Through interaction with people from many walks of life and traditions,I have come to note a very big difference between Kenyans and people from some countries.
For instance in Zambia there life seems slow,less aggressive citizens,highly disciplined,averagely educated and still got some soft spot for humanity.Kenyan who live and work here climb the corporate ladder because they got what it takes and there is less competition.This case applies to the Malawians who still hold their traditions high(Ukienda huku na uwe in good terms with the village chief you can get a very big chunk of land).Our neighbours Tanzanians have been known to show lack of care in almost everything.
This got me asking myself what drives us as Kenyans.I know there is that goal of having a good life there after but does it warrant the hustles we go through including swindling each other.
Ujanja ya wakenya iko level ingine. I have been in the alcohol biz for a while but the kind of things manufacturers do to earn an extra coin leaves me wondering if they have a heart at all. Kuna Wenda wazimu hii kenya
Just imagine,I was talking to a pal who have lived in ZM for close to 3 years,and he tells me ukihisi njaa you can walk into any homestead and ask for food.Na unapewa.All that time he has been going for drinks in various pubs and he has never seen any bar brawl and the one he witnessed was between a congolese and a Kenyan.
When they visit Kenya their blood pressure switch goes on simply because of traffic and they are not the ones driving the car at the moment…
Kenyans used to be awesome kind people , but capitalism , greed and selfishness have moulded us into some sort of monsters.
Life in Nairobi especially is too aggressive for no reason. Even us kenyans feel the tension and pressure.
By the way , when did Kenya evolve into an entertainment driven anf drinking society?
A long time ago mid nineties I visited Mambasani to meet an import based mayuu. We stopped a random mtu wa coast to ask for directions to Hardrock Cafe. (was trending like a nonsense them days). Ati you go this way, you turn right bla bla… So we looked at the jamaa and he so our amused facial expressions.
A long time ago mid nineties I visited Mambasani to meet an import based mayuu. We stopped a random taxi mtu wa coast to ask for directions to Hardrock Cafe. (was trending like a nonsense them days). Ati you go this way, you turn right bla bla… So we looked at the jamaa and he saw our amused facial expressions. Yaani hii story tunaelewa poa. We come from Nai. Jamaa really sympathised. Eti hapana hapana hapa sio Nairobi! infact he offered to take us for free. Of course we compensated him sawa sawa. Got me shaking my head. Sasa imagine kama ni leo na wale watu wa taxi, mat, tuk tuk…ni watoka bara shiny eye edishen baas !
Try asking a Boda rider for directions…he will ask to ride infront of your car to your destination at a fee.
Hata kupeana direction Kenya sio bure tena.
Simple. We Kenyans can’t afford to sit around expecting great reserves of gold, diamond, copper, uranium or oil to pay our bills because we don’t have any. Whatever we get from the ground is what we put in there (read farmed). We actually earn our living. And look at Nigeria with all that ‘free’ wealth. Idiots!
It’s good to be aggressive and enterprising however many do not know where to draw the line. Mtu hawezi kupatia directions. Anyway thank God for Google maps
Ukitaka kujua watu wana utu shuka hapa tu coast utawapata. Some places you’ll even be offered a wife by the local elders. The rest of us are just unnecessarily greedy.