Yaani sports wanacheza ligi ya safaricon…!
43 billi
Hii imechoma safaricom by far, they paid less than a billion. They walked away with over 40 billion. Lakini wakenya ni watu wa scheme za get rich quick.
is that what they declared or how were the figures found? how much tax did they pay?[SIZE=1] i have a feeling they underdeclared[/SIZE]
they should not pay any taxes.
As I said before, sportpesa is an exit scam. Those who will buy the IPO will be left holding empty bags. One last time to con Kenyans (IPO buyers) before they move on to a shiny new scam and leave Kenyans with a shell. For the shareholders to decide to list, they must have concluded that the future prospects of the company were questionable and probably revenues had started to decline. So they have to get out when still ahead. Hint: I don’t trust any figures given to Wanjiku (the masses).
why?
They releasing that figure now coz they plan to issue an IPO?
Na ngombe za watu kila siku kazi ni kuwapelekea pesa wakijifanya maguiji. My fren, the house always wins ALWAYS!
Of course they under declared…:D:D
Yup. If it is true, it is most likely lower than that of the previous year significantly. Billionaires don’t sell the goose that lays golden eggs unless they sense it will start laying normal eggs soon - so they can sell it at a premium now and exit while still ahead.
like this news is going to lose them a good number of investors going by the jealous nature of kenyans. Jealousy is the only feeling that can overcome kenyans’ greed.
nakuunga mkono brownskin. what is the IPO for? expansion? what do they want to fund?
Paying out less than a billion would imply only 1 - 2% actually win bets. That’s not practical.
I would estimate winners to be 20 - 30%.
But still after spending on marketing, sponsorships, tax and operations, I think they still went with 20 something billion.
Will you look at those figures :oops::oops:
How much does it cost to start a gambling business? I might as well try to join them if Kenyans hate their money this much
-
Revenue is not profit.
-
To know exactly what sportpesa made from that revenue, someone should provide us with the margins of sports betting. I saw somewhere (mharo site) that it is 10% but I don’t trust that figure. Assuming 15% due to multibets etc, sportpesa made anywhere between 4 - 6.5 billion in net profit.
-
To determine whether it is an exit scam or not, audited financial results for the last four years should be provided so that we can all see whether revenue has been growing or declining. My guess is that revenue declined significantly last year due to government interference (i.e bribing G.O.K officials) a.k.a lobbying etc.
-
In my experience, companies tend to inflate revenue and profit for the year before they list. If last year they raked in 43 billion in revenue, and they plan to list in 2019, my guess is that the figures this year will be massively inflated to give the impression of a rapidly growing company. They must do this to sell their shares at a big premium.
My 2 cents. Sande
I wish they can be philanthropic and pay off our Chinese debt. :D:D:D
I dont think they want to exit or list given the margins of the industry and the scrutiny that comes with listing.Even if they made 5 billion in profit an year ,they would not exit .
Classic mistake. Winners are actually more than losers in sports betting (excluding multibets which have a different risk profile altogether). It is interesting but let me explain to you. The average gambler wins more times than he loses, but he loses more money than he wins. It is betting psychology. That is why a Barcelona match will have 1.2 odds. When you win, you win small (20%), but when you lose, you lose everything (100%).
They are providing a valuable service and we should do everything to encourage the endeavor.
the only thing kenyans hate more than themselves is those they find more successful than them.