When You Die

How many women (or men for pink handles) will come crawling out of the woodworks claiming a share of your property?
Has that ever crossed your mind?
Yes, you’ll be dead and you won’t know. But think about it.
Question inspired by this:

[SIZE=4]Three women eye Sh10 million from tea seller who died with only Sh15[/SIZE]

http://www.sde.co.ke/sdemedia/sdeimages/thursday/hyxt5n1x10elopoby56bca0d7408ac.jpg

A former air traffic controller turned tea hawker, died with only Sh15 in his pocket. Now, three women are said to be eyeing a Sh10 million windfall in compensation. He was expecting around Sh10 million compensation from the aviation authorit.

Hiyo story haieleweki, Mara 10m Mara 15/=, fafanua.

mbona unapost kama NV? ama niambie museveni aje?

Fixed. Soma tena.

In some organizations,you are worth much more when dead. Never let your wife know your exact pay,pension expectations,injury compensation or your death. RBA seminars emphasizes on this much.

The guy was expecting a KSh 10 Million compensation. He died with 15 /= to his name,in his pocket.
Comprehension seems not to be your forte @Mundu Mulosi

Kumbafu hii, the post was edited, the paragraph just bellow the photo was added later.

Cosigned.

That’s the sadness of life, there’s a former manager in our firm who died in a road accident, in life huyo jamaa alikuwa akifuatwa na mashylocks na MWK who had taken him to court for child support. The guy had a salo of like 300k but alikuwa mtu madeni tu. Now, the guy dies in an accident in a car he had bought like 3 weeks b4 financed by employer), there’s a major fundsdrive and around 15M is raised for the funeral and his childrens’s fund. Later on the wife is paid like benefits of like 30m by the employer and insurance, mortagage and car loan are offset. Ndio nikaenda kwa HR records to know how much I am worth; in death; nikajua my wife would be paid like 7m if I died a natural death, 10M in case its accidental, all loans offset and a handsome pension for life. Hapo na hapo nikagawanyisha my beneficiaries to wife, sons, siblings and parents to mitigate the risk ya kugongwa chuma.

Hehehe…

Apparently here in Jamhuri esto ni the other way round, I know a lot of self proclaimed landlords who were once loyal caretakers of the plots and apartments they were managing. Kuna ma Buda wengi ma ngati who never tell a soul the actual amount of wealth they have, in return when they die ni watu wengine Wana benefit na mali ingesaidia watoto ama Familia yake

whoever is meant to benefit may they benefit.
i’m against that crap of families creeping ut claiming xyz and causing drama.
that embarrassment will live with your famo forever.

Which insurance company could be so dumb? Ati all loans offset? Even a loan of say, 100 million? If an employee finds out they have advanced cancer si that’s the first order of business? Take a gigantic loan on behalf of the family, after all it will be paid back…plus 7 million…plus handsome pension for wife…what a deal.

I disagree…

I know some guy who was building his family home and the wife was not aware the guy died in the the bomb blast and care taker moved in the house with his family he lived there until 2014 when the wife suddenly found a title deed of the shamba luckily the idiot had not transferred the property to his name.

you go with what have in you…you die hyenas eat what you have left.

My friend, kama hauelewi vitu zingine please never try to comment. It brings out your stupidity. Virtually all loans are insured. Ukikufa, the insurance company repays the loan. As such, benefits due to your family are not attached to offset the loan. Problems may only arise if you have been in default for some time prior to your death and the lender made no efforts to recover the loan due. Ama wewe ni wale wa kukopa kwa shylocks?

I would advice all of you to have a list of your assets and liabilities in a safe place where they can be accessed by your significant others and/or siblings for the 40 year old virgin and other life bachelor’s. I had been quietly tracing my paternal grandmother properties. She was in those Nyakinyua groups had various investments in different parts of the country. a farm in Naivasha that had been bought by those Sacco’s. a plot in Embakasi and shares in Mboi-Kamiti. The farm was intact as it was the local grazing ground. The plot in Embakasi had been fraudulent transferred by a former councillor. He was at pains to explain to me how a dead woman ‘sold’ it to him 4 years after her death. The shares in Mboi-Kamiti had been transferred to one director posthumously. If I hadn’t remembered that in passing she had told me of those investment 20 years ago, and later found the supporting documents in one of her Sandukus that had been brought to us after her death. Her offsprings had never thought of looking for her investments.

If say, the wife is listed as the beneficiary to the deceased’s estate, she assumes his debt as well as any life insurance proceeds. You can bet that lenders for any loans the deceased took will file claims in court, and the personal representative of the estate (in this case, wife) will be on the hook for those debts. While the beneficiary to the life insurance money cannot be made to use said cash to cover the deceased’s debts, the money must come from somewhere.

My friend, you are mixing up two different issues hence the disagreement. It seems hujawahi chukua loan ama kama ushawahi, it was from a shylock. If a bank or other microfinance institution advances you a loan, kitu ya kwanza is to insure the loan at your expense. Incase of your demise, all they do is write to the insurer informing them of your death. The insurer then pays the balance of your loan as per the date of your demise. This is different from your other debts which your administrator in death has to shoulder using your estate. Comprehende?

Tell him Magreb, Tell him. Hata nimeshindwa nitaargue aje na yeye. Check off loans or rather many loan products are insured nowadays