Whistle Blowing......... Would you do it

In the past, in the course of my work I encountered many cases of misappropriation of funds, there were instances where I knew things were going wrong and but I chose to say nothing as long as I was not directly adversely affected by such corruption, however over time I found that I was less tolerant to such practices. Some of the most rampant money minting schemes in one international donor agency I used to work for involved collusion between programs and accounting department that involved charging for ghost conferences, trainings and seminars, multiple funding (where a single project would be charged to 2 or more different donors), funding of phantom organizations or family managed organizations, and off-course use of fake inflated receipts for most of the office supplies

So sometime last year Angel Gabriel visited me and prompted me to act, I prepared a very detailed account of things in the organization, giving names, places, organizations… I even included my name in the dossier and then created an email account and sent it the donors… what followed was cessation of funding, forensic audit… and off-course, we were all sent on compulsory leave and then later had our contracts terminated…Up until the end watu hawakujua what was going on,

Would you do it even at the expense of your job?

N.B.
I was planning to resign as I had already registered a firm and was getting regular clients.

answer me this, would you have snitched if you were not financially stable?most people are ethical but not moral

Wacha siasa Uncle.
Hii Kenya umeipata hapa na utaiwacha hapa.
Kula ile unaweza, ile itabaki tutajisort nayo.

Looks to me like you acted selfishly knowing your next step was already sorted while not giving a rat’s *ss about your colleagues most of whom may have not been involved.
I think you were banking on attrition of the organization’s customers after its collapse to your newly registered firm.
Its one thing to whistle blow, but to do it for selfish gains…mmmmh

Yako ni wivu sio whistleblowing. ukishajenga nyumba yako unabomb estate yenye unahama. Si ungeacha tu wazungu waendelee kuleta hizo madollar at least zisaidie kustabilize shilingi.

I guess not

Hii attitude ndio imetufikisha hapa

What would you have done?

That was not my intention ,though you might not agree with me
The situation was very bad… worse that the county governments,
Money was not going to the intended projects,

@4makind If you really wanna do it,nina connections integritiy centre,they can investigate the full extent ya hio maneno

Is this not the case with almost all NGOs since forever???

That’s up to the Hq and donors… don’t want risk my life with all these gun totting boda riding assassins loose in our streets

Your single action can’t change the system, just live with it.

It will with time creep onto you in your new firm, and you will face the same fate,I don’t mean it was right to mint cash from donors who entrusted their funds for charity to hyenas, it would have been worthwhile trying to design a way of professionalising that org, live and let live brother

Two sides here. On one hand, a sick desparate child in need of the donors funds to stay alive, and on the other hand, a grown ass nigga able to fend for himself but steals from the child. Guess i wouldnt loose sleep over the issue. I would rat so snitchingly fast, they would be left like " i knew this rat was a rat "

Watu ka nyinyi ndio u deserve two hot slaps and a sweep when spotted… ukiuliza kwanini umepigwa unaongezewa sweep ndo utulie

The funds were meant for Famine relief, Youth enterprise and Empowerment, Health and Water… How do you just watch people sit, plan and implement ghost projects and fund non-existent partners day in day out?

I have no apologies for planning my exit in advance! It’s always prudent to have a fall back position

Jay, saa ukiwa majuu, na unitrust nikijengee nyumba, unatuma pesa, nakunwa tembo nakutumia picha za neighbours hse. Wouldnt you be gland foreman @Wakanyama akisnitch

I am surprised that most people think that it was wrong for me to snitch when people in my former organization engaged in corruption while at the same time you are very quick to condemn corruption in government. Are you sincere in your condemnation of corrupt practices or are you condemning fact that you have not gotten the opportunity to engage in the corrupt practices? :(:(:(:(:(:(:frowning:

I guess your guess is as good as mine.

Alikuwa foreman wa nini kama hakuna nyumba ilikuwa inajengwa? mbona kusnitch after amepata pesa yenye amefeel imemtosha kujisimamia? Does it mean he came to learn about the thuggery only after he planned for his exit?

we are not saying it’s bad to whistle blow, and in fact you did a noble deed. but why do it only when you have ‘eaten’ to your full? Hii ni kama kuiba a piece of cake then unatupa the remaining cake after kushiba ndio mtu mwingine asiibe.

maybe we are judging you wrongly. is there any efforts you put while you were still there to change how things were run?

Personally, myself, individually, I did not partake in the eating, I found a messed up system where corruption was entrenched from the receptionist to the country director, it was not a case where you would replace 1 or 2 officers and then you are good, the Mzungu boss was busy dishing out consultancies and contracts to exorbitant and unqualified clique of friends, the Finance and admin department was busy skimming forex transfer differences, ghost purchases, faking receipts, colluding with implementing partners on ghost programs, Program managers busy taking money on ghost trips, ghost trainings, ghost events…, it was really bad that’s when I decided to plan my exit. I did not want to look for another job so I started my outfit. Currently the organization is back in operation with new staff, new implementing partners and the HQ in Europe is now more involved.

I am not sorry that I did it and would do it all over again