Why FGM is so hard to eradicate: A case study showing the predictors of the unwillingness to stop the cut among the Kipsigis

The government’s approach to fighting this public health menace has always been stepping up surveillance efforts during the circumcision season by going after the parents who send their girls to have the cut, and the would be circumcisers. But this unidirectional approach to fight such a culturally embedded issue is showing its weakness in light of the recent events in Bureti, where 22 women were admitted at Kapkatet sub county hospital after they underwent Female Genital Mutilation. Mind you, these women were all married, which means that while as a parent you might do everything to prevent your daughter from undergoing the cut, there is no guarantee that she will not be pressured to do so by her peers/husband once she gets married. (Note that these rites of passage are largely performed on adolescent girls who are not yet married, thus indicating a huge cultural shift to preserve the rite at all costs!!)

Researchers know this, and have been publishing numerous journal articles showing how the Kipsigis may be doubling down in their efforts to preserve FGM, even as the government cracks down on the practice.

[CENTER]Here is an extremely revealing excerpt from one of these journals.

[I]"One participant observed that “friends of the husband put a lot of pressure by refusing to eat her [his wife’s] food until she is cut” (Older women 42–50 years). Another added, “because the woman is called ‘ugali mbichi’ (partially cooked maize meal), she is seen as a child …”. Other reasons given for husbands forcing their wives to be cut include an attempt to reduce the women’s perceived ‘high’ sexual desire. This is captured in the following quote from a participant, “some husbands feel like wives have too much ‘heat’, hence they want to reduce [it]”. Stigma against women who are not cut was expressed as, “the state of being despised will be so much, you cannot be a community leader” (Participant 4), with another adding her view on how to deal with this stigma, “it is better you just accept to be cut” (Participant 3).

The socially moderated sexual behavior subdued women’s overt expressions of their sexuality as captured below:

A married woman is not expected to initiate sex even when she may desire lest this is misinterpreted for immorality…. (Participant 2)

… you cannot tell your husband that you want sex, so you wait for him to ask. If you ask he will think you are ‘lustful’ and can be mistaken for being a prostitute. (Participant 1)".[/I][/CENTER]

For the social scientists on the Kenya talk forum, based on your own informed understanding of FGM not only among the Kipsigis, but also for other communities within the Transmara regions, the Kuria, and the Somali community, is this phenomenon/paradigm shift being replicated there?
[CENTER]

[/CENTER]

Many somali girls living in US,UK or even AUS pay upto £5000 for the cut huku Kenya.Its a huge a business out there…

It’s difficult to eradicate what is culturally ingrained in people.

That’s correct. Some even say that apart from FGM being a money minting operation, it also confers lots of social prestige for the circumcisers since they enjoy extra respectful and courteous regard from their communities. It is therefore difficult for these old women who perform the cut to willingly repudiate the practice unless the threat of punishment from the government outweighs the fear of losing social prestige.

I never thought of it from this point of view. I once was in a discussion with a sociologist and he told me that where the “victim” and “perpetrator” are in agreement, you can’t have a “crime”, and it is futile for the law to try and make it a crime. It will only end when the social dynamics change.

That is very true. This is why even the chiefs find it difficult to fight this practice since they are often threatened by villagers. In some parts of Kuria, they even openly celebrate it in broad daylight with dancing and singing. Yaani they do not even bother to do it chini ya maji like during the night or during the dawn.

See the Guardian article that highlights this phenomenon (it recently happened in Kuria).

[SIZE=7]Kenyan efforts to end FGM suffer blow with victims paraded in ‘open defiance’[/SIZE]
Almost 3,000 girls from the Kuria community have undergone female genital mutilation in recent weeks, despite crackdown

Kenya has seen a setback in its progress to eradicate female genital mutilation (FGM) after an open parade in defiance of the government clampdown on the practice took place this week.

Almost 2,800 girls from the Kuria community in south-western Kenya have undergone FGM, which involves the removal of the outer layers of female genitalia and sometimes the clitoris, in the past three weeks, say local activists.

Every day since late September, girls who have undergone the practice have been paraded in the region’s main urban centres, where they have been showered with gifts, including cash. The gifts, according to the activists, are designed to encourage other young girls to undergo FGM.

Kenya is viewed as a regional champion in the fight against FGM and the parades will be seen as a setback to government efforts to eradicate the practice by 2022.

A 2020 report by Unicef states that Kenya’s progress towards the eradication of FGM is stronger than that of other nations in eastern or southern Africa. The report states that more than 4 million girls and women in the country have undergone FGM. But last year Kenya’s president, Uhuru Kenyatta, put the figure at 9.3 million.

Offences include aiding or abetting FGM, the possession of tools to carry out the practice, and failure to report a person carrying out FGM.

The law stipulates a prison sentence of not less than three years or a fine of 200,000 shillings (£1,408) – or both – for the crimes. A person who causes the death of a girl through FGM can be sentenced to life imprisonment.

But the open displays of defiance to the government’s ban on the practice by the Kuria community are frustrating officials.

“I have been here before and it’s sad that despite the numerous visits and awareness creation the practice is rife in the Kuria region. It’s sad that you have defied the presidential directive,” Prof Collette Suda, principal secretary at the ministry for gender, reportedly said during a crisis meeting held in the region.

