What the fuck is this? Eldoret billionaire battling two grandsons over Sh7bn estate

• Mzee Wakaimba said he has spent about Sh5 million on their education and said they did not deserve part of his estate as his father had no money and was unmarried.

• He accused Kevin Wakaimba and Ivan Wakaimba of being ungrateful to him, yet he had spent more than Sh4 million for their education after their father died.

Eldoret billionaire Mzee David Wakaimba, 78, is fighting his two grandchildren who want a share of his Sh7 billion estate.
The businessman testified on Tuesday before the High Court in Eldoret in a succession case involving two men who want a share of the vast estate.
They say they’re entitled because they are the children of Wakaimba’s son who died in a road accident 30 years ago.

Mzee surprised the court when he said his grandsons’ mother was not even married to his son before he died, raising legal questions of entitlement.
[INDENT]I have spent more than Sh5 million to educate my two grandsons. And, instead of being close to me so I can help them further, they instead moved to court[/INDENT]
David Wakaimba
Mzee Wakaimba testified before Justice Reuben Nyakundi.
He accused Kevin Wakaimba and Ivan Wakaimba of being ungrateful to him, yet he had spent more than Sh5 million to educate them after their father’s death.
He also told the court the two had no right to claim part of his wealth because his son did not own anything at the time of his death.
“I have spent more than Sh5 million to educate my two grandsons. And, instead of being close to me so that I can help them further, they instead decided to move to court,” Wakaimba said.
He told the judge the petitioner’s father, Samuel Wakaimba, who was his firstborn son, had no wealth of his own, but his grandsons are demanding part of his estate.
“The business in Eldoret town and 100 acres of agricultural land in the Plateau area of Uasin Gishu county, which they claim, was in fact my own property," Wakaimba said.
He said he buried his son in the 100 acres but not because it belonged to him (his son).
The mzee’s vast estate is spread across Eldoret, Nakuru and Nairobi. It includes flats, business venues, hundreds of acres in Rift Valley and developed prime plots countrywide.
Kevin and Ivan had earlier told the court they had dropped out of their colleges in Kenya and South Africa because of a lack of fees. They accuse their grandfather of locking them out of their father’s share of the wealth.

Kevin said he dropped out of college at Wilson Airport where he was studying to be a pilot, while his young brother Ivan was forced to return to Kenya from South Africa where he was pursuing a degree course in media arts.
Wakaimba said, however, that as far as he was concerned, the two had completed their education.
[INDENT]We are going through hard times and that is why we want what belonged to our father so that we can move on with our lives[/INDENT]
Grandson Kevin Wakaimba
“What I know is that my grandsons have finished their college studies. Even Kevin who studied as a pilot told me that he has secured a job with an airline in Nairobi," Mzee Wakaimba said.
He accused his grandchildren of refusing to work hard and instead insisting on white-collar jobs.
“I am ready and willing to support them in business so that they can live their lives well," he said.
Kevin, who had earlier testified, told the judge he was unable to complete his training as a pilot because of a lack of fees, just like his young brother who was studying in South Africa.
“We are going through hard times and that is why we want what belonged to our father so that we can move on with our lives," Kevin said.
In their affidavits, they said they want the court to compel their grandfather to include them in the share of their father’s wealth so they can use part of it to complete their studies.
Their mother, Rose Tiren, told the court her father-in-law sold the 100 acres where her husband was, rendering them landless.
“I was forced to go back to my parent’s home in Moiben before my brother Silas Tiren who is the area MP rented us a Sh30,000 house in Eldoret town,” Rose told justice Nyakundi.
The case was adjourned until December 16.
(Edited by V. Graham)

In Eldoret u’ll start hearing of assassinations of old men, and I kid you not it will be orchestrated by their children and grandkids helped by the old man’s wives. Shida ni mzee has lived all his life amassing wealth but the kids are just lazy and waiting for old man to die. Their mom constantly in their ear telling them how wealthy they are…
If Mzee Kibor didn’t take drastic measures sahii angekuwa 6ft under. I was talking to on e of his grand daughters amesoma USIU and the way she was talking with entitlement u could just read from her voice how she’s waiting for him to die.

