Yet another police suicide

POLICE OFFICER shoots himself dead in washroom at Kenya Ports Authority; Kilindini OCPD Patrick Lobolia says investigation opened.
(sina Mbisha)
conspiracy theory zikuje sasa

RiP comrade. I wish it could have been averted

Njaanuary…

Matters of the heart… alikuliwa khapipi

Njia ya kuingia kwangu tunapitia outside AP camp ya chief wa Gatuanyaga. I am always afraid hao AP wasianza kufyatua

He was probably haunted by the souls of all the innocent Kenyans he’s murdered.

Demoralization, harassment, poor pay, work/home stress,…name them. Fact is, most of our uniformed service men and women struggle to keep a straight face amidst all these vices and more.
For those whose backs are pressed to the wall, the easiest way out is their tool of work…:frowning:

Hata wewe umeanza kuwa too much. Please go back to the balanced analyst we all knew…

The greatest failure by the system for these kids is that there are practically no counselling services for them. Imagine one day you are collecting dead bodies at a road accident scene, the next you are saving a raped 4-year old gal and the next you are shooting a thug dead (killing another human). And you are just 24 years old!

That kind of work requires a lot of debriefing…

A police officer attached to the Kenya Ports Authority shot himself dead in a washroom on Saturday morning.
Mr Charles Ndolo was alone when the incident took place at about 4.45am, said Kilindini divisional police commander (OCPD) Patrick Lobolia.
PROBE
“He went to the toilet at gate 18 of the port in Kipevu area and shot himself in the mouth. We don’t know the motive but we have started investigations,” Mr Lobolia told the Nation on phone.
He said they were looking for the officer’s phone to check for the people he contacted before taking his own life.
The body was taken to Jocham Hospital mortuary.
Related Content
[li]Boinnet’s driver dies by suicide[/li][li]Grievances, rivalry drive police to kill colleagues[/li][li]Policeman kills girlfriend, commits suicide[/li][li]IG Boinnet urges officers to seek counselling[/li][/ul]
Mr Ndolo’s case is the latest among many deaths by suicide by individuals across the country.
On December 20 in Isiolo town, an Administration Police officer shot and killed his girlfriend before turning the gun on himself. The two had had an argument.
County Commissioner John Ondego said the officer was 47 years old and that he had served for 25 years. He was employed in 1993.
COUNSELLING
Following many cases of suicide and murder-suicide by people in the police service, Inspector-General Joseph Boinnet urged police to seek counselling.
In Mombasa last November, IG Boinnet said, “We want to support officers who require help because of the tremendous stresses that police work exerts on us. Majority of police officers work very well but a few, occasionally, break down.
“We have created a department of counselling and are in the process of decentralising the service to regions. With enough resources, we will go further into the counties."
The National Police Service Commission established a counselling and rehabilitation centre in October to address psychosocial or stress-related problems affecting officers.

chenye nimepitia Kwa mikono ya polisi siwes waonea huruma

Senji,have some respect for the dead

Only work/home stress is valid and it happens in all careers. The pays of a constable(the lowest paid) is around 30 K after taxes, bigger than that of a P1 who studied for 3 years in a TTC, and the possibility of supplementary income of more than half the pay is very possible (I am not talking about corruption).

Yaani ata dereva wa Boinnet ana commit suicide? Hawa watu lazima wanapitia kwa moto…

Siwezi hurumia D- material

MMNN
An AP officer is fighting for his life at Kabarnet hospital after he tried to commit suicide by stabbing himself because he was given a transfer letter.

RIP even if I don’t agree with suicide.
I can respect people who harm themselves only kuliko those cowards who kill their family first then commit suicide.

There are a handful who are good but these people are animals.

It is hard to swallow these stories about stress, poor pay and neglect after a year in which the corrupt soul of the common cop was bared to me twice.

One was supposed to investigate phone abuse, demanded 6k for the telcoms and decided to play cat and mouse. The other was a trio of cops cruising in a Landcruiser at the Machakos/Athi River interchage who spend the day preying on motorists who do not know how the new exits and interchages work. Merciless, aggressive, rude, selfish fools.

Many use their illegal monies (millions per year in some cases) to keep many wives and girlfriends and then discover that they have contacted something terminal and decide to exit. Others are told that they have been transferred to less lucrative positions and lose it.

Let us not assume that these events are all related to poor working conditions.

2018 was the year I came face to face with the murderous potential of our policemen. They stormed into a pub that is licensed to operate even during the day. I had just finished taking my lunch and was about to resume ploughing. My tractor was parked outside. The police tossed me onto their pickup and proceeded to throw me into the cells. For evidence that I was caught drinking during the day they put some water into an empty smirnoff vodka bottle. I slept in a cell for the first time. Next day I was taken to Nanyuki courts where my charges were “drunk and disorderly, Kutukana wadhii na kukojoa hovyo hovyo barabarani”. I was supposed to have done this in a village called " Matharigo". I thought the fuckers were joking. Luckily some seasoned inmates had told me to “kubali mashtaka” because the fine is just 500/= instead of maneno mob. I was asked to “kujitetea” . I had to promise I won’t ever drink again na “kukojoa hovyo hovyo” . I was let off with a fine of Kshs. 1000/=. Needless to say I will never forgive those policemen.