Why I dont do supermarket chapatis and mandazis, plus, my take on Kenya's Human Resource

So sometime last week, I am at our neighborhood supermarket, which is one of these small entities with branches in several estates, stocking up on some household supplies.

On the aisle I am on, a staff member from the supermarket bakery comes and picks a couple of bottles of unscented glycerine and heads to the till

I get him there and overhear him saying ni ya chapati…
Apparently, this guys put glycerine in chapati so that they stay soft for long

still last week i finally decided to discontinue a business i was initially very passionate about

so i call up each of the drivers and tell them that given the performance of the business in the last 6 months, i wish to cut my losses.

And each one of them starts to convince me to hold on…ohh, things will be better …ohh watajikakamua

heard this shit so many times before…

what irks me ni these guys have severally lied to me that kuna breakdowns, mostly afternoons, after washapata zao …therefore denying me my daily take

They took advantage of my laissez-fare style of business monitoring

Kenyan workers are the most dishonest of their kind

It’s hard picturing you as a boss na hiyo upuzi yote unakuanga nayo the only thing you can manage ni ngamia na mbuzi huko Somalia

bingwa xaxa

Correct

uwesmake xaxa

rim his mcoondu pole pole

Oya.
Lost one.

Makanika Murefi…oya

niaje ngombe muzee

Yaani biashara ya tuk tuk imeanguka? Pole sana.

So ulifunga biz ya tuk tuk? Those drivers spend up to 500 bob daily on food, only to tell you vile “leo kumekauka boss”. If you ever enter a hotel they frequent, you’ll find them spending without a care in the world, na bado hajapromote jamaa wa wines and spirits…saizo mwenye gari ni stress inammaliza.

I thought ni kitu ya maana

I almost bought a tuk tuk when you posted here then thought to myself, why would I invest in them just to get 1k a day! Having been in the transport sector before , it just didn’ feel right.
Pole akhi, question is what will you do with those old machines? Is there resale value on them?

1. it could have worked if i managed them close-up… however, i have other competing vitega uchumi including consultancies.

2. Nilirudisha my capital kitambo

3. resale value zao ni from 200 - 220k …i mean, this is what i am confident to get after dropping them off

4. its a worthy venture even if ni thao daily. 10 tuktuks will cost u 3.7m hadi fabrication. In about 14months pesa yako imerudi. The payback period ni sawa kabisa