When CIC led by mzee Nyachae released documents showing structures for our new government, which was to take charge from 2013, there was one post that attracted me…the post of The GOVERNOR …though majority of aspirants complicated by misspelling the name, e.g waititu for ngavana, kidero for gavana etc, I created in my mind someone who is not political, someone who will not depend on the national government for money to develop his area, someone who will go out of the way to have basic needs for his people without depending on budgetary allocation from the national government …I thought that the governor was a powerful man who was meant to go outside this country looking for investors, who could, in turn, develop their counties.
I heard of Ukambani area, an area rich in coal, I thought of Narok dude going to the US to get an investor who could start a beef processing unit in Narok…probably tarmac a road or two there…I thought of Nanok, a guy who could change Turkana by wooing investors from all over the world…I thought Governors would be competing by making their counties better than their neighbors… where else in Africa were we supposed to have our land rates waived if we build our houses using local materials if not in Kenya, I thought the governors were going to announce free consultation or probably a discount for anyone who would start a factory or something that would benefit their locals …I thought Kenya would change
little did I know that we were about to elect glorified MPs who would wait on the national government to deposit money in their accounts for them to do the least thing for their people, am surprised that these dudes are no better than mca’s.
Am sorry to say being an investor(foreign) it’s financial suicide in the country unless your have complete backing by the national government-case in point Dominion group.
I have always admired the likes of China and the USA, where even the Federal government goes to states to borrow funds. Hapa hata wanadai haitoshi mboga.
U are not alone. I had high hopes with the same arrangements. Nilidhani itakuwa competition, lakini wapi.
All the 47 governors are clueless and lethargic. Gov. MUTUA was just playing tricks with people. He generated alot of movements without covering any distance, a rocking chair I would say.
I will build a new machakos city, new industries for Machakos, a formula one track, an amphitheater, a railway network across Machakos county, piped water in every homestead, tarmac on all major roads…and we believed. Lakini Mutua ni nugu sana. Nkt