December 21, 2025, 11:52am
If you sit down at a bustling “vibandaski” (street kiosk) in Nairobi or a high-end eatery in Westlands, the steaming plate of Ugali placed before you tells a story of regional survival. To many Kenyans, Ugali is the soul of the kitchen; but to the economists of East Africa, that same plate is a testament to a deep, often invisible reliance on the fertile soils of Tanzania.
In the East African Community, a silent truth governs the dinner table: When Tanzania harvests, Kenya eats.
In Kenya, the price of maize flour (Unga) is a political lightning rod. When the supply from Tanzania is steady, prices in Nairobi remain manageable. However, when trade tensions arise such as disputes over phytosanitary certificates or export permits the “Ugali Index” spikes.
In 2024 and early 2025, fluctuations in trade policy underscored this dependence. Whenever Tanzania restricts exports to ensure its own food reserves, the impact is felt instantly in Nairobi’s households through higher prices.
255:
…is steady, prices in Nairobi remain manageable. However, when trade tensions arise such as disputes over phytosanitary certificates or export permits the “Ugali Index” spikes.
In 2024 and early 2025, fluctuations in trade policy underscored this dependence. Whenever Tanzania restricts exports to ensure its own food reserves, the impact is felt instantly in Nairobi’s households through higher prices.
I grow my own maize. Be quiet bongolala.
255:
…er, when trade tensions arise such as disputes over phytosanitary certificates or export permits the “Ugali Index” spikes.
You don’t
Heshimu Sakigake farming techniques wewe bongolala.
December 21, 2025, 12:16pm
Jack_Black:
…n 2024 and early 2025, fluctuations in trade policy underscored this dependence. Whenever Tanzania restricts exports to ensure its own food reserves, the impact is felt instantly in Nairobi’s households through higher prices.
You don’t
IMG_20251114_1155461840×4096 224 KB
IMG_20250810_0801021840×4096 399 KB
One maize that cannot even make one kilogram of flour is what you are bragging about.
Take a picture of the entire farm so we can see, even if it’s just one acre.
December 21, 2025, 12:20pm
Jack_Black:
…n 2024 and early 2025, fluctuations in trade policy underscored this dependence. Whenever Tanzania restricts exports to ensure its own food reserves, the impact is felt instantly in Nairobi’s households through higher prices.
You don’t
Also you don’t know how to roast maize. Hiyo picha inaonesha kuwa hujui kuchoma mahindi.
Maana yake wewe siyo mkulima.
December 21, 2025, 12:22pm
Jack_Black:
… through higher prices.
You don’t
One maize that cannot even make one kilogram of flour is what you are bragging about.
IMG_20250807_1103021920×790 195 KB
OK.
Is that the farm you’re bragging about? Kwikwikwikwikwi Now, how many kilograms of corn will you get?
In Tanzania, a farm of that size is for 5-year-old children.
255:
… farming techniques wewe bongolala.
OK.
Is that the farm you’re bragging about? Kwikwikwikwikwi Now, how many kilograms of corn will you get?
Yes. That’s why I support President Samia Suluhu Hassan. 5 year old children should have farms this size.. maybe they can plant sweets for you.
December 21, 2025, 12:25pm
Jack_Black:
…entire farm so we can see, even if it’s just one acre.
OK.
Yes. That’s why I support President Samia Suluhu Hassan. 5 year old children should have farms this size.. maybe they can plant sweets for you.
All schools in Tanzania have a subject called Self-reliance Education, where each student has their own area to cultivate.
BOOKten:
…y, prices in Nairobi remain manageable. However, when trade tensions arise such as disputes over phytosanitary certificates or export permits the “Ugali Index” spikes.
MBWA.
Why are you arguing with a bongolala who can’t count from A-Z?
2 weeks ago they were basically a failed state before our NYS guys went to help their pitiful security services. Next time we can send 1 KDF in full kit so these children can see what a trained soldier actually looks like.
255:
…ing about? Kwikwikwikwikwi Now, how many kilograms of corn will you get?
All schools in Tanzania have a subject called Self-reliance Education, where each student has their own area to cultivate.
What happened to the subject known as English?
December 21, 2025, 12:28pm
Jack_Black:
…o ensure its own food reserves, the impact is felt instantly in Nairobi’s households through higher prices.
MBWA.
2 weeks ago they were basically a failed state before our NYS guys went to help their pitiful security services. Next time we can send 1 KDF in full kit so these children can see what a trained soldier actually looks like.
This English is for Kenyans only. Intelligent people always count numbers not A-Z
December 21, 2025, 12:30pm
Jack_Black:
…ams of corn will you get?
We have various language subjects in Tanzanian schools: English, French, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, Portuguese etc.
255:
…esident Samia Suluhu Hassan. 5 year old children should have farms this size.. maybe they can plant sweets for you.
We have various language subjects in Tanzanian schools: English, French, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, Portuguese etc.
I see. So you have the subject (English) in the curriculum.. but majority of Tanzanians can’t speak it. Is it an optional subject?
Mikymas
December 21, 2025, 12:35pm
255:
…is steady, prices in Nairobi remain manageable. However, when trade tensions arise such as disputes over phytosanitary certificates or export permits the “Ugali Index” spikes.
Haya tukikunia tutawaletea mavi. Tunajua hiyo ndio raha yenu
December 21, 2025, 12:41pm
Jack_Black:
…Tanzania have a subject called Self-reliance Education, where each student has their own area to cultivate.
I see. So you have the subject (English) in the curriculum.. but majority of Tanzanians can’t speak it. Is it an optional subject?
Tanzania does not need English in our internal communication because we are already fluent in our Swahili language.
It’s just your ignorance, Kenyans, to worship English.
255:
…language subjects in Tanzanian schools: English, French, Arabic, Russian, Chinese, Portuguese etc.
Tanzania does not need English in our internal communication because we are already fluent in our Swahili language.
OK. Develop a user generated content website like this one in Kiswahili. As in write the actual HTML markup/markdown language in Kiswahili.
You can’t? Shiiiit boy.. A,B,Z,D,F.. Z
December 21, 2025, 12:51pm
Jack_Black:
…zanians can’t speak it. Is it an optional subject?
OK. Develop a user generated content website like this one in Kiswahili. As in write the actual HTML markup/markdown language in Kiswahili.
You can’t? Shiiiit boy.. A,B,Z,D,F.. Z
Kwikwikwikwi . Programming languages has nothing to do with english, chinese or any language. Unaonekana wewe ni mshamba huijui dunia