WHY RUTO WILL BE THE NEXT PRESIDENT-MACHIEVALISM

I am a student of Political Science. I love the Prince by Nicolo Machiavelli. As a student in the Masters’ Degree, I wrote an article on why Trump would win in 2016, despite never being ahead of Clinton and all rape charges against him. People laughed…the rest is history. Here is why I believe Ruto will be the next President. I am not a Kalenjin…

People love someone who will shake up the system and prove that family connections, fancy schooling, and a famous name don’t guarantee a win, whether it’s in a sports arena or the business world. That is why Leicester won many hearts by winning the Premier League. Watch out for Ruto.

1. An enemy from within is more dangerous than an external enemy- While it is true that Uhuru is clipping Ruto’s power and destroying his base in Jubilee and government; Ruto has the capacity to inflict damage that may take time for Uhuru to recover. Ruto before being an outcast understood the workings of the government. He knows which place hurt most. I think Ruto is talking less because he is bidding his time. He knows when to talk when to fight and when to run. So now is just the time to watch. He is the calm before a storm. When Odinga kicked Ruto out of ODM, he was so sure that Sally, Kosgei, and Franklin would bring him the Rift Valley votes. Odinga never recovered in the Rift Valley. Ruto once told Jirongo siasi haitaki haraka ama makasiriko.

2. Uhuru’s fate depends on the goodwill of Odinga, Gideon and Kalonzo-Uhuru is beholden to Odinga. He has to please Odinga to be able to rein on Ruto. In this forum people say, usizae watoto wengi kama huezi lea. Uhuru will now have to satisfy large and many egos. Ruto on the other hand has to just sit and wait and see the coalition against him fail. NARC failed after the election of 2002 because their agenda was removing Moi. After Moi was gone what was next? The coalition is built against Ruto, unfortunately, this time Ruto knows better.