Why did you stop drinking alcohol?

For me, I couldn’t find any good thing that I could attribute to alcohol for the 8 years I drank like a fish. The friends I made in clubs weren’t worth keeping and were mostly losers including those that wore suits. Majority of the bad decisions that I made were when I was intoxicated. It clouded my judgment. I could drive to town, drink and drive back home. Also, I would fuck whores a lot when drunk. One day I figured that my luck would run out either with a whore/luwere, or on the road. Instead of going to the club I went to bed and never looked back. I have achieved more, socially and financially, in the last one year than in those 8 years combined.

Kudos. Keep it that way.

please explain, u mean even on a weekend afternoon you’d still go to bed?
i think there are other techniques that u employed, please share them all

Drinking in moderation is the key.

Woke up one day 8 years ago after lots of drinking the previous night and felt my life literaly slipping away. (This was after two previous bouts of mild alcohol poisoning)Called my cousin in Nairobi Hospital who told me what to do. On sitting back and reflecting, I felt it wasnt worth it. Drained one and a half bottles of viceroy down the kitchen sink, opened the White Caps in the fridge and drained them down the sink too, and I was done. Never looked back. Then the Kingolonderess and Kingolondelet came along and I got company.

Get a Netflix account, get one low-maintenance girlfriend, schedule road trips to other towns and enjoy hotel property e.g heated swimming pool/gym etc. The list is endless. You can also find commitments at that time but mostly have to be planned prior.

For me, I tried drinking moderately but it never worked. One bottle would lead to another and before you know it, I would be on the sixth bottle and with some new female company. The first bottle was enough to mess my judgement

Im not much of a drinker but ile kitu itanimaliza ni sigara. Today is my third day without smoking

Lucky for me, I never started smoking even during those 8 dark years. I dont know if I would have succeeded to quit if cigarettes were also involved. I have seen people quit alcohol, but not cigarettes.

drinking aint bad if you do it moderately

I have never taken alcohol in my life.

You drank your osungu too

I think he’s referring to quiting for a serious alcoholic.

Waking up one day and just dropping the bottle isn’t an option for everyone. Some people need to constantly drink to function and the withdrawal is a serious bitch if you’re used to drinking heavily everyday.

P.S
Most serious alcoholics who go cold turkey have a very high chance of suffering from some organ failure or dying within the first 48 Hours from the withdrawal.

and herein lies the real challenge

Too much of something is poisonous,iwe religion,sex,food and also alcohol.That said,staying at home with your wife every evening is a death sentence

If he is such an alcoholic, he should consider cutting down first. Also, I dont think what you are implying is entirely true. Alcoholics get arrested all the time. If what you said is true, there should be an ER vehicle at every police station because I am almost certain police don’t provide criminals with alcohol

It is. That is why you should make new friends who dont drink. Also, I think some occupations, especially 9-5 are an automatic predisposition to alcoholism. For me, I had a start-up business which took almost all my entire time and I enjoy interacting with customers. An office guy will have nothing to do on a Friday 5:01 PM

siachi pombe!!! Ata sijui kama naeza function bila kulewa.

Hiyo jeshi ya ohh sijui chronic illnesses, liver failure etc. Mutagongwa na basi tukuzike na hiyo kidney yako healthy

Hii kitu ya 9-5 ni ukweli. Si kwa ubaya but the ‘zombie’ clock in clock out culture that’s built through full time employment leads to people not paying attention to their own lives more than people who do biashara/self-employment/fieldwork.

These sorts of people tend to have their own lives a bit more in control than 9-5ers.

Message zote za Friday jioni za ‘Plan ni gani?’ huwa za employed people. No offense to employees.

ama mtu anyongwe na viazi anyambe akufe tu ivo