Why High Fuel Prices in Kenya is Good

For the longer-term.

Look at the traffic in Nairobi and you’ll see that even a fool has a car. How did this happen?

Wealth without proof of work, that’s what.

Since 2013, county funds, NYS funds, CDF funds, corporate embezzlement has led to a rise in demand for second-hand vehicles. These dollars would have been spent much better had RAO won as wealth would still be locked within the elites.
People would have thought of creative ways to make money. Every youth-fool today with some 700k-3M shillings doesn’t think of starting a business or importing manufacturing equipment but rather buying a Subaru to get social media recognition and pussy. Other fools took loans to buy mkebes for Uber/Bolt business.

Muhindis have stopped carrying us. Somalis are just importing shit after shit. Arabs and whites already figured the Kenyan game - pay taxes and watch it squandered by political baboons and their kinsmen.

This is where high fuel prices will save us. These bonobos with Golfs, Proboxes, Imprezzas and other funny wagons will have to rethink their decisions in life once petrol hits 800-1000 bob per liter. Only respectable wealthy people who can make a difference will be left on the roads. The thirst to own a mkebe from Japan will cease and dollars will be saved.

Electricity and other household expenses will go up leaving bonobos to focus on survival rather than luxury.

There is no future of in a country where a young person saves money just to buy cars, 100x50 lots of land, cheap coastal trips, buy wigs, have side-chicks, etc. Watu lazima wakule fimbo wajue kutafta mali ya maana. Invest that ka-million in bonds, shares, MMF, SMEs, Starts-ups, construction firms, farming, etc.

Increase the duty on alcohol to weed-out peasants. If they switch to illicit brews that’s fine, they were never crucial to the economy anyways.

25 Likes

Una drive gari type gani mkuu…

13 Likes

A simple Audi, I own businesses that employ people and one of them earns in dollars and euros for online services

11 Likes

This is a very rude and arrogant view…but it makes a lot of sense.

15 Likes

I guess range rover Ile ya king Charles
The Office Lol GIF by NETFLIX

academic writing is not a legitimate business :rofl: :rofl:

18 Likes

:green_emoji: tuliza msee

What level of narrow mindedness! Taking oil prices that high will only spur the development of other fuel sources. Like if the price of sukuma wiki becomes unbearable people will go for cabbage and live continues. The only reason why real electric vehicles have never become mainstream is simply because the prices of crude oil has been too low. By the way, electric cars as we know them today were in place 100 years back, so nothing more to research about. Now there is something called hydrogen cell. It will be viable should the prices continue to rise. Toyota are perfecting the technology currently. That is where the money will go. Stuff only requires electricity when manufacturing the hydrogen. I know you are seething to reply that electricity costs will be unbearable. Probably, but its time this country adopts nuclear sources especially in Kisumu and Mombasa. I know western countries are decommissioning nuclear plants owing to the accidents (the only down side) that happen. Hapa ni tropics and such accidents may be few since natural calamities are fewer here. There is the coal from kwa kina @PERDITION that can be used to generate more power like SA do. Kenya uses renewable sources of energy. If we invest in the non-renewable as well, we will be fine. If corruption is eliminated (an uprising can make this happen) from the energy sector, we good.

So the young men you seem to hate may leave cars at home for a while. Then later convert them to electric (i have seen posts of local guys converting old jalopies to full electric) then in a decade have hydrogen cell powered ones.

I’d be surprised if you are not a whamen.

Such arguments inspire growth and fuel development. @administrator @Electronics4u if you could do us a favor and :pushpin: this one. We need to debate on this bill.

Stick to the subject matter. You were not born a bright chap. You know why good doctors in Kenya make the right diagnosis given the limited history you give them? I know you don’t. They think broadly and consider every option before saying anything to the patient. These guys have the highest IQ on these shores. They are the opposite of what you pocess.You seem to think that an increase in fuel prices will sort affect the way the youth use their money. How stupid can one be? How much is a car? Would the purchase of the cars you have listed there cause a financial burden as to affect the way a young person with decades to work ends up?

On a side note, I am beginning to freak out regarding Treasure Bills and Bond. For the first time I am freaking out that the Kenyan government is about to default.

How can the government default on money you lend it that it already owns, that legal tender is only legal as long as the government says it is.
Bonds will always be paid, don’t listen to the chickens who always shout, “The clouds are falling “

That’s what they said in Argentina.

Kenya already has high unemployment and low spending potential. The only reason we have high inflation is that we agreed to let American tourists pay in dollars at masai mara in exchange for direct flights to new york. Shittiest deal gatheca ever made

Following closely…

[quote=“nyundo_wa_komeo, post:13, topic:461969”]
…de note, I am beginning to freak out regarding Treasure Bills and Bond. For the first time I am freaking out that the Kenyan government is about to default.

“Bonds will always be paid”
Hii tell that to Zimbabweans, Ghanaians and other failed economies.
Fact is having a car in these modern times has become a necessity rather than a luxury & if you can get some pussy from owning one, more power to you. If you choose to have a car and make it an Uber, not invest in Tbills and bonds and not be able to buy huge tracts of land like you and arap mashamba that is all up to the individual. Not everyone will be an internet billionaire like you.