Yestarday in London; World war 2 Remembered.... Tunajivunia!

Thousands gathered at the Cenotaph memorial in Whitehall for a two-minute silence to honour those killed in World Wars One and Two and later conflicts. The monarch, Prime Minister David Cameron and the other main political party leaders all laid wreaths. Events have also taken place around the UK, including in Edinburgh, where First Minister Nicola Sturgeon laid a wreath. This year’s service at the Cenotaph was [B]shorter than in previous years[/B], in an effort to reduce the amount of time war veterans are made to stand. However, plans to make political leaders lay wreaths together in order to save time were dropped after some politicians argued they were being overlooked.

http://www.misterseed.com/images/solders-4a.jpg

http://www.misterseed.com/images/soliders-1a.jpg

World War II Soldiers of Kings’s African Raffles from Kenya joined the Queen for the celebrations

The Queen was joined by royals including the Duke of York, Prince William and Prince Harry at the wreath-laying ceremony. Mr Cameron was the first politician to step forward, followed by Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn. Previous prime ministers John Major, Gordon Brown and Tony Blair also paid their respects, along with religious ministers, military leaders and dignitaries from around the Commonwealth. In the crowd, a young girl dressed in red applauded. By the Cenotaph, a veteran in a wheelchair wearing medals and with a blanket, saluted. They were just two of the many participants who had gathered before a structure which was meant to have been temporary when it was first constructed in 1919. The wood and plaster of the original has been replaced by this permanent Portland stone memorial.

http://www.misterseed.com/images/soliders-2a.jpg

http://www.misterseed.com/images/soliders3a.jpg

Although the weather was not the best, the Kenyan soldiers joined other World War II soldiers

Veterans took part in a march-past and military bands played a series of pieces. Among the veterans to attend the services in central London was Lance Corporal Ray Uzzel, 67, of the Gloucestershire Regiment, who said it was important to pay tribute to those who had given their lives. He said: "It is very encouraging to see that all of the dignitaries still come out year after year and the younger generation of the royals do too - eventually William will be King. "The younger generation should carry it on. One day there will not be any more Second World War veterans left, but they will still be remembered, and Afghanistan veterans will still be around. “It is important for us to remember not only those who gave their lives, but those who fought for their country.” Later falling poppies will be projected onto the Big Ben from dusk for the second year. This year marks a number of other significant anniversaries in the UK’s military history, including the 75th anniversary of the Battle of Britain.

http://www.misterseed.com/images/soldier-5.jpg

(Copied from Misterseed.com)

My Grandfather fought in Burma and so did 2 of his brothers.
They are all Gone now but i vividly remember their "War Stories " everytime we went to Ocha for Christmas.

But,was this OUR War Or did our Grandfathers just get used as “tools” by the Colonial Masters?

Still, i Salute all the Kenyan War Veterans and i am Proud of them All!..

Wewe kabuda una passport ya UK nikupe biashara tamu sana? Pesa + coomer ya buree ya manzi mpolish

Hizo Biashara nazijua Buda you don`t need to explain.
Sitaki kwenda Neti… nimetoka far buda.

Tafuta Katapwe mwingine!

This was just a European & Asian tribal war that we Africans were sucked into.

Tupatie hii hekaya sasa. Patiently waiting…

It was our war na hawakutumiwa. When the world is going to shit, you are supposed to do something hata kama you are not the reason it’s falling in the first place. Na bado si walirudi na knowledge and they were one of the main catalysts in the fight for independence… ama unafikiria kwanini wapiganiaji uhuru walikua wanajipatia monikers like General China na Field Marshal Mwariama? The influence they got…

Too Right.
Very wise and Wholesome way of looking at things…
Pewa mbili buda.

Ah!!! There’s something called conscription.

Which means they were given training and weapons to save their people from the “superior” Aryans.

Uhuru tulipewa ama tulipigania? asking for a friend.

Tulipigania lakini hao waliopigania wakatapeliwa na wazungu weusi

Uhuru tulinyakua. How, don’t ask me.

Uhuru tulipewa. Kama kenya kungekua na kitu ya maana hawangekubali, angalia South Africa

My History teacher called them the First and Second Imperialist Wars. That is what they were, quite simply.

Ni kama ukiwa na beef na neighbour. Unaenda kwa neighbour yako mwingine - unavunja mlango yake. Unachukua meza, vitanda na viti zake. Unazitumia kama barricades. Halafu una-force watoto wa huyo huyo neighbour mwenye umevunja malango yake, waka-fight yule neighbour uko na beef na yeye. Hata ukishinda hiyo vita, watoto wa huyo naighbour wana nini la kujivunia?

Were there positive things that happened to the African as a result of the wars? Yes. SOME.

Is there anything for Kenyans to celebrate about the wars? NO!

That is a very horrible parallel because in your case there is a set justice system which is supposed to solve such issues. The world war was just that, a global war, there were theaters everywhere even here in Africa. And remember the LN had no teeth at the time.

I am not saying it was our fault that the war was there, but we would face a much horrible fall out if we did not put ourselves out there to claim our place in this world.

Many actually, from health, education and politics. You need to read about the world war.

It was a war, countries don’t go to war for the fun of it. People do not celebrate wars, but the people who brought an end to them.

And you suppose there was nothing else the imperialists could do other than go to war,eh? There were no laws. Law was invented after a truce was called eh?

In both wars, Battles were fought on multiple fronts but ati the world war was a global war? Do you even know what you are trying to imply? OUR place? what are you smoking over there?

I think you are the one that has some reading to do.

I am not going to try to decrypt kile unajaribu kusema if you can not lay out your arguments kama mtu mzima jipe shughuli.

Our Place/Global war gani? Ilikuwa Wazungu wanapinaga beef za kizungu na vita za wazungu. Simple.

Wachina, wajapani, wahindi na wengineo sio wazungu. I am not supporting the World War II. To put it simply… Africa is just a continent on Earth and not a different planet. When a war that results in the death of nearly 60 million people occurs we are part of it whether we want it or not. It doesn’t matter if we started it or not, it becomes our war because it threatens our interests. If the Axis had won we would be in a much worse place to day given one of their agenda was the establishment of a superior race to rule all others.

OK. So exactly how did Kenyans “claim our place in this world” through those wars?