At the meeting, 10 local chiefs and their assistants were interdicted for abetting FGM in their areas. The Kuria community has one of the highest rates of prevalence of FGM in Kenya; affecting 84% of women.

In some local media clips, men are seen waving machetes in the air to either urge others to join in the initiation festivals, known as esaro, or to protect perpetrators from anyone who dares oppose the initiation ceremonies.

Natalie Robi Tingo, founder of the grassroots anti-FGM organisation Msichana Empowerment Kuria, says sometimes the organisers of a “cut” will dress young girls as boys undergoing circumcision to disguise the large number undergoing FGM.

Esaro is a huge cultural event among the Kuria. It usually starts with the traditional circumcision of boys. Then the girls follow and by the third week, the initiation processions are all over town. All we can do is watch and go our way. It is too dangerous to try and intervene,” she says.

Schools in Kenya reopened last week after seven months of closure due to the coronavirus, but many young girls are missing classes in order to undergo FGM.

“We have seen girls going back to class while clad in a lesso (light wraparound dress), a sign that they have just undergone FGM. Some girls would go to class bleeding. When other girls see this, they think FGM is OK. But why do school heads allow such girls back in class in that condition? That seems to legitimise FGM,” says Tingo.

Activists say it will be impossible to eradicate FGM if the government does not address a root cause of its prevalence in the rural Kuria community: poverty.

Christine Ghati, 27, knows too well the allure of gifts for a girl whose family can hardly make ends meet. “When I was 13, I looked forward to the cut to get the gifts that other girls were getting,” she says. “We were poor and my mother was struggling to provide for us. I thought the cash gifts would alleviate our family’s suffering. Today, initiated girls are also gifted with mattresses. It makes them feel honoured since many are used to sleeping on bare floors.”

Ghati only changed her mind when her mother persuaded her that her late father would not have approved. “He was against FGM,” her mother told her. Ghati was eight when her father died.

Today, Ghati campaigns against FGM through her community-based group, Safe Engage Foundation, educating young girls on the dangers of the practice. Often risking her life, she has rescued about 100 girls, who are now in safe houses in the region.

“I have received threatening text messages from parents and other relatives whose girls I rescued. Some have vowed to abduct me and perhaps force me to undergo the cut. Nowadays I even fear going to the market. You see these men carrying machetes and threatening even the police daily,” she says.

According to Unicef, 200 million girls and women alive today have undergone FGM, across 31 countries. In 2012, the UN resolved to eradicate FGM by 2030. But the economic impact of the pandemic and resultant lockdowns are expected to lead to a resurgence of the practice.

There’s also an economic aspect to it. All in all, eradicating FGM is a long term project of social and economic change.

I’m not doubting you just give us the evidence. Interesting read that will be

…destroy a peoples culture and they will be lost forever… look at what happened to black america…and central kenya,…

Before we eradicate FGM we should make sure all jungus men have faced the knife. Kwanza we start with @Tiriitiondo and deorro. Jungus men are the one fighting FGM. Na hawataki kuasi upii.

In parts of Kenya where male circumcision is still traditional, FGM shall always be there, in most African culture the initiates should be welcomed back to the general population by their own mother (the mother should have undergone FGM to qualify) if she hasn’t a female relative that has undergone the rites takes her place. We are currently seeing women in their 40’s and 50’s being the recipients of FGM due to this dynamic, rendering the successful ban of FGM on school girls in the 80’s and 90’s as a futile attempt, since the mature women are opting for it.

@TrumanCapote Clit ikikatwa huwa inamea tena?

I wonder if She got cut …??

Prudence Tonui.
[ATTACH=full]333092[/ATTACH]

The new norm for adolescent girls undergoing circumcision is the cross border aspect. (mbona females inaitwa FGM na males ni circumcision?)
Maasais wanatahiri Kisii ama Kilimanjaro/TZ. Kisia likewise, either Transmara, Maasailand ana TZ I assume even the Kipsigis are now doing it this way too…utafikiria imeisha one area kumbe inaendelea another.

In anyways, if an elderly chief (Assistant Sub-County Commissioner, I think) can still marry a class 8/form one girl, sembuse yeye kudouble down on female circumcision?

Indeed, it is a multilayered social problem

FGM is likely to have more disastrous health consequences for the woman than would male circumcision. This includes riskier births, hemorrhagic shock, infections, painful sex, as well as the inability to enjoy sex.

You also bring a good point of government officers being willing accomplices by condoning these actions even as they happen right under their nose. I sometimes really pity county commissioners working in some areas in Kenya because you are destined to fail in your duties no matter what you do.

I once went for a job huko Kehancha, Kuria 2016 nikaona entourage ya watu wakisindikiza wasichana for circumcision. Hapo mbele na nyuma ya hio kikundi kulikuwa na landcruiser za polisi!

circumcision is a long process involving mentorship , teachings & value addition to maintain the family & teach the initiates to be responsible…circumcision si kukata alone… you bonobos shuld decolonise your minds… kwani mmebebewa akili , when you lose your culture , who benefits ? …

What does cutting off a foreskin , whole vulva or clitoris got to do with any Value addition , teachings or responsibility …???
The who concept is BACKWARD and serves no useful purpose …