not be wrong all the time

In what most people thought was another blunder Magufuli has brought to light how mining companies exploit governments… Its just attrocious

Jisomee hapo chini

Source: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2017-05-24/tanzanian-president-asks-mines-minister-to-resign-after-audit

Tanzanian President John Magufuli asked Mines Minister Sospeter Muhongo to resign after an audit of containers of mineral sands showed exports had been understated.

An investigation initiated by Magufuli in March found that 277 containers held as much as [SIZE=5]15.5 metric tons of gold, instead of the 1.1 tons that had been declared,[/SIZE] the president said Wednesday in a speech broadcast live on state television. Magufuli also disbanded the Tanzania Minerals Audit Agency’s board, fired its chief executive officer and asked authorities to investigate those responsible.

“I really like Professor Muhongo and he is a friend of mine, but on this he needs to rethink and reassess without delay,” Magufuli said after receiving an audit of the containers seized at the port of Dar es Salaam in March. “I’d like him to resign.”

The containers, which had mineral sands from mines including Buzwagi, were located at a privately run terminal and awaiting customs procedures before being shipped overseas. Tanzania is Africa’s third-biggest gold producer, with companies including AngloGold Ashanti Ltd. and Acacia Mining Plc extracting the metal.

Acacia, which owns the Buzwagi mine, dropped as much as 17 percent to 360.40 pence at 11:22 a.m. in London, the biggest intra-day decline since March 3. The company said it declares fully everything of commercial value and pays appropriate royalties and taxes.

[SIZE=4]Ban Remains[/SIZE]
A ban on unprocessed metals effective March 2 should remain in place, according to the eight-member committee that carried out the investigation. The government should also construct a smelter as soon as possible, it recommended.

“The government should retain the minerals export ban until royalties reflective of the full value of the sands have been paid in full,” said Abdulkarim Mruma, the committee chairman.

The containers held as much as six tons of copper instead of the four tons declared and had many unrecorded minerals including iridium, iron and zinc, Magufuli said.

“We have been given all these natural resources, but we are giving them away for free,” he said. “This pains me a lot. It’s embarrassing.”

Magufuli has also ordered a separate probe into mineral exports over the past 19 years. That report will be ready soon, he said.

Sazile magufuli wetu anauliza sasa mnataka nifanye nini :smiley:

:eek::eek::eek::D:D:D

Now this is a president. Even if he’s wrong on one issue he’s right on many other issues. Si hii ngombe iko hapa kila saa ni kulaumu someone else without taking action.

15 tonnes of Gold can valued in excess of USD 1B, even if you factor in recovery costs the government share should be substantial. Yet the companies had only indicated about 1 ton worth about USD 100M

I don’t like him but the fact that he can fire his friends is impressive.

“i will not fire Waiguru because she is not my girlfriend”

Sista ya mtu akiiba pale afya house tunaulizwa tunataka afanye nini? Jump in the lake perharps?

I believe it is the other way round!

Now that’s a leader!

as usual, we look at issues selectively depending on which side we r leaning politically.

Tanzania is quite mature, hakuna mtu anasema tribe yangu is being witchhunted SMH

You think so… dig a little bit deeper.

have you heard about Chato Airport, Chato Port, traffic lights in a village…

Despite his many flaws, this is something our jicho nyanya and Babuon should emulate from Magufool.

Hata Orengo aliiba lands na Nyongo health na baba akakanyagia story

So where is the proof of the 15.5 tonnes? Kama kungekua na mbicha kama zile magari za wakubwa hushikwa huko KPA, i’d congratulate this guy. BTW, this would be impossible in Kenya. When Uhunye says ‘mnataka nifanye nini?’ it’s because corrupt guys who should face the hangman’s noose just solicit a friendly judge and a ruling reinstates him/her. The judge then rubs salt in the wound by saying the law of the land is supreme. Those imagining we could have a magufuli- like president waache wetdreams. This is Kenya where ‘democracy’ has left impunity to thrive ile si kidogo. Thugs like baba yao, kidero, waiguru, murkomen, joho, sudi, sonko, Alfred Keter, Orengo, muthama, chirchir, ngilu, shollei wangekua wamevaa pajamas huko kamiti

I actually support Makufuli here.

Loting f Africa’s natural resources has been going on for the last 500 years, and is a key reason why we continue to be poor.

I am sure the same thing is going on in Kenya, and we are prolly losing billions and billions of dollars from titanium, gold, etc.

One of the areas Uhuru has failed dismally.

(The other is electricity).

Magufool has been quiet for quite a while. Even his fake representative on Ktalk @Mtanzania Magufuli, seems to have fizzled out.

Could it be that Pombe M = @Mtanzania Magufuli ?
Wouldn’t that be something???

Don’t forget on top of that shafting at the port these companies pay close to zero royalties or taxes. This is usually cloaked in an ‘ease of doing business’ ranking chieth.