World Bank, IMF force Kenya to seek Sh75bn debt relief

Economy
[SIZE=6]World Bank, IMF force Kenya to seek Sh75bn debt relief[/SIZE]
Friday November 20 2020
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/resource/image/2276490/landscape_ratio16x9/1160/652/6679e8cb37db90895bde1a8f776254ff/Em/ukur.jpg

Treasury Cabinet Secretary Ukur Yatani. PHOTO | DIANA NGILA | NMG

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank have forced Kenya to take a Sh75 billion coronavirus debt relief from wealthy nations as a pre-condition for accessing cheap loans. Kenya is now planning to defer around $690 million (Sh75 billion) in debt payments as it seeks further funding from the Bretton Woods institutions for budget support to weather the coronavirus economic hardships.

Treasury Cabinet Secretary Ukur Yatani reckons that Kenya made a U-turn in seeking a suspension of debt payments under a G20 initiative due to pressure from the Bretton Woods institutions . A restrictive clause in the Eurobond terms stopped Kenya from seeking a suspension of debt payments because it could have forced the country to pay the entire Eurobond debt worth $6.1 billion (Sh652.7 billion).

Besides the Eurobond terms, the Treasury was fretful that the relief could hurt the country’s credit rating and be viewed as one that does not meet its international obligations. “They (World Bank and IMF) are trying to introduce this as one of the key prerequisites to accessing resources from the IMF and World Bank,” Mr Yatani told Reuters.

…full article here https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/bd/economy/world-bank-imf-force-kenya-to-seek-sh75bn-debt-relief-3204412

so our ‘experts’ are always at the back of the class when terms and conditions are made…then they come here talking fat engrish,use criminal d minus poris to scare us,haigwesekani

tumekataa ujinga,watu wanunue solor panel,wafanye barter trade

Experts are hired, and most of the times don’t make decisions, they advice, and politicians make decisions, which are mostly based on political and personal interests.

nikama politicians are the weakest link …

Wananchi ndiyo weakest link kusema ukweli.

Wananchi make the politicians.

[MEDIA=twitter]1330390956609302529[/MEDIA]

If you read literature, and listen to retired technocrats talk, you realize there’re so many sober minds within G.o.K.
Why there input is sidelined is something else all together.

Uhuru has put all Kenyans including the ones to be born in 2030 into huge debt. I hear some Kikuyu attempting to start talk of him breaching the term limits rule…hao wote ni mashetani. August 2022 is the last month Uhuru to hold a government position. Enough of this elitist

I heard someone say, either he dissolves the parliament+he rules for five more years or the BBI sh.it passes+he rules for 7 years.

But that is the whole plan of BBI… all other things are just filler material to escort this MAIN agenda! Main BBI AGenda: Allow UK to run for another 2 terms after 2022. And that is why they are pushing it in the midst of Covid crisis. Because time is running out to execute this agenda.

That’s my suspicion too. It explains why the cursed BBI is so unpopular but the two principals are unrelenting

Here, there will be losers: (1) Baba (2) WSR. (3) Kenyans in general. Winners will be UK and Moi families.

Number 3 will be losers actually.

Gatheca akiskia tunapewa loan anasemanga okay kwa kila kitu. I don’t even think the President even reads the terms and conditions.

No politician will lose with BBI. The only people who will lose are Kenyans.

But I have heard many Kenyan fools supporting #BBINonsense… we are already screwed

…i don’t see how BBI is linked to the USA & that IMF loan …hapa ni a third world country being exploited by IMF as always with intentions to keep these countries poor…the terms of the loans are the reason the govt refused to take it

BBI iko sawa… you guys just hate it juu ni ya raila