In case you did not know, almost every success story has gaps.
Very few people succeed from rags to riches in reality through clean biz and hard work.
She is married to a rich dude…
Even that itself is not clear… The lady looks like she is aged between 30 and 35… So, Whatever the scenario the husband is likely in his early forties too (balance of probabilities)…
Msee. Let me tell you the plain truth that most people will never tell you.
The odds of a peasant raised in Korogocho ever living in Karen (or whichever posh neighborhood will be in fashion when he is a grown-up) are close to nil. There are very many barriers to success and most are invisible. Obviously, there will always be a wonder kid story of rags to riches hapa na pale.
Usually, the people who become the elite are from middle class families, not true peasants. The likes raised in Buru etc ndio huenda wanakuwa Karen because they have most of the ingredients for success. Unapata maybe msee alisomea majuu akahustle huko akarudi na pesa, ama mzae aliboost biz yake, ama aliunda connections pale Strathmore etc. Make no mistake, they are self-made but there are many enabling factors behind the scenes.
Contrary to common belief, most guys at the top didn’t start at the bottom. They started at the middle, and then worked harder than their parents.
I agree with you… But, I am not a peasant too but I know that this one has lots of gaps… and mostly there are lots of short cuts involved, if not outright criminal acts… from my experience…
Kama ni mwanamke na kwao ni peasants the obvious route hukuwa uangalie bwana yake. Women get short cuts in life through marriage/sex.
Unlike men, women have three avenues of success.
Inheritance, hard/smart work, and marriage/sex.
Hata pale forbes there are very few self-made women billionaires. Karibu wote ni inheritance ama marriage.
I thought it was easier for a Korogocho peasant to become a Buru middle class than for a Buru middle class to become a Karen upper class?
True… But unless we know what the husband did, it cannot be clear… the secret lies there… because the story that she sold their family house to kick start the project and buy 8 acres does not add up… and no loan was taken here…
Mtu si ajenge success yake bila gaps
In fact it does not work that way, in general… Buru Buru fellows become thugs, drunkards and drug addicts… it is a convoluted journey and you will still find fellows from Korogocho going to Karen too… while those in Karen falling out completely into semi-slums… it happens…
I am not a peasant neither am I a billionaire and I know what my journey has taken… I also know what many do to go to the top but I will not take that route too… that’s my choice… I am sharing this story because, in not so long in the future, this will be exposed too… Have you realized that she has intentionally refused to share her sur-name and only refers herself as Leah Wambui… Or do you think that it was a mistake?
Most likely kuna mutu analaunder dirty money through this project… The money from the project itself is peanuts but ile attributed as profit from this business ni mingi…
An old trick if you want to move significant cash to the states…
Horera mûthuri
And that is why she is the face of the property and nobody knows about the other real owners of the project…
We ndukamake… nie ndimucune maitho ni mbaka!
Yeah coz if the Feds catch on utawekwa blacklist ya company zote za Stato… You won’t be able to keep money on PayPal and such na ukituma doh through bank zitafreeziwa.
UK and EU banks will also be hard to deal with… Hapo ndo unaskianga watu Wa Wash Wash wakitumia wasanii kuficha pesa…
Any US person or company found dealing with you also face the consequences…
That’s why I love the US sometimes. A black kid born in the Bronx has a a very high chance of living in Staten Island/Brooklyn if he puts in the hardwork. (I.e don’t do drugs, go to college, avoid hoodrats, avoid sex with the hood riff raff and get a job). Alternatively he can concentrate on his talent and get a good manager and he is set. Of course there are barriers that may hinder one along the way but they are way less compared to the ones that Kenya have. In the US, if you follow the rules to the letter and work hard, you are assured of success. Meanwhile in Kenya if you are born poor, most likely you would die poor or the best you can be is lower middle class (ile yenye one hospital bill/silly mistake is enough to take you back to where you belong) no matter how hardworking you or how bright you are. Odds are just against you.
That is true! In Kenya, many years ago, one worked hard in school and once they graduated from the university they would get the best jobs! Generally many poor children would make it through academic excellence then. Nowadays this has been diluted to allow average C+ performers who are very many unlike many years ago… now with a low C+ one gets admitted to any degree and this is usually the minimum entry point for most jobs especially in Government, since they have connections, these average performers will be connect for all the jobs the public sector provides… if one is poor that connection hardly exists… Therefore, you will find many A, A-, B+ and B scorers without jobs because they are from poor backgrounds while very many C+ with great jobs because they are from affluent backgrounds… Now in America, meritocracy rules the game and one can succeed by putting in the effort (of course it is obvious that black MEN will have to work harder to make it too)
People love deriding US that’s it’s not meritocratic like China but as a person who has lived in the US for the last 6 years, I can with utmost confidence state that US is 100× more meritocratic than China. I have interacted with Chinese students who narrate how their parents sold almost everything + taking huge loans to just get them to come to the US in order to atleast help them compete with the children of the rich in China. Of course China has its own brand of meritocracy which is different from US’s, they still have a long time in catching up with America’s brand of meritocracy. Very few countries in the world reward meritocracy like how US does.