Why Africans and Blacks continue to suffer in the diaspora

Africans, Black Americans, Carribean Blacks… same people. Under constant segragation and discrimination.

But why no social progress? A major factor is lack of financial capital.

Remember that Jews, Irish , Asian and Italian people faced serious discrimination on their migration to the Americas. They still do today. But they moved significantly higher on the financial chain, and are able to control their fate. Black people are still bottom feeders. Why ?

Those Jewish, Irish, Asian and Italian people put together their resources, formed their own institutions ( schools, businesses, churches, manufacturing facilities, neighborhood homes) . This enabled them to circulate their incomes within their community and shield themselves from pitfalls of segregation.
As an example, Indians have done the same in Kenya.

And now Arabs and Hispanics have been moving parabolically upwards. You see the upheavals in Europe by Arabs? It’s because they have their own industries. Hispanics are taking over all little businesses previously owned by whites. Construction, Restautants, Insurance Brokerages, car Dealerships, Tire shops, are now being swept by Mexicans in America.

But where is the Black man?

A Asian man needs a mortgage, a Asian affiliated bank will loan him. A Black man is denied due to credit, trying to shop with a White bank. A Hispanic man needs dental surgery, he approaches a Hispanic dentistry who allows him to pay monthly. A Black man with no insurance meanwhile loses his teeth one by one .
A Indian man needs a job after being fired, his friends IT company hires him the next day. A Black man’s resume ends up in junk mail of some corporation. It takes him 4-6 months to score a telephone interview with HR who then never call him back.

So it’s not enough to succeed as a lawyer, doctor, IT guy, nurse in America/UK/Canada/Australia. Because your offspring suffer the same fate as other Black people. Without social cushions. It is a one-hit wonder phenomenon.

The Africans mind has been horribly damaged by the encounters we had with non-Africans also when people are at the bottom of any pecking order, they tend to direct their hatred towards others in the same situation.

Next…

Kazi ya nyeuthi marekani ni kuongenza makaratasi za shule na kuandika cv mrefu mrefu instead of jumping into the deep-end and starting something, wanataka ofisi mzuri, titles kubwa na mshahara nono mwisho wa mwezi. The african diaspora is most educated group in the west but its also most risk averse group. How many african developers and engineers in the west have started youtube/udemy channels like brownlee and brackeys of unity, ata github activity ni ile project moja ya shule ya kajavascript na html lakini akona masters 5, hio inataka capital ya pesa ngapi mbwa hii, shenzi kabisa.

11 Likes

I would argue that even racism plays a huge role. If you can’t get a job because you are black, that is certainly a problem. Based purely on what I’ve read online on reddit and other platforms, it is not easy for a black person to get a white collar job in America even if he has slightly better qualifications than a white man. Why? Racism. Employers have a financial (not moral) reason to be racist when recruiting.

Lets assume that I have a real estate company and I want to hire an agent. Two applications land on my desk. They are identical except that the white guy has less experience by 2 years. If racism didn’t exist, I would hire the black guy purely based on merit i.e the 2 years additional experience. However, I know how the world works and I know that it is easier for the white dude to get high net worth clients than the black dude. So, as a rational employer who understands how the world works, I will hire the white guy. I’m not racist but I understand that the world IS racist and my potential clients will likely buy property via my white agent than my black agent. The racist nature of society forces me to adopt discriminative hiring practices.

The same way I would be more inclined to hire a hot waitress at my establishment than a dude or an old woman who is more qualified on paper. I, as a profit-seeking employer, understand that hot waitresses with less experience will attract more customers. I’m I sexist or ageist? No. But in that particular context, I have to discriminate when hiring based on sex and age.

Black people have to work twice as hard to get the same jobs as white people because society is racist.

This is the only correct comment in this whole thread. Everyone else is just talking about how there’s a boogeyman out there to get the MBRACK MAN.

Yes sir. But we can’t keep crying racism for another 250 years. There’s nobody coming to help. Biden wanapatia Ukraine hundreds of billions lakini mweusi hawezi ona ata ngoch.

And by the way my arguments extrapolate to Africa. Shida ni ile ile.

Tumesema mara kwa mara that nyeuthi awache kujipendekeza kwa wenyewe. I don’t think we should worry about citizens of other countries. Is there anyone of them who can say they did not know? After 250yrs of history?

The world was built by black slaves. We should be free to move anywhere.

Inaitangwa systemic oppression:

• Slavery
  • Emancipation without opportunity
  • Segregation
  • Drugs and Crime resulting from above
  • Rinse and repeat

Given the prevailing attitudes of some subsets of white people like Confederate descendants and white supremacists, I’d say some of the liberals have tried. The best survival strategy for blacks is a Malcolm X puritan kind of living. If you can avoid alcohol, whores, gambling and crime, you have a chance at social mobility. If people are sober and have rich connections with one another, getting jobs or getting startup money for businesses might be a little easier.

Watu wakae hapa nyumbani. Equity bank can never deny you a mortgage or a job eti coz you are black. We kenyans shouldn’t be spending sleepless nights worrying about racism in distant lands. And anyway kenyans going to the US know about the centuries of slavery and racism in the American society so wawache kutusumbua with their experiences in the segregated society that they wilfully opted to join.

Also if kenyans in kenya never treat their mboches (paid workers) as equals, why do they expect msungus in the US to treat their former slaves as equals?

The reality says otherwise. It should not be a moment of pride to claim so when they assist others to deplete their continent of origin

The only ppl who will save nyeusi is nyeusi. Democrats and Republicans will not do that. So nyeusi should do what their ancestors did huko Tulsi: rebuild their communities na wawache hii mambo ya ku idolise degenerate rappers.

You are right and wrong hapo

I agree with you blacks should embrace Malcolm X s philosophy of separation completely from the white man and building parallel systems like Tulsa (black wall Street) - read all about it.

Malcolm X also said that the Black’s greatest enemy ni the smarmy liberal. Ukicheki he was a prophet coz he saw in the 60s where embracing white America will get the black man. Drugs, violence, broken families, confusing genders, illiteracy etc

Actually ukicheki poa the black American has regressed since the days of Jim crow. Families/ community were more cohesive despite the racism. Like Indians, Italians, Asians wakijua they are on their own no white do gooder was coming to save em. Once they listened to Martin Luther’s message of forgiveness, hugs and kumbaya it’s Been downhill fast

All in all me ni mkenya daima. I believe in staying here and building the motherland, whatever those places give Acha ikae