Why Was Kenya The Last Country in East Africa To Attain Independence?

Kenya, unlike her neighbours was the only EA nation that was a colony of settlement or a settler colony. Uganda was a protectorate, while Tanzania was a colony of exploitation.

As a settler colony, Kenya hosted the largest population of European settlers in the region, who were brought in by the British government with the objective of transforming Kenya into a white man’s country. The chief proponent of this policy was a white supremacist named Charles Eliot, Commissioner of the East Africa Protectorate at the time, who openly advocated for Kenya to become permanently a white man’s country just like Australia or the United States. One of the ways he proposed to achieve this was by ensuring “that African natives go under” I hope you get what that means!

In 1902, the Crown Lands Ordinance Act was enacted. It declared that all land in Kenya belonged to the British Crown, giving the monarch ultimate authority over its alienation and allowing the King or Queen to grant land to whomever he or she wished. By 1903, the King had allocated huge tracts of land in the Rift Valley later known as the White Highlands to European settlers such as Lord Delamere, who received over 100,000 acres in Nakuru.

Now because Kenya was a settler colony, it also received significant colonial investment in infrastructure and also capital investment. By the 1950s, Kenya was the most developed and industrialised country in East Africa. Some of the industrial and manufacturing companies at the time included EABL (est. 1922 by George and Charles Hurst), UNGA Group (est. 1908 by Lord Delamere), Bata Shoe Company (est. 1939), and Nairobi’s Industrial Area, which was formally zoned for manufacturing in the late 1940s and its because of these huge investments by the British govt and white settlers that made Kenya’s economy to be at par with South Korea’s at independence in 1963.

Kenya was also the financial and commercial centre of East Africa, hosting major banks such as Barclays (est. 1916), Standard Bank of South Africa (est. 1911), and the National Bank of India (est. 1896), among others, as well as several insurance companies.

In short by as early as the 1950s, Kenya was the Europe (Mayolo) of East Africa.

If it were not for the Mau Mau Revolution, Kenya might indeed have become a white man’s country because these white settlers who were mostly concentrated in the Rift Valley had no desire to leave Kenya. In fact, Kenya is the only East African country that gained independence through armed struggle, which is why the red colour in our national flag symbolises the blood that was shed by Mau Mau freedom fighters in their fight for land and freedom (independence).

I’ll end this history lesson by noting that Kenya was the FIRST British African settler colony to gain independence and this is one of the reasons, Nelson Mandela admired the Mau Mau freedom fighters especially Dedan Kimathi. Because Kenya and South Africa were both settler colonies.

When was the decision to make all of Kenya a Kikuyu colony made?

Kijana, kwani kikuyus live in your head rent free?

Answer the question.

The @jackass has a mental problem.

First, your question is as wobbly as your thinking. Go, first rectify your grammar.

Now I believe.

So when was it? Here in the rift, most believe that the process begun with the 1969 oath. Others believe it was 1975 when Jomo started displaying signs of ill health.. he died in Mombasa, didn’t he?

Now, answer my question.

Lord Delamere paid for this land in cold, hard cash. He was a Lord in England-land, he could afford, what was it, £30,000 in the early 1900s? Also, the land was purchased from Maasai’s before a single Kikuyu was present in Naivasha. His farm is where the first Kikuyu labourers were stationed, and Naivasha grew as a result of the labourers settling near the lake.

And no, nobody is paying me to correct your heavily kikuyufied history. If they did, I’d be in some outrageous location with naked women.

I digress, but has anyone noticed the huge influx of white people in Nairobi? This is more pronounced in Westlands, Upper Hill, and Kilimani/Kile/Lavington areas. Hata town CBD ukitembea tuu uptown you will notice. Sio kama 10 years ago when white people were often only at Village Market and Westgate. I think there are many Europeans who are moving to Kenya now given Kasongo’s visa-free policy.

Hii yote umeandika ni propaganda, go study history. I can’t spoon feed you.

As expected, the kagegeism in you defaults to adjusting reality to fit your worldview and not the other way around.

Let’s start again. Lord Delamere, not my favourite, but the most accessible thus far for my family tree, bought land from Maasai’s. These were the ancestral owners of the land stretching from Nairobi town to Nakuru town.

How did Kikuyus from 250km away end up claiming ancestral land from an area where not a single Kikuyu town, custom, tradition, river or cattle dip even existed before the 1970s elections? Kiambaa is the closest one, and this town was named by the labourers from the former Kalenjin White highlands, and white owned farms in the lower rift valley. And yes. I am aware the Kiambaa issue is a sensitive topic, but it was an accident as claimed by the ICC. Much like my own vehicular manslaughter case suddenly metamorphosed into an accident.

That’s life.

Wewe uko na kichwa musuri? Instead of spending the whole day on KT spewing half truths and propaganda.Go and study books that will help you annihilate hii ignorance uko nayo.

Lord Delamare was granted that huge piece of land by Charles Eliot the then Commsioner of Kenya.

Infact it’s alleged that he (Delamere) used his government position to obtain that land.

The Maasai’s who sold him the land are still around today, they can tell what the truth is via the old ways of confirming land ownership (usually a named Acacia tree.)

Kenya historically has been a satellite state. British only gave us political independence, but not economic freedom.

Since independence we have always been a neocolonial state and this truth is well captured in Ngugi wa Thiong’o’s book; Devil on the Cross.

The colonialists in Kenya planned to declare independence fromUK like in South Africa and Zimbabwe but Mau Mau rebellion and political agitation disrupted the plan

Because Europe is becoming very expensive to live in now that the EU needs money to fight off runaway inflation from the Russo-Ukraine war. Tunawakiribisha mountain biking hapa Shinyalu with excrement free rooms from $20 a day.

Correction, masailand stretched to uasin gishu, trans nzoia upto mt elgon. Ever heard of uasin kishu masai and elgon masai? Even baringo was masailand and infact the ilchamus/jemps around lake baringo are actually masai.

Yes. Maasai rangelands stretched all the way here, but this was before the tribe was decimated by famine and disease. Up to 95% of humans and animals died.. so surrendering the land to the British (Uasin Gishu) was the only viable choice. Later on, Afrikaans (Africanized Dutchmen), walked here from South Africa, and helped improve the farming techniques.

So as we can see, Eldoret and Rift Valley in general, has no colonial hangups or a brainwashed population. Which makes it much easier to get things done with someone like Ruto at the head.

But lazima Top-Down. Bottom-Up is an alien technique for super structured people.

Jomba tafadhali soma vitabu, this world has a lot of secrets and these secrets are hidden in books.

Acha nikufunze history ya uko kwenyu - Rift Valley. Now Masaai never sold their land, they lost it to the Colonial govt through a combination of false treaties and agreements, military threats and legal mechanism like the Crown Lands Ordinance of 1902.

So by the time white settlers like Lord Delemare wameland kwa scene, the land was already prepared and cleared by the govt to be occupied by Europeans.

Nandis and Kipsigis lost their land almost the same way, infact they lost their land through military force.

Now the reason why Kikuyu migrated to the Rify Valley during the colonial era was because of a number of reasons;

1. Acccording to Richard Meinertzhagen, Kikuyus were very hardworking, industrious and intelligent.
  2. Your tribesmen ie Nandi, Kipsigis and Masaais didn’t know how to farm, Kikuyus on the other hand were traditionally good farmers so there skilled manpower was very much in demand in these white farms.
  3. White settlers preferred Kikuyus over your tribesmen because they considered your people to be less industrious in farming and lazy.