I am currently using a 24" secondary computer monitor which is small for multitasking and I regularly find myself opening my laptop for additional screen real-estate.
To solve this problem I need a 34" or 38" monitor with thunderbolt 3, display port and HDMI. I keep my monitors for about 7 years so I make sure they are as future proof as possible.
Previously, I have hesitated in buying monitors because of tech or price reasons. Fortunately the prices of thunderbolt 3 monitors have come below $1000 which is perfect for me.
Here are some of my choices
[MEDIA=amazon]B07CS3JB5K[/MEDIA]
and
[MEDIA=amazon]B08KFTS3SN[/MEDIA]
The strategy is to buy the monitor at discounted prices $500 - $600 during black Friday.
Are there any other monitors I should be looking at? Saidia Nyamgondho.
Price should be below $1000 ( I need to keep my annual tech budget below Kes 500K)
Nikinunua nitaweka review. - very important.
Ps. I didn’t specify the resolution because I am not into video/photo editing and I only play games casually so I am not into that input lag/ response time business. Also I am comfortable with 1440p resolution. If I want to watch TV I have a 65" in my living room. I just want more screen realestate for computing purposes. Saitieko Nyamgondho
I would highly recommend a Dell UltraSharp monitor from 2019 onwards. Superb colour reproduction and easy on the eyes with ComfortView. They can also charge your laptop via USB-C as you work along.
Wacha Samsung monitors, those are toys for watching Youtube.
Seems like the u2719d that one has a usb c but not thunderbolt and doesn’t have power delivery.
Problem with these USB-C ports that are not thunderbolt, you may have a difficult time getting them to display in the correct resolution. Some have USB 2.0 speeds.
Seems that Dell monitors with thunderbolt start at $1500 and that’s for a 27". Not bad. Lakini that is above my budget by approximately Kes 50,000. Max I can do is Kes 100K. Dell thunderbolt monitors above 34" cost around Kes 250K
Check the Dell UltraSharp series like a few have stated U34 series to be precise with USB C should cost around 150k , Thunderbolt models pricing is crazy…also try checking the LG/Samsung/BenQ ones you might get an affordable one with those features and callibrate it yourself.
Kijana acha kuhara hapa. You can get a samsung monitor under 1000 USD with two thunderbolt 3 ports, UHD display, 100hz refresh, VA Panel, curved and with AMD Freesync
The 2020 version ie dell ultrasharp u2720q has the thunderbolt, its 4k, 60hz refresh rate at around 700usd, I believe its a sweet point if you dont mind the refresh rate. This monitor is meant for creatives not gamers but for casual gaming it should suffice.
I am hesitant to spend that amount of money knowing too well that the prices of these monitors will be halved in like two years. Kwanza thunderbolt 3 is now a loyalty free technology and has transitioned to USB 4.
Also, I just realized that I may not get good PPI with a 34 inch monitor unless I go 4K. Max PPI for a 1440p 34" monitor is around 110. It’s okay but I could do better. I may have to go 27" shingo upande.
I checked it out. But seems overpriced for its features. But hii naweza nunua on offer - like if it hit $500 seems Asus has equivalent ProArt series monitors with thunderbolt at around $400.
Btw came across this monitor by Gigabyte. It has HDMI 2.1, 144Hz, VRR, KVM switch, USB- C with thunderbolt features, and is 4K going for $600. But has been sold out everywhere. Reviewers are comparing it to $800 - $1000 monitors. And I love Gigabyte. Ubaya it has been sold out like for 2 months now.
I am not looking for a gaming monitor but I wouldn’t mind having those features. And it seems future proof as far as I can see.