Where are we?

Other countries are past industrial revolution. They are now focusing on high tech and advanced manufacturing yet we as Africans cannot even manufacture toothpicks. We import everything from Mitummba-used clothes to China’s fish. Our agriculture is not even yet commercialed and agro industries are not perfoming well. Most of the companies are on its death bed or have collapsed. There is no any homegrown industries involved in tech revolution or infustrial output that has captured the outside market. Innovation such as mpesa only works within our local market. We are even struggling processing our poor agricultural output let alone manufacturing any tech products such as electronics. This is a cause to worry. What is wrong with Africa 50 yrs after independence? Why are our universities not engine of invention and innovation like the case we see in other countries where most global conglomerate tech companies are estbalished at universities?

Inauma, lakini itabidi tuzoee (Put simple-boys accent)

if only those with capital would take the lead!
In South Africa, the billionaires are investing in information technology, space and heavy industries…think if elon musk
In Nigeria again it’s the same…think of dangote
In Zimbabwe strive is also in technology and modern farming
But in Kenya Raila is in tried and tired service industry and 17th century construction/ engineering
Ruto is in real estate and 18th century service/ hospitality
Uhuru and Moi are also in 18th century businesses…no innovation!
if only a majority of our looters would invest in modern technology…or cutting edge farming, then we wouldn’t even feel the effects of their corruption…our youth would be having jobs.

Education systems are fake , greedy & individualistic

Kenya is not an equal opportunities place. It is everyone for themselves and God for us all. Corruption will never let us forge ahead. That is our biggest undoing.
As for our graduates pre-Matiang’i wacha nisiseme kitu.

Not to sound clever but Corruption in Kenya makes things very difficult and very uneven for anyone. It’s incredible what corruption does. When you compare with other countries holistically then you understand why to make it in Kenya you need to steal.

Nyinyi mnashindanga mkilia hadi mnaboo. What are you doing at an individual level to change the situation? Wacha kutupigia makelele.

What do you think as an average joe you can do in a shit hole like this,first the government needs to create an enabling environment In many things especially infrastructure,the rest we can do

We are handicapped by the status quo. Try establishing a factory unukishe kitungu uoneshwe moshi na govt busy bodies. I have unsuccessfully been trying to get 3 phase power to my farm since 2013 for a small manufacturing idea i have. KPLC are just out to fleece me. NEMA are yet to send the inspector they promised to send. The local MCA is fronting his supporters wandikwe kazi in an idea that he hasn’t contributed anything to. Need I say that nitakamuliwa na both the central and county govts? Do you remember the independent power producer of Tetu and what happened to him?

Truesay. This vice will affect our youth in many ways for years and years. Basically most have no future took forward to. What is the point of going to school many of them ask? to get a job even a driver’s job…you need a ‘tall relative’ somewhere.
Wacha waibe pesa za watu tuu:mad:…we see how they are leaving the world without taking any of it and leave their clueless children fighting…

Sucks coz I understand you fully… The only thing they have to done to you is open it themselves and they will tell you they will allow you to head things for a while. Your junior will learn everything from you and will leave you fired after a while. To rub a legal Business that has a physical location is increasingly unsustainable.

vumilia boss get the certifications first hizo za nema and the rest nunua generator ya 3 phase anza kazi epuka hio nugu ya mca utafaulu

Oh please please please do not mention NEMA and local demi-gods aka MCAs. I have nightmares already…this is so wrong.

3 phase kwani kupata imekua shida namna gani? I remember in the early 2000s my dad needed 3 phase in his small industry na aliipata although my dad naye hakuwa anaogopa kutoa hongo so maybe wewe ndio umekataa kutoa hongo. Hii ni Kenya, when you go to Rome do as the Romans do. I know i sound stupid to some people but in Kenya sometimes you have to do what you have to do to get things done. My dad had imported a machine from China and it needed 3 phase to work. So paying a small hongo is nothing compared to the benefits of getting that machine humming.

Plus industries are being set up in Kenya everyday. Milk cooling industries, milk processing industries and many other industries. Unataka kuniambia ati hizo industries zikishaimport machine zao halafu Kenya power decides to ask for bribe ati hizo industries will shut down na kudecide kuclose business yet umeimport machine? Ofcourse not, you will pay whatever you need to pay to get whatever you want coz hutaki kuenda loss worth millions juu ya hio machine kukaa idle. We just love complaining while other Kenyans are facing the same challenges but decide to overcome those challenges without complaining. Sasa kama 3 phase imekuwa ngumu na kupata certificate from Nema si ndio utaona shida. Hii Kenya mtu righteous mwenye hatoi kakitu atalala njaa. Kenyan business is dirty just like Kenyan politics. Anyone who is not willing to get dirty should not bother joining either Kenyan politics or business coz huko ni kwa alpha males pekee.

Thought Nakuru was an industrial town…what happened? The greedy African politicians ran the factories to the ground huh? Ever-ready batteries used to be made in Naks…mumias…kcc.sasa kila kitu inaletwa! Crazy stuff

What else can we do if the majority of the citizens are the ignorant ones? Including you?

Umeuliza vizuri…
Ukamalizia na ujinga

Maintaining the status quo is the antithesis of positive development…

You cannot fight with the system. If you want to get ahead in Kenya, you have to do what you have to do.

Spear alienda wapi