Then pale Reddit planteshon owner @Yuletapeli is given some lessons. When you are old, your kids will be mistreating you so that you die fast and let them enjoy your property

“Happened to my Pop before he passed 2 months ago. Thing is, his wife and her children were the ones stealing from an incompetent old man. My mom and a few of her siblings had to do everything in their power to not have what they would rightfully inherit stolen. She even tried to take the farm house that my grandfather built for his late wife (mom’s mom). It was awful. They were mistreating him entirely”

Your mum is an ex-wife or first wife? Sorry for your loss

:D:D:D:D:D… MGTOW=FREEDOM…hii ndio mashida ya kuoa single mother, mitoto yake jeenger inachafua boma yako na meffi ,hii thread @Yuletapeli hawezi kupitia hapa

The mzee is not wise…or there is something else to the story which we are not being told…the only reason why he shouldn’t give them something is if they are druggies and alcoholics…or irresponsible…or if they came with the mother and are not related to the mzee.
My 96yr old maternal grandpa is not rich on a similar scale but last year he got really sick and decided to distribute his wealth…area chief, some lawyers and community leaders were all called to witness…the first people he gave properties were my aunties, including my mum…followed by my cousins whose dad died in late 90s. Non of my other cousins got anything. The reason my grandpa gave for dishing out land and other properties to children of my late uncle is that unlike other cousins who have grown up under the guidance of their fathers, these ones have had to struggle on their own… yes grandpa paid their fee and ensured general wellbeing but in his opinion, lack of a father figure had disadvantaged them…he also mentioned that my other uncles have had an opportunity to amass their own wealth which their sons will inherit giving them a headstart in life…but the sons of my late uncle are starting everything from scratch hence some little help from him before he departs. Everybody agreed with his decision.

That was in your Old man’s wisdom. These grandkids aren’t living in distress. The widow is former chief Tiren’s daughter a man who owned over 10,000 acres of land in Moiben constituency. Her brother is Silus Tiren current MP of Moiben. These kids though disadvantaged without a father figure are just showing signs of entitlement and are being pushed by their mom to get property they can control.

:D:D:D shida za billionnaire can’t relate

This is stupid, people should just work hard.
And people should be allowed to enjoy their wealth and do the hell they want with it.

nobody will allow you if they know they are somehow related to you. The surest ways is to do one thing, one thing only son. @Yuletapeli come and reveal it to him

Hapo ushamwambia, besides as one grows older, they tend to focus less on their wealth…they work towards building relationships something they skipped many years ago. They regret for not being there for those who mean a lot to them. Story kiasi hapa…my dad a multi millionaire nyakati zake alikuwa na bidii tele ile time yake ya mwisho say a year before avuke mpaka…:D. i noticed alianza kuleta watoto wake wote pamoja. He cared less about his wealth. Alisema tu sisi kama watoto wake anataka kuona tukiwa close to each other…tushikane kama jamii moja now that anaona time inakatika"

Lakini huyu old man in the case above nikama anasumbuliwa na hao watu…instead ya hizo takataka try to be good to him wanajaribu kumnyang’anya na kumpeleka kotini…makosa!

My dad spent his last days wearing slippers and tattered clothes because his second, third, and fourth wives and their kids couldn’t wait for him to expire so they could dip their hands into his estate. This is after stealing his briefcase containing his last testament. Unfortunately for them, he is as guarded with his wealth in death as he was in life:D. Everything he left behind has a string and a condition, huezi enjoy mali yake hivihivi. Still, it’s good to clarify what you own and dish it out (if possible) before you go. Good for ya and everyone else

No wonder there are hardly any success stories when it comes to family businesses, especially black Kenyans.
We need to make our families understand the cost that comes with wealth accumulation (legitimate). That’s where we fail. In most cases the breadwinner tools and makes something for the family, but with no education of how it all comes to there. This is inclusive of financial literacy and apprenticeship.
So everyone, from the son to the distant cousin is in for the handout and are patiently planning and waiting on your death to have a little more of where it comes from.

Hao vijana na mama yao ni liability kwa society. Kwa serikali ya Arror watatumwa kwa labour camp huko Mui Basin Kitui wakachimbe coal wasaidie kenya kukuza uchumi, waache kusumbua

Ningekuwa wao i would be bootlicking grandpa.

The new succession law says the mzee can only leave his wealth to his wife and any surviving kids. Grand children hapana tambua.

ii ni hekaya kivyake…
wekelea @chapchap haraka upesi

What if I want to leave my wealth to my dogs or a children’s home ?

Nonsense.

They are only entitled to the property of their deseaced father.

Their father had no property.