Clearly, JSKS had only one cookie cutter strategy - discussing policies and agendas. That’s why he lost.
I think he should have had two strategies based on whether Tinga would show up or not. You can’t have just one generic strategy.
Strategy 1: RAO Participates
Discuss policies and agendas. Avoid discussing dirt because you have more dirt than him and its public knowledge. Give empty promises and sell a dream.
Strategy 2: RAO Fails to Participate
Seize the opportunity to air his dirt and Uhunyes dirt. Why? They can’t defend themselves and they don’t have the platform to air your dirt. Punish them for not attending because they can’t fight back.
I think Ruto had only one strategy (1) going into the debate. Strategies only work when applied in the right context. He applied the strategy in the wrong context. He should have itemized issues to do with state capture, K.U land grab, and everything else he could find. His team failed him, clearly.
There is time to air dirt, and time to discuss agendas/policies. Today, JSKS discussed policies when he should have aired dirt.
He doesnt listen to his advisors.
That’s why he chose that thug from Mathira over Kindiki.
So today Hussein Mohammed begged to coach him for the hard questions but he dismissed him and said:
Niko chonjo mdau.
He didn’t really have a choice. That thug funded his campaigns heavily and threatened to withdraw his dollars. I can’t blame him because its the only way he could guarantee a return on his investment. The thug had a gun to his head.
Spot on. "
“Apply no tactic rigidly; do not let your mind settle into static positions, defending any particular place or idea, repeating the same lifeless maneuvers. Attack problems from new angles, adapting to the landscape and to what you’re given. By staying in constant motion you show your enemies no target to aim at. You exploit the chaos of the world instead of succumbing to it.”
Excerpt From
The 33 Strategies Of War
"
He placed a giant target on his back by being the lone man on that stage with no control over the questions asked. KK walked into this debate with a lot of hubris buoyed by Sakaja’s, and DO’s post debate popularity against candidates who did not swing back. They stuck to the same playbook but sasa imegeuka ikakuwa mtego and the more WSR tried to free himself the more ensared he became.
I don’t think he had any control on which strategy he had to use coz the two panelist had power over the questions they asked…naona these debate was a trap and he fell into it…the airing dirt bit could have worked if Baba was there and JSKS could attack Uhuru through Baba…naona for the first time JSKS has smelt defeat and notted he his is not in control…was it a trap or the panelist were just well prepared and sharp hapo I don’t know
Yvonne Lost and lost big time,she made the debate a scorecard of the jubilee government and not a scrutiny of the Kenya kwanza manifesto, Kenyans already know baba Abby is by design in opposition.
Kenyans never heard anything to do with education, failing university s , foreign policy and the loss to zoomalia at ICJ, issues to do with mining, health,tourism,huslar fund ,debt management etc ,she and latiff let Kenyans down big time ,the debate was about how do we bell the cat and not what is the color of the cat,hii debate was worse than karuas and DO s debate interms of content, context and details.Big shame to media society of Kenya.