What Night Owls love about quarantine

I am not a morning person. I am so not a morning person that I don’t use alarm to wake up because I hate how it wakes you up suddenly. So on regular mornings I wake up and look outside to try figure out the time, I have a pretty reliable biological clock, which wakes me up, at the exact same time every day. So when I see alot of sunshine I always think I am running late and when I lived at the Coast where by 5.30 am the sun is up like its midday, I hated waking up to so much sun and heat bcz my system likes to buffer in the mornings, to boot SLOWLY . I don’t like to talk. I don’t like noise. I don’t want to interact with people in the morning. My system is still waking up until about 10am.

Morning people on the other hand wah. I have this friend who lives in DRC so I went to visit for 2 weeks. I had to get ear plugs yall. Yaani mtu anaaamka mapema, puts on the music, puts on the TV, high volume. Is calling people, chattering. Unamka unaashindwa kwani nililala wapi. What is all that ruckus? So early in the cocks crow. Hii kelele yote? The good thing was that we stuck to the itinerary to the second. You know those people who even when you are on holiday you must keep a tight schedule? Inakua kaa job. No flex time. It’s one activity after the other.

So quarantine is pure bliss for night owls. You are indoors from sundown which is morning for night owls. You are energetic and do your best work at night. Night time for a night owl is like full moon to a werewolf. You take on super powers when its night time. If you live at the Coast, you do housework at night and enjoy the cooler temperatures and stronger breeze at night. In the hottest months I’d sleep on my balcony. It had burglar proof so it was safe. You could sleep outside like you were camping looking at the stars and the moon. Just put the bed out on the balcony and mosquito net.

Quarantine means no pressure to wake up early so I can be up all night doing stuff and then sleep in in the morning. Which is like heroin to a night owl. Usingizi ya asubuhi especially from 5am ni tamu tuu sana. MA night owls wenzangu let’s relish this quarantine while it lasts. Whatever has been pending work on it now that you can work on it the whole night and it won’t disrupt your day the next morning coz you can sleep in.