grandpa:
Wacha ujinga. Wefarm is used by over 1million farmers. Mkopa solar has gotten close to 15bn shillings in VC funding. There is also AfricasTalking and Mode. Africastalking alone does over 15million daily API calls. It powers SMS for both Tala and Branch as well as other companies. Mode was recently sold to a Swedish firm but even before then it was powering all of the Airtel kopacredo initiative across the world i.e. not just Airtel kenya.
We also have Bitpesa which Safaricom has tried very many times to kick out of the market through litigation of their key Kenyan partner Lipisha.
I am wondering, have you ever created something important being used by even 100 people?
you don’t have to be an a*shole , grandpa ! …otherwise , quite an informative piece …great info !
They are all partly Kenyan , hata kenyatalk is owned by people with dual citizenships …
same as :
-M-PESA (ni ya VODACOM)
-SPORPESA (ni ya Bulgarian / european drug lords)
-JUMIA (ni ya french guys , registered in Europe… wtf)
WTF, who are the owners of Kenyatalk??
ricko
July 5, 2019, 8:13am
Kenya iko na tech startups kubwa sana. Shida ni they don’t have Kenyan founders. Pengine mtu wa low IQ theory anaeza changia zaidi
There’s ushahidi api Platform.
Craft Silicon pia ni wazito wa app development
sitaki:
Guess I was looking more at the software side, hardware is not one of those working from the garage to come up with something type, needs a big head start compared to the Google and Facebook type tech.
Spotify is not a mass product, compared to the Google and Twitter and the likes, maybe cause it’s a paid product which limits it’s reach.
But if you look at the level of Google and Amazon, you can hardly count other countries that have had such a massive influence in that type of tech,
China. The Chinese clones of Western Internet firms have more users and have become more innovative than the Western firms. They also have more users.
Spotify iko na free (with ads) and subscription (no ads) services for those based in Scandinavia and it’s a mass product. Whenever one travels outside the region you only get a free account for 15 days after which you get logged out or else you subscribe. I am guessing its an agreement with Google Play na Apple Store.
system
July 7, 2019, 1:27pm
Kenyatalk is created from a web template hehe
Are there any successful Kenyan tech startups , products , innovations right now coz i can’t see any activity in the kenyan tech space ?
What’s the oulook ?
… msiseme MOBIUS , JUMIA and M-PESA , they are not even African !
OSHENI MECHO KIDOGO !
[ATTACH=full]246369[/ATTACH]
i
I’m kenyan, so i’ll try to cut kenya some slack here, There are only three technological super powers in the world: USA, ISRAEL and CHINA.
To produce revolutionary technology you need and ecosystem that natures talent. USA has Silicon valley, Israel has Silicon Wadi and China has Shenzhen, well our Silicon savannah is still work in progress so we’re making do with Ihub, I’m hopefull the right policies and implimentation we’ll get there someday, but for now we’ll just have to play catchup…
grandpa:
Wacha ujinga. Wefarm is used by over 1million farmers. Mkopa solar has gotten close to 15bn shillings in VC funding. There is also AfricasTalking and Mode. Africastalking alone does over 15million daily API calls. It powers SMS for both Tala and Branch as well as other companies. Mode was recently sold to a Swedish firm but even before then it was powering all of the Airtel kopacredo initiative across the world i.e. not just Airtel kenya.
We also have Bitpesa which Safaricom has tried very many times to kick out of the market through litigation of their key Kenyan partner Lipisha.
I am wondering, have you ever created something important being used by even 100 people?
I bet the poster meant stuff fully built by kenyans. The likes of wefarm, mkopa solar and mode are not purely kenyan. If you disagree check the top leaders for those companies…all foreigners.
Mwenye KENYATALK ni mama flani anaitwa purple and her sugar boy anaitwa @digi …so technically , @digi ako na sponyo …
digi
July 8, 2019, 12:16pm
Cheza chini Mr. Nuts ama izo nuts utakula
usifanye niku nyang’ anye sponyo wewe …bure kabisa , senji noogle tucker tucker …